We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montarioso

Save Saved
You added Villa Montarioso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Montarioso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montarioso 35 | Località Montarioso, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Monteriggioni
PMB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Perfectly located, very easy to find and although not far from the main roads it has the feel of being tucked away in the country. We had a room on the third floor with amazing views over the trees and countryside. Room was great, large and modern. Breakfast was fantastic with great cappuccino's. Loads of parking too if you are travelling by car.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
66
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night with 3 friends. We had a hire car (with sat nav) so found it very easily, although from reading other peoples reviews it may be hard to find it you are going by a map?

Anyway, on arrival we were very impressed with the grounds of the hotel. Very nice and picturesque. Then when we were checking in the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful, she showed us a map of Siena and told us what to see - even where to park for free and how to get there! We were then given our room keys and were expecting just an "ok" room but were amazed at the quality! It looked brand new, with big wooden shutter windows and a fantastic view of the countryside. The bathroom was immaculate with heated towel rails (which was a god send as in October in Italy its not too warm so when you get out of a shower this was fantastic)! I'm convinced the rooms had under floor heating as well as it was very warm when I was walking around bare footed.

Beds were very comfy and the room had the cheapest priced mini bar I've ever seen (only 1 euro for quite a large bottle of water)! Even the alcohol in it was cheap!

The next morning at breakfast (which is outside reception over the courtyard), was lovely! A woman asked what drinks we'd like, then we helped ourselves to bacon, sausages, eggs, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, toast, croissants and lots more!

Overall I would definately stay at this hotel again and would recommend to everyone I know staying in Siena!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This is a very beautiful, romantic building set in the Tuscan countryside, just outside Sienna.

NOTE: This hotel is hard to find!!! Follow the hotels directions as described. However, once you have exited Sienna Nord, follow the road until you come to a roundabout - you should take the last exit (left hand turn), you will come to another roundabout - you should go straight on, and then you will come to your final roundabout, you should take the last exit (left hand turn). You should follow this road until you come to the VW garage on your left. Turn left immediately after passing the garage - follow the signs for the hotel.

We got lost and drove to Monteriggioni (as it is on the hotel's address - it is however, 10 km away from the hotel!) However, on a brighter note, after several calls to the hotel, they directed us back to the original roundabout and then drove out to us, so we could follow them to the hotel.

The hotel laid on a generous buffet breakfast - a selection of cereal, fruit, pastries, cheese and cold meats, bacon, eggs and yogurts plus juice and all the usual hot drinks you would expect.

Lovely grounds and plenty of photo opportunities. A nice hotel if you want to chill back and relax and easy access to the local area.

However, don't forget to set an alarm - once you shut the window shutters, it's pitch black and you could sleep till lunchtime!! Rooms are extremely clean and comfortable with a large bathroom with plenty of towels and toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I had stayed there for one night only and the hotel is really nice, rooms are clean and really large and they give us a two-bedroom apartment. One had three beds and the other had a queen size bed. Free wireless internet, THe staff is really nice and helpful. Very reasonable price. Please take the Siena Nord exit when going to the hotel. I will definitely go back and recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We booked a night at this hotel at the last minute and was able to get a great rate online. It's a little out of the way (and not that easy to find) but was worth it. The hotel is clean and updated. Service was okay. Breakfast was good and is served in a charming little room across the path. Parking was free. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed here for three days and it was a most pleasant experience. The rooms were celan and well proportioned, good beds and an excellent en-suite. The hotel people could not have been nicer and more helpful. Breakfast was also good, with a variety of different options. The only down side, is that it is located at the back of a small industrial estate, but that should not put you off. It also does not have air conditioning which was a bit frustrating on such hot days.The hotel is also only a few minutes from Sienna.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The hotel is located 10 mins by car from the Siena train station. A good base to visit Siena and surroundings with easy car access. There is a bus shuttle between the hotel and Siena city centre. The hotel is clean, quiet and new and free wireless internet in the rooms. Though the rooms have no air conditioning, the rooms do cool down well at night. The breakfast is basic with little variety. Considering the rates, the hotel is a very good value for money, compared to other hotels in Siena.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Montarioso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montarioso

Address: Via Montarioso 35 | Località Montarioso, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montarioso 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Montarioso is an ancient noble palace of 1800 set inside a private park where you can relax and walk as long as you want.Ideal refuge for holidays and trip for job, come and discover the ancient tradition of Siena staying at the Villa.All our rooms are equipped with minibar, safe box, 19" LCD TV, telephone, free WIFI connection and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Reception is open from 7am till 7.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Montarioso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montarioso Hotel Monteriggioni
Montarioso Hotel Monteriggioni
Villa Montarioso Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Montarioso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.