We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel is you don't like a drink” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunrise Hotel to your Saves list
Sunrise Hotel
Pefki, Lindos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Lindos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel is you don't like a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from the sunrise hotel . The hotel was very nice and clean and in a good location right on the beach ideal if you like to snorkel. Rooms cleaned every day with clean towels. Food was ok not as good as we've experienced at other all inclusive hotels if you like pork cooked every way you can imagine you'll be fine ,be quick for the deserts as they tend to run out if you're not early for dinner. If you like a alcoholic drink we would advise you do the same as quite a few people did and put a bottle of vodka in your handbag as the free drinks resemble nothing we have ever tasted in our lives pretty disgusting is the only word that fits. We had seen reviews that the hotel was 99% French this was true but a few minutes on the bus and your in pefkos which is great for an evening out .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    66
    28
    18
    6
See reviews for
65
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've just returned from a week at the Sunrise, and I think much of what has been said is quite right. HOWEVER - no-one should book any holiday, anywhere, without doing the research first, as it is so easy to do these days !

We wanted a week doing very little, with sun, sea, sand and no worries - and that's exactly what we got ! Yes, we were possibly the only English couple there, and no, we don't speak French, but that did not stop my husband from winning his first- ever attempt at Petanque !

We were expecting this heavily-French bias from the reviews and our own research, so we took things to do in the evening, and enjoyed lots of much-needed R&R. We were very impressed with the cleanliness, and the friendliness of the staff - you will usually receive what you give in life !

The food is a little uninspiring, but that's Greece !! I absolutely love the Greek Islands, and have visited very many of them - but I don't go for the food ! Ever !! It is perfectly adequate for a week to ten days, and if you want something very different, then pay double and go five-star !

The alfresco dining is a joy - again we were expecting it, so clearly we dressed accordingly. The dress code is non-existent, so just be comfortable. It's a holiday not a fashion show ! The French will win, anyway !!

The sunbeds around the pool get towels on them by 6.30am, and there are not really enough of them. We chose to got to the beach for three days as it was such a joy and the beds have 8-10 cms of foam rubber, and are lovely, (and the only noise is the sound of waves lapping on the shore). We considered them well worth paying for - five euros each to occupy them from breakfast till 7pm ! (and only till then because we chose to go to the bar for a sundowner, rather than taking it back to the beach - all of two minutes ). The sea is lovely - clean and sheltered, with no risk of being run over by idiots with powerboats etc.

I find all the fuss about taxis very interesting. There is a very good bus service, with the stop right outside the hotel. One Euro 60 cents to Pefki or Lindos. Fifteen minutes. Where's the problem ? We chose to stay out longer, have a meal and enjoy the different atmosphere in both places. Five Euros home from Pefki, and ten home from Lindos. For however many people there are in the car. I think that's a cheap day out !!

The lack of air-conditioning was a bit of a pain, it seems the contract starts on the 15th June, and I do think this should be made clear before booking. We left the patio door open as there are insect screens which seemed to be fine. Our room was on the first floor (Greeks call it the Second, as they don't use 'Ground' as a label), so there is absolutely not the slightest chance of anyone being able to get in. You couldn't do this at ground level. If your room faces the pool, there is a noise issue in the evening, but we sleep well so it didn't bother us. Yes the beds may seem firm, but compared to many in other Greek islands they are feather-soft !

As usual, people complain about things because they are 'not what they're used to'. If this is you - then stay home ! Travel is all about widening one's experience of life, not 'home with the sun out' !! We are considering returning later in the year . . . So enjoy !

Room Tip: Avoid pool-facing room if noise at night bothers you. Avoid ground-floor ('First floor') if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from the Lindos Sunrise what a disappointment ! Have stayed at many other hotels in the area over the last years and this is probably the worst of them all.
All inclusive should mean all inclusive not that you have to pay 10 euros for 2 sunbeds a day, the rooms are basic and no air conditioning, at least not working apparently it only works from June onwards but you have to pay for it again not what you would expect of all inclusive.
The food was very poor lack of variety and not very edible had to eat out and I am not normally that fussy. The drinks were all watered down.
The entertainment is for the French it seems to be a French hotel it says club Jumbo.fr outside so everything was catered for the French with very little English spoken.
I would not rate this hotel as 3 star even may be a 2. The beds are very hard and I ended up with backache. We moved out to another hotel after 3 days with better quality food and facilities.
We holiday twice a year to Rhodes and I wont be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day stay. Plenty of choice for food and freshly cooked. A hotel that caters for the french for the most part and also there were lots of Russians there. British very much in minority. Entertainment at night tends to be mostly for the french and I feel there should be a more international flavour as approx 50% of the guests spoke english. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms kept extremely clean. Air conditioning is not adequate in the rooms though. WiFi is 5 euros per hour. This needs to be addressed. Sunloungers on the beach are 5 euros each and worth every penny as they are extremely comfy. Excellent location and beautiful hotel. We would be more than happy to return at a later date

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here I was quite worried about being moved hotels. We booked as part of a group to go 1st-8th may as my brother was getting married at St pauls chapel in Lindos. This hotel was picked by my sister in law who wanted us all to stay together and not have to spend a fortune. we booked on ice lolly.com which I definatly would not recommend using. After reading the reviews we weren't expecting much but as soon as we pulled up in the coach all worries disappeared. The hotel reception is clean,bright and the staff were extremely welcoming. after a 2 hour couch journey we arrived at 11.30pm the group was a mix of children(youngest 7month nephew) and grandparents- one in a wheelchair. The hotel provided us with bottled water and food to eat while we checked in which was a lovely gesture. Myself my two girls 4&7 and my mother were given a room on the new block and as it was dark a staff member took us round and even carried our cases downstairs. the room was clean and spacious with the 2 settees made into beds which were more than adequate. The bathroom basic but clean and everything worked, maids came most days but they always left the trolleys out so if you need a clean towel it was easy to find one. Some of the party stayed in the main building which was dated but no complaints from anyone. The hotel is right on the beach with beautiful views,the sand isn't too nice and you are charged for the beds.Food is served outside overlooking the beach it is a small separate building where they cook and serve food , tables are outside covered by a slatted style roof which does give you shade (there is an indoor restaurant but they only use it during rain) they are well spaced out so you don't feel too crammed in. Food was fresh,well presented and hot.not too much choice but if you like greek salad or a meat and veg option then you'll be fine, we ate out twice in Lindos and also out for the wedding which broke it up but think i'd have needed to venture out more if staying for longer than 1 week . the AI drinks option was the biggest let down for me there is beer, wine, juice and pop taps in the restaurant and by the pool, the pool bar only served gin, vodka, ouzo and rum -very strong with cheap pop - yuk!! they did get a delivery of other mixers but they weren't free. I ended up buying some schnapps from the shop to add to lemonade as the beer was bloating me too much and needed to fit in my wedding outfit lol.(note I didn't go to get bladdered every night but a few nice drinks in the evening is pleasant) The hotel is on its own, a 10 min walk (no footpath) will get you to 2 shops and a good looking restaurant but its further to the nearest town which I think was Pefkos it did look busy and lots of places to eat with outdoor play for children but as we were in coach on way home couldn't investigate further. A taxi to lindos cost 12€ so if you do want to go out be prepared to spent a fortune in taxi fares.We were the only English there for most of the week everyone else i'm guessing were French and the evening entertainment was definately geared up for them but the daytime guys worked hard to include everybody, we even did the darts competition for a laugh and my eldest enjoyed joining in with the 'aqua gym' each day. As it was early season we didn't have any problem getting beds by the pool and it was clean and warm enough. What I would mention is the staff they were all polite, helpful and went out of their way for you. my nephew had an allergic reaction on the 1st day and reception were brill sorting out medical help and afterwards staff were asking how he was, genuinely concerned. A word of warning MOSQUITOS etc, as we were dining outside it was bad during the evening and the only 2 who didn't get bitten were my girls so pack plenty of repellent spray, didn't have a problem in the room tho !!!!. all in all I would go back to the hotel but only for 1 week as the food wasn't really my cup of tea but hotel great for a quiet cheap break and the weather was red hot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We went with the intention of relaxing after a very stressful time, and from arrival we were not disappointed. The room although basic was clean, the sheets were changed daily and the view from the room was stunning. The staff were very friendly and polite, and particular mention has to be given to the head barman who seemed to be able to converse in every language......including Welsh!!! The food was always wholesome, varied and very tasty and the chef was very proud when complimented. Having read previous reviews which commented on the location, it is not in a town but there are regular buses from right outside the hotel and you can walk to Pefki, which we managed without too much trouble. We will hopefully be going back in the near future and wouldn't have a problem returning here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

a beautiful hotel next to a beautiful beach great food but poor drinks a 15 minute walk gets you to pefkos there is no where to go unless you want to walk or take a long swim which is a great way to get to pefkos the rooms are beautiful as is the out door restaurant will definitely go back very good for families not good for a party though lovely place to fish from and snorkle

Room Tip: send them an email so you dont get stuck in sister hotel rooms by the pool are fab but rooms furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Address: Pefki, Lindos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise hotel is located just a few kilometers from the historical village of Lindos in Rhodes. The area is called Pefkoi (which means Pine Tree) which is small and colorful.Your experience is completed in our charming rooms. Four different room types will cater to your needs: spacious, most of them with view to the sea and private balconies where you can enjoy moments of relaxation while gazing at the endless blue…All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms, TV, hairdryer and telephone. The hotel offers a large swimming pool with sun beds and parasols. You can enjoy your coffee, soft drinks or even an afternoon cocktail while enjoying moments of refreshment in the cool waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Lindos, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.