We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like coming home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Fungaia

Save Saved
You added La Canonica di Fungaia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Canonica di Fungaia
strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località FUNGAIA, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€100 (EUR)
Ranked #2 of 18 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Feels like coming home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying with Claudia and Carlo is so familiar, feels actually like coming home in Italy. The best place to stay when exploring the Sienna, Terre di Sienna, Monterigioni and Val d’Elsa regions. We had the chance to stay in their most beautiful room this time. From our room we saw Sienna nearby. Every room in this house is cool thanks to the thick walls, no airco necessary. Inside and outside the house, it is all well-kept. Beautiful flowers everywhere. The little town of Fungaia only offers you silence and great hiking and biking trails. Breakfast was served in the beautiful garden, in the shade of a parasol, well placed by Carlo. By accident, we managed to see the fireflies in their garden by the pool one night. A truly unique experience.
We had dinner at Bar dell'Orso just outside of Monterigionni

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at La Canonica in August 2012 for 1 week. Im a 'bit' late writing but we loved it so much I wanted to share our experience!

The accomodation is set in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, in a very peaceful spot. You definately need a car to get there and to explore, eat out etc . The roads are very quiet so its lovely to drive. The place itself is full of wonderful, rustic, Italian charm and very well looked after by the owners. There are only a handful of rooms so it never felt busy.. Even by the pool in the daytime we seemed to have the place to ourselves.

Our room overlooked the pool, at the front of the building, and was big and spacious with high celings and cool stone floors. The whole place had the relaxed feel of a home from home. The owners, an Italian couple where very kind and helpful. We brought some food from the supermarket to have for lunch for a few days ( they only serve breakfast) and they allowed us to keep it in their fridge, set up a table for us with wine so we could enjoy our food. Also, We were nervous about the lack of air con, visiting in the height of summer in 36 degree heat, but the building is all stone and much cooler than you'd expect.

Breakfasts were very tasty: cakes, eggs, meats, good coffee!

We visited beautiful Siena, did some wine tasting, ate at some wonderful restaurants, and took in many of the other sights. Its a sleepy place but there is plenty to visit if you have a car and guide book!

Id certainly reccomend this little slice of delightful, Italian countryside.. We would love to come back.





Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic surprise- we were upgraded to a larger room. The room was lovely and spacious. Very friendly hosts. Offered suggestions of where to visit and eat. We would definitely stay here again.Excellent breakfast. We enjoyed the serenity and closeness to Sienna

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

June 2012... After driving the dirt-road to Fungaia, we were stunned with the beautiful house that is La Canonica di Fungaia. At first we thought we had the wrong address, but yes, you should drive to the smal church. The church of Fungaia is in fact on thesame property.

Fungaia itself only housed four families while we were there. It was being renovated (Italian style, so it may take some time). You have nice hiking and cycling tracks around.

From a terrace you can see Siena in the distance, which is only a 15 minutes drive away. In the other direction you have the little town of Monteriggioni, also about 15 minutes away.

And in between, at La Canonica, you have utter silence where you can rest, relax in various lovely spots and even hammocks, have a nice swim at the pool, or sit in the common living room.

Claudia & Carlo are perfect hosts and did everything to make our 2 days here just perfect. We were truly being spoilt. Originally they are from Rome, so naturally they have first hand information of that city, but they have lots of recommendations for the local Siena area. One of their sons is a professional photographer, his photos can be found on the walls... you should check www.tommasogalli.it for more.

Breakfast is so much and lovely you want to try everything (but if you do, you will pop out of your pants/skirt/dress). It is not possible to have dinner here, this is a good opportunity to visit Monteriggioni (ask Claudia for recommendations).

The rooms are very nice and traditional decorated, with a very good and clean bathroom. Thanks to the thick walls, it was pleasantly cool (no airco available, but not necessary despite the 35+ degees outside).

All in all a little gem to come back to!

NB: We left a (bookcrossing.com) book here for other Dutch travelers to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay of three nights at la canonica was a beautiful experience and one that we will treasure always. The hosts claudia and her husband were so warm and welcoming and she gave us so many useful suggestions on the routes and eating places that made our self drive leg of the tuscan countryside throughly enjoyable.
The rooms were impeccable, clean. Breakfast place was a cute fairytale-ish room and the soft n cheesy scrambled eggs served by the hosts along with dried chilly pepper was to die for :)
We would definitely love to return for another stay someday. .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Out of many greats night in Italy, this was our favorite! The location is on a secluded, forested, hilltop, and is ideally located to easily visit some of the best of sights of Tuscany. Siena, the Chianti region, Montepulciano, and Montalcino are easy to day-trip from here. The rooms are quaint and very clean. Sitting on the back porch at sunset, among the garden, drinking wine and Carlo's homemade limoncello is as good as it gets. The breakfast was outstanding, my wife loved the nice little touches that Claudia had everywhere. Wandering around the medieval buildings, including the attached church, was one of those lifetime travel moments. You'll find other B&Bs that are fancier, but none with better a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a great place !!! We were here for 5 nights and it was fabulous. Fungaia is basically a 6 house village so you are in the middle of nowhere and can enjoy the peace and quite but it is a really central location for easy trips to Sienna, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni and the Chianti region. We also had a really nice day just exploring the local area as there are some nice walks from the La Canonica itself. Claudia and Carlos are wonderful hosts - couldn't do enough for us - including a load of washing ! They gave us plenty of great tips on places to go, restaurants and directions for walks etc. Claudia also gave us a tour of the church which is part of their property - simply stunning. And the breakfast eggs are definitely a must have. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Hope to get back in the future, a must stay if in Tuscany.

Room Tip: We were in the Crete room as it had a separate sitting are. This was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Canonica di Fungaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Fungaia

Address: strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località FUNGAIA, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Canonica di Fungaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Fungaia Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canonica di Fungaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.