We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the lindos star!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Lindos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Star Lindos Hotel to your Saves list
Star Lindos Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vlicha, Lindos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Lindos
skegness england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“loved the lindos star!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

we have just got back from a great holiday in lindos while staying at the lindos star. its a great little hotel set back from the beach in a lovely setting. everybody there is so freindly and helpfull. kay and frank are allways there at meal times if you need any advice about how to get about or where to go, and liz on reception is always there with a smile and help if you need it.
the only thing i would have to say is the meals could be a bit more daring , but the food is always hot and plentyful.
we found it the perfect place to stay, quiet and the pool is great, and if you want more it a bit more lively, all you have to do is head to lindos town a short taxi ride away (9 euros there and 7 euros back,) and you can party the night away to the early hours. there is some lovely little tavernas just a short walk away if you fancy a quieter time, and a couple of small shops and car/bike hire places nearby.
we found it to be the best of both worlds and cant wait to go back again.
go and enjoy the lindos star, i know we will again!!!

mark treena and anasatasia.


  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

The Lindos Star is a spotlessly clean hotel at the end of a quiet road, backed by mountains and two minutes from the beach.

The buffet style breakfasts and dinners comprised a wide range of well prepared and presented food. We were surprised to read that some found the choice boring as there were always at least half a dozen choices of main course and plenty of vegetables, rice, pasta etc.

The staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive and a special mention must go to Frank and Kay the English managers of the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

The room was simply furnished with plenty of storage space, a nice bathroom that had a bath, shower, bidet, toilet and basin, and a pleasant balcony overlooking the sea. The pillows were a bit lumpy but were changed for brand new ones immediately we asked.

The bar area was pleasant with a generous terrace and comfortable seating. A wide range of beers, wines and spirits was on offer although the coffee, while pleasant, was a little expensive at 2.50 E.

There is a snack bar at the pool which serves a variety of decent food at reasonable prices. This area is surrounded by pleasant gardens and free sunbeds.

If you need to do a little shopping, the supermarket down the road to the right of the pool is better stocked and is cheaper than the one down the road to the left of the pool.

Immediately outside the hotel there are plenty of parking spaces and there is a field with a tame donkey. We would recommend that guests hire a car for at least some of the stay (although buses to and from Lindos and Rhodes Town are frequent and cheap). The beach has small pebbles and is much more pleasant than sand although the snack bar at one end is a bit hit and miss.

A taxi ride to Lindos is 8E in and 5E back. Lindos is a lovely town and should not be missed. The acropolis is stunning and the centre of town is a maze of shops and restaurants. Further afield, Rhodes Town - particularly the Old Town - is delightful and should also not be missed. There is a wealth of history there and the little streets are perfect for strolling. There are plenty of bargains to be had and leather and cotton clothing is particularly good value.

The island of Rhodes is very sparsely populated south of Lindos and there are fine beaches, mountains and forests to be explored. (Car hire was 55E for three days and petrol was about 1E per litre). Profitas Ilias, a mountain in the centre of the island, is well-worth the trip and it should be noted that the main highways in Rhodes - including those in the mountains - are in very good condition. Some of the smaller roads are surfaced with loose gravel but are easy to deal with if you take your time.

We can truly say that this was a brilliant holiday. The Lindos Star is a two star hotel - but a very good two star. The cleanliness of the hotel and the quality of the staff cannot be over-emphasised.

There were only two downsides to our trip (which are nothing to do with the Lindos Star). Firstly, it was the end of the season and there wasn't very much to do in the evenings - although entertainment was on offer at the Lindos Beach Hotel 100 metres away. Secondly, 8E for two cups of watery coffee in plastic cups at the airport departure lounge was very poor value, although this was a tiny speck on what was otherwise a superb holiday.

Well done Lindos Star!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2004

The hotel is really nice, good service, but the food was boring. The problem is that breakfast (buffet) is always the same - some ham, beans and scrambled eggs; sometimes the only addition to this palette was french fries or potato chips. The dinner was a bit better but in general it was also monotone - chef doesn't have a big fantasy there...

Rooms are good although a bit basic; Lindos is 5 min by the taxi; it's very good place to stay if you don't want crowds and noise; there is nice supermarket "Tsampikos" on the left side with cool salesman there; actually he's local tourist attraction, it's worth to visit him.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2004

Stayed at Lindos Star in July 2003. What a wonderful place to relax, food was excellent , kay and Frank are the most friendly staff you are ever likely to meet. Hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. Iyou want to relax this is the place to go. Evening entertainment was a little dissapointing , the last night kareoke was great fun. My only concern were the Donkeys and Dogs in the fields opposite the Hotel were very poorly treated, in such hot weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2004

A lovely small hotel, with wonderful staff, good food and close to peebly beach. Evenings prooved to be the only downfall of the place, since it was too quiet, with nowhere to walk off the evening meal. To get to Lindos itself transport is needed. Even to get the bus, a steep hill has to be climbed. But to walk, you must be as fit and as agile as their goats to climb up to the roadside, where vehicles rush very close by as you do the 20mins walk! If total peace is what you want this is ideal. The island is well worth a visit - we hired a car for several days and saw some lovely sights during our two weeks there in Sept.
2003.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2003

My husband and I had a lovely relaxing break at The Lindos Star in late September this year. The staff at the hotel were very informative, friendly and helpful. There wasn't a great array of bars/nightlife, but the ones which we did use, were very good, especially the one on the Beach (Michaels). We hired a car and had a great time exploring the surrounding area. Also, an evening into Lindos is a must, especially enjoying a romantic meal at one of the roof-top tavernas. All in all, the holiday was brilliant, and we would certainly come back again especially to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2003

A great place to stay for a relaxing autumn break. We went to the Lindos Star on 18th October and the weather was perfect. Only a short walk to the pebbly beach and although the sea was cold it was worth clambering over the pebbles to cool off. One guy had the answer by wearing towelling socks! The Hotel itself was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food was good, buffet style, so as little or as much as you wanted. Bedrooms a bit basic but adequate.
Towels changed every day. We managed to walk to Lindos by climbing up the goat tracks to get to the road, then only a 15 minute walk and well worth it. For the less mobile there was a lift from one of the hotels I believe but we never found it. I would not consider this suitable for couples with children who need entertainment nor was the beach suitable but for us slightly "older" folk it was just perfect. Not to be missed was the local Pergola Taverna where you could get a carafe of local red wine for 3 euros and enjoy looking out across the bay. The owner was a delightful greek lady who greeted everybody like an old friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Lindos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Lindos Hotel

Address: Vlicha, Lindos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Lindos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to a total renovation (spring 2011) of all the rooms/restaurant/reception/bar area and swimming pool the Lindos Star Hotel will be a new and pleasent place to enjoy your next holiday. As soon as possible we will provide new photoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Star Lindos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Star Hotel
Star Hotel Lindos
Star Lindos Hotel Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Lindos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.