We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but a bit too quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walls of Monteriggioni

Walls of Monteriggioni
P.za Roma, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Landmarks
Attraction details
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a bit too quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I must agree with the previous reviewer that the town was so small it reminded me of a movie set. Perhaps because it was the low season, the town was a bit quiet with just a handful of shops open and barely any other tourists aside from our group. The views of the surrounding scenery were quite breathtaking though and postcard perfect. We just spent a good hour in this place which I think was enough.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    209
    39
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Like a Movie set!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved to visit this little castle/village.

it does not take long...within 30 minutes you are done! But it is really worthed it!
I went there during the evening for dinner with my boyfriend. We arrived at 6 pm and we had booked a table at 8.30, but within 30 minutes we finished the tour, there is nothing much to visit. Just a tour of the street in the castle and window shopping of the few shops but even if you try it does not take more then 25 minutes.

Finally we found a little Deli, where we bought pecorino cheeses and 2 glasses of wine and spent sometime seating on a table in the beautiful square, which can really be a movie set!

I loved it, but do not plan to spend more than 40 minutes to visit...and if you have the chance have lunch or dinner at restaurant Il Pozzo.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The only disappointment of our Tuscany visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I thought I had a good sense of the "smallness" of Monteriggioni but the actuality was such a disappointment. Knowing our visit was after mid-October I expected the town to be quiet but on the late Thursday afternoon we were there, the town appeared abandoned. One or two persons in the square, except for one bar, little seemed open. We wanted to buy bread and pastries but left without finding any provisions. Monteriggioni was the only town in Tuscany that left us wishing for more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“quiant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

beautiful old walled village. great restaurants and some nice shops. took the shuttle from the piccolo castello hotel

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a great place that was part of our sightseeing tour and was a great discovery, it has nice historical. Built about 1320 as a defensive outpost by the Republic of Siena against its arch rival Florence it is still intact today.

Be sure to climb the outer walls as views of Tuscany are very nice and worth the climb as well as 2.00 Euro fee.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walls of Monteriggioni also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 

Been to Walls of Monteriggioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walls of Monteriggioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.