We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Atmosphere + Average Rooms = Very Good Rating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo San Luigi

Save Saved
You added Borgo San Luigi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borgo San Luigi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Delle Cerreta 7 | Loc San Luigi Strove, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Monteriggioni
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Atmosphere + Average Rooms = Very Good Rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel atmosphere (grounds, drive up, restaurant, sitting areas, pool, etc.) were excellent! The staff were friendly too! We were hoping for a little nicer rooms and a little better concierge service.

With a rental car we explored other sites during the day and then came back to the hotel before dark each day. We love exploring and experiencing different destinations when we travel so we were a little worried about eating dinner at the same place each night, but the restaurant at the hotel ended up being a great way to wrap up each day. The menu changed each night and the main courses were delicate and delicious!

The concierge (young gal) was difficult to work with, but the next day an older gentleman in a suit was at the front desk and was very helpful :)

It was obvious to me that the Inn has put a lot of time and effort into updating the common areas and if they update the rooms next this place will be a true gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    116
    36
    18
    17
See reviews for
95
160
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We refer to this as the "place we stayed in the middle of nowhere". When you finally find it (GPS isn't helpful) it is a wonderful place to stay. We got lost several times trying to find it, but that was part of the fun. The grounds are beautiful, and having wine by the pool was fantastic. The staff is very freindly. Rooms are comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really loved this hotel. It is very rustic with typical stone construction and cobblestone walkways. Our room was very large with a sleeping area and a sitting area and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside in the courtyard each evening with our bottle of wine and cheese we bought. The breakfast was very good and include meats, cheese, fruits, yogurt, an english breakfast and pastries. We ate dinner at the hotel one night. It was very good, but the menu is limited. We found the staff to be very helpful providing a number of good restaurant recommendations. It is hard to find, but its no problem if you have a gps. We would love to stay here if we ever go back to Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here as a part of an Insight Tour .....We had a wonderful room and scenery was breathtaking ...... a wonderful location close to both Sienna and San Gimignano .....spend a very special occasion .....romantic .... good wine !!!!.... good food and drinks!!!! Hope to return very soon !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fabulous location,and excellent initial impression,particularly swimming pool area.However room did not match price or location,small and dark albeit very clean and excellent bathroom

Restaurant was poor for a hotel of this price range and apparent quality,little menu choice bearing in mind no of guests,breakfast was much better,but service overall was average and drinks prices were very high

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We are a family with 3 kids. We spent a week at BSL end of July 2012. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly (which is not always the case in Italy where it can be quite impersonal). The accomodation was perfect for us : a small house, with two rooms. The location is excellent : in the countryside, very close to Siena and San Gimignano, and Firenze quite close as well through the motorway 2km from the resort. The swimming pool is fantastic, very large and hot !
Food at the restaurant was good as well and varied ; restaurant service was quick which is good.
The area of the resort is lovely and typically tuscan ; the park is fantastic
We are ready to get back
Value for money is OK and is worht the price.

One small suggestion : the buffet price for kids (18€ in theory) should probably be decreased, esp. when compared to italian restaurants;

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoSanLuigi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Borgo San Luigi, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for your review, I'll forward your "big suggestion" to my boss. I'll hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place was wonderful at making you feel relaxed! Beautiful pool, caring staff and two amazing (and lazy) dogs :)
The rooms are super comfy, although I found it strange one of the paintings in my room (#4) was upside down :)
We also went Horseback riding and did an ATV tour arranged by the concierge.
The manager of this place is the nicest and down to earth person you will ever meet.
My only reason for not giving this place a 4 was not because of the painting but the bathroom... This is a very important part to me when I stay somewhere... There is a lot of mold behind this grate that is on the bathroom wall by the shower. I feel there should be a special tool to clean that up. Also, the bottom part of the toilet seat had a white stain I was not very fond of... luckily we don't come in contact with it.
Breakfast was excellent, Dinner was not that good... Go elsewhere for that. Too pricey for the food (nothing special) and DON'T DO THE BUFFET!
Overall pleasant. Be aware there are a lot of little lizards (not harmful) running around!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo San Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Luigi

Address: Via Delle Cerreta 7 | Loc San Luigi Strove, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monteriggioni
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo San Luigi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Luigi Relais offers 73 rooms, most with private terrace or garden, allowing a pleasant stay in the heart of the Tuscan countryside, near Sienna. The five buildings making up the original seventeenth-century structure, in the midst of the 60.000 square metre park that surrounds the hotel, have been restructured respecting their original architecture. Due to its remarkable location, between Sienna and Florence, the hotel is a perfect starting point to visit a territory celebrated all over the world for its incomparable natural and artistic heritage, not to mention its food and wine.Borgo San Luigi Relais offers a choice of rooms, including Suites, Junior Suites, Deluxe and Classic Rooms, found in the different buildings within the park. The entire complex follows a rationale that encourages outdoor living, and most rooms therefore have a private balcony, terrace or garden. Guests may thus experience moments of total relaxation and peace in the open air, while enjoying total privacy.!!!!The architecture of the hotel rooms has been preserved in the original structures, with furnishings remindful of ancient country houses of the nobility. Every detail has been carefully considered, period furnishings and textiles have been chosen and matched with flooring in traditional red Tuscan tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Borgo San Luigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Luigi Hotel Monteriggioni
Borgo San Luigi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo San Luigi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.