We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Fungaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Canonica di Fungaia to your Saves list
La Canonica di Fungaia
strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località FUNGAIA, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've stayed in many B&Bs all over the world and very few reach the level of La Canonica di Fungaia. Claudia and Carlo's heart and soul make the place a precious place to stay. The location and buildings are stunningly beautiful as well as historical, the breakfasts were lovely, and the rooms comfortable and clean. Claudia and Carlo were exceedingly helpful: making us dinner the first night because we arrived after a long day, providing us with sightseeing advice, showing us the church next door, and making a phone call for us because we don't speak Italian. We felt right at home and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
88
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The owners of this wonderful, peaceful b & b were so generous and kind to my daughter and me that we will be forever grateful. Be aware that this is truly in the country, a wonderful centuries-old house located down a winding dirt road in a tiny village. They serve a delightful breakfast (such as eggs with ricotta cheese from a nearby farm) but not lunch or dinner. There are wonderful hiking trails just behind the house. The pool--given the heat in late June--was a godsend. And one can drive to Siena in about 20 minutes or into the countryside to explore or to the castle of Monterrigioni for a wonderful dinner. Highly recommend it for a combination of seeing sights and taking a break from sight-seeing. Be aware, there is no air-conditioning here and this is not a luxury establishment but it is wonderful. You must have a car. Thank you for everything, Claudia and Carlo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while we drove around Tuscany. Situated a 20 minute drive from Siena and even closer to Monterigioni and San Gimignano, this B&B is in a delightful spot off the beaten track, with beautiful scenery and grounds, a swimming pool and fabulous hosts (Claudia and Carlo) for whom nothing was too much bother.
It's not by any means a 5 star city hotel but it's clean, well kept, and a perfect place to get away from it all.
I'd recommend this to anyone travelling in the area or as a stop-off along the way on a bigger journey.
Note, you must have a car to stay here and be prepared to drive along a gravel track for about 7 minutes off the main road - interesting at night, potential for spotting some good wildlife as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Unless you feel compelled to stay in a four star hotel or be within the walls of a city, I strongly encourage you to consider this wonderful B&B located in a medieval village between Monterrigionni and Siena. We recently stayed here for three days ane are very glad we did.

There are many good reasons to stay at La Canonica. The first of them is the excellent hosts -- Claudia and Carlo. They will not only make you feel very welcome, but do anything they can to meet your needs, including in my case go fetch some packages being sent from the U.S. unexpectedly. Notjhing is too large or too small for them to do. You will be greeted with a map already marked with suggested places to go, scenic routes, and other information. Claudia will tell you where to park to most easily reach your destination, including making use of the escalators up to Siena. She not only recommended an exellent restaurant for our first night dinner, but volunteered to make the reservations.

Second is the location. It is out in the countryside with great views, which I found very refreshing after 5 nights in cities. You are close to both Siena and Monteriggioni, and an easy drive down to towns such as Montalcino and Montepulciano, along a wonderful scenic route. Our room -- Crete -- which had a separate sitting room was very nice. The only minor reservations I have are that the shower stall was small, and that sound from the adjoining room traveled easily the night we had neighbors. Other than that, it was very quiet.

Breakfast, either inside or out, depending on the weather, is excellent, including Claudia's handmade pastries. She is happy to make cappuccino, Caffe Latte or scrambled eggs, and will ask you if you want any.

All of this comes at a very reasonable rate. We would very much love to return to our favorite lodging in Italy.

Room Tip: The Crete room, with a seperate sitiing room and nice views was very nice for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We recently stayed at La Canonica di Fungaia for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in the countryside, very quiet with a wonderful view of Siena in the distance. Our room was exremely comfortable with an adjoining sitting area. Our breakfast was probably one of the best that we had in our two week stay in Italy. The amenties were perfect but the thing that we will remember most about this B&B was the wonderful couple who ran the B&B, Claudia and Carlo. They welcomed us into their 'home' and treated us like family showing us around the property and letting us sample some of Claudia's baking. After leaving the B$B we went on to Assisi where my wife discovered that she had forgotten her jewellery case at La Canonica di Fungaia. She called Claudia who found the case and then with Carlo drove part way to Assisi to meet us and return the case in order to save us the long drive to their B&B. It was an unexpected and gesture on their part that was really appreciated. We very much recommend the B&B but keep in mind that you will need a car to get to it and to enjoy the surrounding area. If you do stay there, get directions to a restaurant called Il Pozza in a tiny fortified village called Monteriggioni. It was a recommendation of Claudia's and was a wonderful dining experience..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Amazing hospitality, the views and surroundings are gorgeous, everything is very very clean, comfortable rooms, great breakfast, only 15 mins from Siena but right out in the countryside, rent a car if you want to stay here, there is nothing available on foot. We absolutely loved our stay here, wholeheartedly recommend it and we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: "Crete" has a little sitting room and it's own entrance which we loved, plus the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was a wonderful introduction to Tuscan hospitality. Claudia & Carlo met our every need (one of us needed gluten-free foods, and Claudia did personalized food shopping). The rooms were clean, the views great. We toured the little church attached to the home, and we felt part of the family there! A good location to use as a base to visit many of the hill towns. Full breakfast was good. It's helpful to have a GPS with Italy chip to find the B&B and other local sites.

Room Tip: Ask about size of showers if you need a larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
5.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 41 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
4.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#6 of 11 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
#1 of 2 in Quercegrossa
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#1 of 24 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
4.1 mi away
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi
#4 of 18 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Canonica di Fungaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Fungaia

Address: strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località FUNGAIA, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Canonica di Fungaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Fungaia Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canonica di Fungaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.