We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly, a good base for exploring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindos Horizon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lindos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lindos Horizon
Save
You added Lindos Horizon to your Saves list
Lindos 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Lindos
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Small and friendly, a good base for exploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is one of many resorts on the periphery of Lindos. Lindos Gardens, Lindos View and some of the other resorts are just a short walk away. We chose Lindos Horizon because it was small, and we enjoyed the peacefulness and quiet around the pool. The hotel was fully booked, but it never felt crowded. This is not a party place, which unfortunately can't be said of all of the surrounding resorts. Most nights, karaoke and other noises drifted over from the other resorts and spoilt what would have otherwise been a peaceful atmosphere. This is, of course, not Lindos Horizon's fault.

We came to Lindos for a wedding, and quite a few of us stayed in some of the bigger resorts (like Lindos View). A lot of them complained about the rooms being quite basic and on the small side. Our room at Lindos Horizon was massive. We had one of the rooms with an upstairs and I don't know how we got it - it didn't say on the Thomson website when we booked, but when I wrote to Stavros to ask for a room further away from the bar, he wrote back to say that we had one of the maisonette rooms. We never used the upstairs but we liked the fact that we had so much room. The bathroom's a good size too, although I was surprised to find a massive bath tub with a shower over, which I don't think makes sense. We never bathed once but we showered every day. Yet there is no shower curtain, so the water goes everywhere. I would have preferred a walk in shower and a smaller tub.

The room and bath were spotlessly clean. A very high standard. There were quite a few utensils in the kitchenette, along with a fridge and a kettle. We ate in the Horizon restaurant on the first morning and had the biggest omelettes ever. Very nice. We also had some Greek yoghurt with fruit, which was lovely. The cappucino's not so good, stay away. We made our own breakfasts for the remainder of the holidays (just some Greek yoghurt and fruit from the supermarket and honey from Siana on the West coast, what a treat!) and cooked in the evenings once or twice. What was very annoying was that there were no dishcloths, washing up liquid, kitchen towels, salt and pepper, etc.The basics, essentially. Everyone ends up buying these just for a week. I do wonder what happens to it all when people leave, and why these things can't be passed on when people leave them behind.

Having said that, we realised when we arrived that we had forgotten our beach towels. We mentioned this when our holiday rep came round the next morning, and it was her idea to ask Stavros if there were any that guests had left behind. Sure enough, she came back with two beach towels which we could use while we were there. Great service from Thomson and Stavros!

The walk into town is easy, really not a big deal. It takes five minutes to the big car park on the main road, where all the coaches pile up every day, and then a five-minute walk or so downhill into town. Walking back up really isn't a big deal either but you can either take a taxi or donkey if you really don't want to walk it.

We found that out of the two nearby supermarkets - Krana and Flora - Flora was the cheaper one. However, we had a car for three days and bought most of our supplies from a Carrefour Metro in one of the nearby towns, which was a lot cheaper. Some things are extortionate though no matter where you go, like cereals. If you like your Kellog's in the mornings, do bring some from the UK! Stavros sells packs of six bottles of water for 2.80 Euros. Although this is great especially if you don't have a car, what is a big shame is that you can't buy individual bottles from him. On our penultimate day, we wanted to buy just three bottles but his bar staff said we could only buy six. Not such a great service.

The only other things that really annoyed us about Lindos Horizon were 1) our balcony and 2) the fact that there isn't a luggage room where we could leave our suitcases on the last day. Regarding our balcony, as we were in one of the upstairs rooms (all of which have the same balconies), we did not have a view when sat down as the balustrade is too high and not made of glass. You'll know what I mean when you look at the pictures. It is such a shame really because the view of the acropolis is lovely.

Regarding the luggage room, this is really bad service as every good hotel has a room where guests can leave luggage after checking out. Our flight back home was very late on Wednesday night, so we had a whole day in Lindos before our coach picked us up. You either check out of Lindos Horizon at 12.00 PM or you pay 28 Euros to check out at 6:00 PM. Our coach was due to pick us up ay 8:30 PM, so paying extra and checking out at 6:00 PM wasn't an option as we did not want to have to return to the hotel just to check out. We wanted to go to the beach and have a nice dinner in town before heading back to the hotel in time to catch the coach. So when we checked out at 12.00 PM, we were extremely surprised that we could only leave a "small bag with valuables" with Stavros, all other belongings had to be left in plain view outside the downstairs toilets (where no one is keeping an eye on them at all). We were not happy!

Worth mentioning though that we had a half bottle of white wine and some butter left, which Stavros let us store in his fridge. When we came back to the hotel in the evening just before our coach left, his bar staff gave us glasses and let us drink our own wine in the restaurant. This was very good service indeed!

So all in all I would certainly recommend Lindos Horizon although some things could be improved to make this an excellent resort. On a different note, I wouldn't necessarily recommend staying near Lindos as it is very touristy. In fact, I must admit that I didn't really feel the love for Rhodes. I'd much rather go back to Corfu next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    17
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent 2 weeks of relaxation, very professional and friendly family running the apartments. No complaints whatsoever, would gladly return again. Thank you for a lovely stay - Dawn and Mark Robinson

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at Lindos Horiizon apartments and our only regret was we hadn't booked 2 weeks. From the first moment we arrived we knew it was just as good as the reviews had said. The pool area and snack bar have the most fabulous panoramic view and immediate sense of relaxation. Stavaros is always there to welcome his guests and to help in ant way he can. The walk into Lindos is easy down hill and coming back there is a regular shuttle bus in the day or a taxi for 5 euros if you are feeling lazy but most people walk back. We thoroughly enjoyed the roof top tavernas and had 2 meals and wine for 35 -40 euros.The breakfast at Lindos Horizon is a great start to the day with lots of choice. We were so impressed with the whole holiday that we rebooked before we left

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views, each with its own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Can't add much to the previous reviews! Our second stay here and definitely not our last,it was all perfect. Stavros and team are all so friendly and helpful.Just hope there's a room for us next time we book!

Room Tip: Rooms in the first block are nearest bar but not really affected by noise. All rooms face towards se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWESTOFT.UK.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived at 1 am to be assisted by the owner Stavros who took us to our apartment.He was very helpful and said if we need anything to contact him at any time.This is a nice touch as we have stayed at many hotels/apartments in Lindos/Kranna area and not seen anybody on arrival.Stavros was staying up to meet people whos flight had been delayed and were arriving at 4am.During our 14 day stay Stavros was always there to make our stay perfect,and he did just that.
Tommy the barman is the other half of the team and he too will assist you in any way he can.
The rooms are big (unusual for Lindos) and spotless at all times.The large corner bath and shower looks great and hot water available 24 hours.
The maids wait for you to leave apartment before they clean so you never feel the need to rush.
The grounds/plants/bushes/grass and trees around the apartments are watered twice a day and the pathways washed down as well.
The pool and bar restaurant is on a higher level and has a welcome breeze both day and night.There are many lounges and the pool side never seems to get packed.
The food and drinks compared with the rest of Lindos are cheap with a good selection of cocktails.
The BBQ night is good value at 13 euros a head and a good chance to meet fellow guests.
1 week into our stay my wife broke her wrist after a fall in Kranna and Stavros gave me his phone number to contact him if we needed anything.He and also arranged taxis from apartments to doctors and Hospital as insurance company tried their best to be awkward and ruin our holiday.
Becky our Thomsons rep was also very hepful and was there when we needed her.
All in all a brilliant time with a total 2 week chill out which many hotels/apartments promise during your holiday but few actually succeed.This place succeeds in a big way and i can see why many return to the Horizon year after year.
We would like to thank Stavros/Tommy/Becky and team for a great time and we will be back so Tommy get the 70s wigs ready and see you next year.

Room Tip: All apartments have views over Lindos Acropolis and Bay so no need to pre book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Myself,husband and 19 year old son stayed at the Lindos Horizon for 1 week on our first trip to Greece,from 15th to 22nd September,20012. We all had a truly amazing time,both in the stunning Lindos,and in the exceptional Lindos Horizon. We couldnt fault it!! We stayed on a ground floor apartment,and were priviledged to have some lovely neighbours,as well as the most welcome visits from a selection of cats,who entertained us no end,and made us feel at home!! Stavros,and his family,and the lovely Tommy were very welcoming,attentive,and nice to be around.The food that was available at the Horizon was really very good,if you didnt want to venture any further than spending time around the pool area. The barbecue night must be recommended,as,it was lovely,and an ideal opportunity to meet fellow holidaymakers. The apartment itself was large,extremely clean,and the linen was changed on most days.The bathroom was quite magnificent with its corner bath!! The sound of the animals around was lovely for us too,and we found it the whole experience overall exceptionally relaxing!!! We will most definitely visit Lindos again,and probably the Lindos Horizon,as,we feel that anywhere else now may be disappointing,as,the standard has been set!!
We would like to say "thank you" to Stavros,and his family and staff,for a most delightful holiday,and,we hope to see them again in the future. We would recommend the Lindos Horizon to anyone in a heartbeat!! Yammas!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same stunning views. If you are on the ground floor you will have a few cat v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The secrets out! We were hoping to keep how wonderful these apartments are to ourselves but it appears from reading all the reviews that everyone who visits them feels the same as we do. So much so that we will now add a review of our own.
We stayed here in June for Rhodes Rock and had a fantastic time. We returned to Lindos in September to a different apartment complex (not a million miles away) which did not compare. We visited Stavros to say Hi and have lunch at the The Lindos Horizon and we swore there and then that we would not stay any where else when we next visit Lindos.
Consequently we have now booked to return in June 2013 and CANT WAIT!
Stavros and his family are so well mannered and accomodating. The day we called in to have lunch they did not have any "rolls" left to make a chicken salad roll. Stavros immediately jumped on his scooter and scooted off to the shop and bought back some rolls just for us! All this and we had only called in for lunch and to say hi as we were not even staying there.
The apartments are superb. We had a huge room with a mezzanine floor - perfect if you have children. Everything was absolutely spotless clean - even the kettle had no "furring" which is something I always look for. The views from the balcony are just fantastic. Tommy - the barman who works in the evening is also fantastic and nothing is too much trouble.
We travelled in June with Thomsons and in September with Thomas Cook. We found the Thomson coach transfer from the airport much quicker than the Thomas Cook one. You also get more luggage allowance with Thomsons.
We are now on countdown to June 2013 so that we can once again sample the Lindos Horizon wonderful hospitality.
Well done Stavros and all the team that work with him. You are all fantastic!! See you in June!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the Horizon. Some are bigger than others but that is only due to the mezza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindos Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Horizon

Address: Lindos 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Lindos
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Lindos Horizon Hotel Lindos
Lindos Horizon Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindos Horizon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.