We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Fungaia

Save Saved
You added La Canonica di Fungaia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Canonica di Fungaia
strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località FUNGAIA, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Holliston, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gracious hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was a wonderful introduction to Tuscan hospitality. Claudia & Carlo met our every need (one of us needed gluten-free foods, and Claudia did personalized food shopping). The rooms were clean, the views great. We toured the little church attached to the home, and we felt part of the family there! A good location to use as a base to visit many of the hill towns. Full breakfast was good. It's helpful to have a GPS with Italy chip to find the B&B and other local sites.

Room Tip: Ask about size of showers if you need a larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
62
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a friends recommendation as part of our honeymoon and we only wished it could have been for longer! The rooms are immaculate and clean, and the house really feels like a home away from home. The views are breathtaking and the whole place is decorated so beautifully. The staff, Claudia and Carlo put on a fantastic spread of breakfast complete with devine chocolate milk. Our flights were potentially going to be cancelled, and we had no wi-fi, and Claudia helped us sort it all out, and recommended some yummy restaurants too. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Not a room recommendation but...The road up to the place is a dirt road so be wary if you are drivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Claudia and Carlo are the most generous and welcoming innkeepers. The wrap you in their warmth, always ready with a restaurant suggestion or driving directions. Breakfast was the best way to start the day with delicious food and a view unsurpassed in beauty and serenity. Claudia shared her home with us, showing us the church that dates from the Middle Ages to the gothic charm of the wine cellar, which reminded me of the setting in Poe's , "The Cask of Amontillado" to the fantastic kitchen right out of Tuscany books. Family pictures, and treasures gave the place a feeling of being in a relatives' home for the holidays. And the conversations were like talking to friends. We loved seeing her son's book and photographs. Our only regret was that we didn't spend a few days just soaking in the scenery and blessed sunshine. But, we will be back! Thanks Claudia and Carlo for a memorable trip.
Peggy and Arnie Johnson, Granada Hills, California

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Situated about a fifteen minute drive from Monteriggioni and Siena is the delightful La Canonica di Fungaia. We had a four day break here driving down from Verona in under 3 hours. Easily found with a satnav! A car is essential to see all the amazing hillside villages via some very scenic routes with hardly any traffic.
Claudia and Carlo met us on arrival and provided all the information needed to enjoy our stay. You will not find more generous and hospitable hosts. The historic building provides an amazing atmosphere and very comfortable accommodation. Breakfast is fantastic.
The location in the hills with incredible views of Siena and the surrounding countryside, the swimming pool and gardens complete the experience.
Also highly recommend is a day we had out with Donatella (Wine Tour in Tuscany). We visited three very small wine producers in amazing locations in the Chianti region. The trip included wine tasting, the wine making process, balsamic vinegar tasting and production. Some very special cheeses, local honey and olive oil were also provided. One of the wine producers was also a truffle hunter aided by two truffle dogs! A subject I was particularly fascinated by!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

What a wonderful B&B! Claudia and Carlo make you feel right at home with their caring and generosity. You can see the loving touches everywhere. A great place to sit and relax, enjoy the view and the pool after a long day of touring. Breakfast was the Best in Italy! Home made scrambled eggs with cheese, homemade sweet breads, lots of coffee and tea and many other selections. The room was neat and clean and well maintained. We enjoyed every minute we were there!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and faced the hills. Wonderful breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

La Canonica di Fungaia is a beautiful B&B located near Siena. It's a easy drive to a lot of great hill towns, including Volterre, San Gimignano, Siena, Pienze, Montalcino, Radda, Monteriggioni, and Montepulciano. The location itself is beautiful, set on a hill in the country side. Claudia and Carlo are the most generous and gracious hosts we've ever had at a B&B. I can't tell you how many times we called for directions or restaurant recommendations while we were out touring. Both of the restaurants Claudia recommended were excellent, (il Pozzo in Monteriggione and Sotto le Fonti) in Siena and she made the reservations for us. The breakfasts were the best we had in Italy, with fresh meats, fresh local cheese, delicious pastries, eggs, cereal, fruits, breads. The only drawback is that there is nothing in walking distance. But i would not let that be a deterrent. There are plenty of places within a fairly short drive. Our room had an amazing view of the countryside and we slept with the windows open every night.

Room Tip: The smaller double room is next to a place where pigeons like to congregate early in the morning. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Would like to say that this was one of the best places we have ever stayed at, Claudia and Carlo made us feel really special, the views are spectacular, the peace and quite was unbelievable, was in a great place to explore Tuscany, breakfast was excellent, We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Canonica di Fungaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Fungaia

Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Fungaia Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany
Address: strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località FUNGAIA, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your La Canonica di Fungaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canonica di Fungaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.