We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Lindos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Star Lindos Hotel to your Saves list
Star Lindos Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vlicha, Lindos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Lindos
London UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Some things good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed a week at the hotel September 2006. The resort is quiet and can be a bit dull of an evening. Our original room was a side view with single beds but they hapily moved us to a double room on request which also had a bit of a sea view. However, air conditioning is 6 euros a day extra. The maid service was fine. The food is buffet service. Is best to get there, especially at breakfast, early as when things run out that is it. The problem if you are from the UK is the time difference when you arrive, breakfast finishes at 9.30am which is 7.30am here and you have to be in a lot earlier to get any choice. The restuarant is run by an english couple but when they had there day off breakfast was a total disaster with just dry bread and bacon scraps to eat and not even coffee, milk, butter etc. The pool is great, is nice and deep and never too crowded when we were there, its a short distance from the hotel, and the pool barman is very friendly and great service, there was never any problem getting sunbeds. The main hotel bar was run very well too, great cocktails. We used the car hire firm that are located in this hotel and the nearby Lindos Bay, no problems, seemed cheap at 195 euros albeit an old car for five days full insurance. You can go to the entertainment in the evening at the nearby Lindos Bay which we did once and was reasonable. We did the Captian Manilos boat trip as reccomended elsewhere from the beach but found that instead of taking us as advertised to Haraki we just collected people there and went to Lindos instead, which was sort of like going on a trip to where we were staying. Bit of a wasted day, he obviously changes his itineary to suit. Had an enjoyable holiday and perhaps the breakfast disaster was a one off.

  • Liked — POOL
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

I stayed at the Lindos Star with my boyfriend for one week and overall I did enjoy my holiday a lot. However, there were a few things that left me disappointed….

Having to pay another 42 euros for the air conditioning was quite annoying seeing as I’d already paid quite a lot for the room. You do need it though as the rooms can be boiling hot by 9am.

The hotel was described to me as being within ‘walking distance’ of Lindos Town but the reality was a 45 minute walk uphill and along some pretty dangerous roads – you’d have a serious death wish to attempt it at night. Your only real option was to take a taxi which cost 15 euros return (we ended up having to visit a cash machine to fund this unexpected expense as we wanted to go into Lindos nearly every day!). There was a bus service available every morning at 9.15am from outside the hotel opposite which would take you into the town but a taxi would be needed to return. Be warned, the bus is very popular and can be very crowded so queue early to avoid disappointment.

This hotel is half-board and the restaurant does offer various dishes that I was quite happy with, although I did discover that the food is actually cooked off site and delivered to the hotel so once all the food has been eaten, there won’t be any more coming out! This happened to us twice at breakfast – we came down at 9am (breakfast is served until 9.30am) and there were only baked beans and a small amount of bacon left with no food left to bring out.

It might be worth noting that there is no evening entertainment at the Lindos Star so it can seem a bit lonely and quiet! However, there is entertainment across the road at the Lindos Bay hotel (and the drinks are cheaper!).

The staff and cleaners at the Lindos Star cannot be faulted, they were always happy and helpful (special thanks to the pool bar man who chased a giant wasp away for me).

Lindos is a beautiful place and I recommend eating out at least once to experience the roof top restaurants in the Town. The view over the Acropolis is stunning and even more enjoyable with a glass of wine and a seafood platter!

I would still recommend this hotel but just be prepared for it to cost you more than you planned if you want to see the town a lot. Or better yet, hire a car!

  • Liked — The swimming pool area was absolutely lovely!
  • Disliked — The location felt really remote.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at this hotel but hire a car.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We have just returned from 10 days at the Lindos Star and we had a great time there. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly (though there only seem to be about 3 members of staff!) and the rooms were quite basic but clean. The food was good and there was plenty of choice. I think I may have embarrassed Kay in the restaurant by mentioning that we had seen her praised on this website many times!
It was lovely to have the beach so close by, as it was very hot. However, it can be a bit tricky getting out of the sea, as your feet do tend to sink into the stones a bit! Also, my boyfriend was stung by a jellyfish within 10 minutes of getting into the sea- some days there were lots of dead ones being washed up so we avoided the water then. The pool by the hotel is probably a better way to cool off! We really liked the pool, and getting a sunbed was never a problem. Our only issue was that when you walked from the hotel to the pool, there was usually a strong smell of raw sewage! I haven't read about anyone else noticing this but we smelt it almost every day. We could even smell it on our balcony some days- and we were right at the back of the hotel.
The only other thing that we would say was that we sometimes felt a little isolated there in the evenings, as getting a taxi to and from Lindos every night would have worked out very expensive. We were quite glad of the World Cup matches, as some evenings there really wasn't a lot to do. There is entertainment at the Lindos Bay Hotel, but we felt it was quite family orientated, and not really what we were after (small children running around and singing very loudly!).
We would definitely recommend hiring a car. However, we read about a lot of people hiring theirs for 55 Euros...in our experience a car for this price would not have been that reliable! We hired one for 70 Euros for 3 days from the car hire firm in the hotel lobby: withing minutes of leaving the hotel, we realised the handbrake was broken and the gear box was the worse for wear. We took it back and were given a brand new Fiat Punto, although we had to pay another 35E Euros. It was worth it for the air con! Be careful of goats on the roads: one ran out straight in front of us and gave us a fright! Definitley go to Rhodes, the old town is beautiful.
We would also recommend going on the boat trip from the front of the beach (near the pedalos), run by Captain Manilos. That was the best day of our holiday- you are taken to swim in the clearest waters and we also stopped off at Haraki (which we han't discovered before) for lunch, which was lovely. And all for 15 Euros each!
Lindos was also lovely- we had such a good time there watching the World Cup! Lots of nice bars and restaurants. In fact, we were quite suprised at how many there were.
We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skegness england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

we have just got back from a great holiday in lindos while staying at the lindos star. its a great little hotel set back from the beach in a lovely setting. everybody there is so freindly and helpfull. kay and frank are allways there at meal times if you need any advice about how to get about or where to go, and liz on reception is always there with a smile and help if you need it.
the only thing i would have to say is the meals could be a bit more daring , but the food is always hot and plentyful.
we found it the perfect place to stay, quiet and the pool is great, and if you want more it a bit more lively, all you have to do is head to lindos town a short taxi ride away (9 euros there and 7 euros back,) and you can party the night away to the early hours. there is some lovely little tavernas just a short walk away if you fancy a quieter time, and a couple of small shops and car/bike hire places nearby.
we found it to be the best of both worlds and cant wait to go back again.
go and enjoy the lindos star, i know we will again!!!

mark treena and anasatasia.


  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

The Lindos Star is a spotlessly clean hotel at the end of a quiet road, backed by mountains and two minutes from the beach.

The buffet style breakfasts and dinners comprised a wide range of well prepared and presented food. We were surprised to read that some found the choice boring as there were always at least half a dozen choices of main course and plenty of vegetables, rice, pasta etc.

The staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive and a special mention must go to Frank and Kay the English managers of the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

The room was simply furnished with plenty of storage space, a nice bathroom that had a bath, shower, bidet, toilet and basin, and a pleasant balcony overlooking the sea. The pillows were a bit lumpy but were changed for brand new ones immediately we asked.

The bar area was pleasant with a generous terrace and comfortable seating. A wide range of beers, wines and spirits was on offer although the coffee, while pleasant, was a little expensive at 2.50 E.

There is a snack bar at the pool which serves a variety of decent food at reasonable prices. This area is surrounded by pleasant gardens and free sunbeds.

If you need to do a little shopping, the supermarket down the road to the right of the pool is better stocked and is cheaper than the one down the road to the left of the pool.

Immediately outside the hotel there are plenty of parking spaces and there is a field with a tame donkey. We would recommend that guests hire a car for at least some of the stay (although buses to and from Lindos and Rhodes Town are frequent and cheap). The beach has small pebbles and is much more pleasant than sand although the snack bar at one end is a bit hit and miss.

A taxi ride to Lindos is 8E in and 5E back. Lindos is a lovely town and should not be missed. The acropolis is stunning and the centre of town is a maze of shops and restaurants. Further afield, Rhodes Town - particularly the Old Town - is delightful and should also not be missed. There is a wealth of history there and the little streets are perfect for strolling. There are plenty of bargains to be had and leather and cotton clothing is particularly good value.

The island of Rhodes is very sparsely populated south of Lindos and there are fine beaches, mountains and forests to be explored. (Car hire was 55E for three days and petrol was about 1E per litre). Profitas Ilias, a mountain in the centre of the island, is well-worth the trip and it should be noted that the main highways in Rhodes - including those in the mountains - are in very good condition. Some of the smaller roads are surfaced with loose gravel but are easy to deal with if you take your time.

We can truly say that this was a brilliant holiday. The Lindos Star is a two star hotel - but a very good two star. The cleanliness of the hotel and the quality of the staff cannot be over-emphasised.

There were only two downsides to our trip (which are nothing to do with the Lindos Star). Firstly, it was the end of the season and there wasn't very much to do in the evenings - although entertainment was on offer at the Lindos Beach Hotel 100 metres away. Secondly, 8E for two cups of watery coffee in plastic cups at the airport departure lounge was very poor value, although this was a tiny speck on what was otherwise a superb holiday.

Well done Lindos Star!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2004

The hotel is really nice, good service, but the food was boring. The problem is that breakfast (buffet) is always the same - some ham, beans and scrambled eggs; sometimes the only addition to this palette was french fries or potato chips. The dinner was a bit better but in general it was also monotone - chef doesn't have a big fantasy there...

Rooms are good although a bit basic; Lindos is 5 min by the taxi; it's very good place to stay if you don't want crowds and noise; there is nice supermarket "Tsampikos" on the left side with cool salesman there; actually he's local tourist attraction, it's worth to visit him.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2004

Stayed at Lindos Star in July 2003. What a wonderful place to relax, food was excellent , kay and Frank are the most friendly staff you are ever likely to meet. Hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. Iyou want to relax this is the place to go. Evening entertainment was a little dissapointing , the last night kareoke was great fun. My only concern were the Donkeys and Dogs in the fields opposite the Hotel were very poorly treated, in such hot weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Lindos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Lindos Hotel

Address: Vlicha, Lindos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Lindos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to a total renovation (spring 2011) of all the rooms/restaurant/reception/bar area and swimming pool the Lindos Star Hotel will be a new and pleasent place to enjoy your next holiday. As soon as possible we will provide new photoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Star Lindos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Star Hotel
Star Hotel Lindos
Star Lindos Hotel Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Lindos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.