We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT WATER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lindos Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Lindos Mare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhodes Lindos Avenue | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Lindos
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“HOT WATER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Like others I would have given this hotel 5 stars....but I really don't understand the problems I had with hot water. The water was only ever just above warm. Same thing experienced by a friend down the corridor. On one night when the water was on the cold side of tepid, we alerted hotel reception, who sent down an engineer who said there had been a boiler problem and we should try again in a couple of hours. We did and indeed the water had improved from tepid to just above warm (again). But if I'm staying at a top hotel, I want to draw a piping hot bath.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    144
    25
    14
    1
See reviews for
183
550
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calne Wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our first visit to Rhodes, and going on this stay, it will not be our last! We arrived late at night, and had missed the evening meal. Not a problem though, as two plates of sandwiches, and a bottle of wine were waiting for us in our room. The room was well appointed, spacious, clean, and cool. We had fantastic views out over the bay. The hotel is on many levels, being built into the side of the coastal cliff. Although there are a series of lifts up and down the complex, it may not be suitable to people have a problem negotiating steps! The staff were all friendly, efficient, and willing to help. They all spoke numerous languages, so any request was easily understood. There were two swimming pools, which were clean and well maintained. The main upper pool had numerous sunbeds, but we found that an early towel was required for the better positions! Both pools had waiter/ waitress service all day for drinks and food if required. We used the beach bar at the bottom of the complex mainly for lunches, as it was nice to have a change of scenery at times. Again, the food and staff were excellent. The main restaurant was well staffed, and well run. The restaurant manager was known to all as 'Rafa', as he bore a striking resemblance to Rafa Benitez, the football manager. I must apologise for not remembering his real name! The restaurant in the evenings had proper cloth table coverings and napkins, not the paper type which more often than not, seem to be the norm these days! All of the food was of a very high standard, plentiful and well presented, with a good selection of dishes. The sweets were something else though. They were absolutely fantastic! The best that we'd had anywhere, as our waistlines can testify!
Any problems? Well apart from the steps, not really. However, on four evenings out of our fourteen night stay, the water was barely warm, and once, stone cold, when we went to shower. This was reported to the reception, and we were told it was probably due to the high demand, and to shower at a different time! Well, we did try that, but still had a cold shower! Something we feel that needs to be addressed, as, most people leave the beach or pool at around the same time, to shower and change before their evening meal!
Overall though, an excellent place to stay and be looked after. I would thoroughly recommend The Lindos Mare Hotel, and would not hesitate to return in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Lindos Mare exceeded our expectations in every respect, but we were impressed the most by the superb staff who all seem extremely happy in their work.

Our junior suite was spacious, well furnished, with a lovely view and in a quiet and private location. All the necessary facilities were there such as safe, fridge, luxurious bathroom and fruit and wine on arrival. Everything is spotlessly clean and towels and sheets are changed every day if you wish.

We really enjoyed the food in the restaurant and were amazed by the variety and choice on offer. The head chef Yannis was wonderful and provided a great choice of tasty alternatives to satisfy a dairy free diet. He was also always on hand at the buffet to advise which dishes were safe to choose. If you have any special dietary requirements there is no need to worry about the food here. In this respect it is the best we have experienced. All the staff bend over backwards to help you, particularly John (Yanni) in the restaurant who provided us with the best entertainment as well as service.

The swimming pools were lovely, very clean with nice gardens around. We also used the gym and table tennis room quite a lot. The beach area is quite pleasant, plenty of sunbeds and a bar service, however the sand is a little dark, almost volcanic.

It is very easy to get into Lindos, only 5 minutes by taxi or bus. We found the taxi option well worth the extra money as it takes you all the way into the town. It's lovely to be able to exchange your dinner for lunch and eat in Lindos in the evening if you wish.

People seem to return here year after year (one couple every year for the last 20 years) and we can see why. Well done Lindos Mare!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thanks to Thomson we had a wonderful week at the Lindos Mare hotel. Built on a hillside over a bay, and renovated in 2001, it is an excellent hotel in really modern condition, with happy, friendly staff. The choice of food was amazing, and the pool bar was excellent. There was also a choice of large tvs to watch, and we found the reception area a comfortable place to relax near a tv and bar. The only downside was an old tv in the room, but we only used this to catch up with the news. This hotel exceeded all my expectations. There were 2 pools, one large, one small, and free sunbeds on the beach. You could have lunch served to you on a sunbed, or take a small walk to a lovely taverna. There was also live entertainment on 4 nights.

Room Tip: There are a few small rooms, so mind out. A couple who got one were able to change. Ask for a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Lindos Mare has recently extended its dining room with an added outside "deck" which enjoys fantastic views to enhance your dining.
The hotel is fortunate to have as the Manager Michael...who's talents include Greek dancing, singing and playing keyboards.
The hotel sits easily alongside Lindos Blu which also has excellent facilities.
In The "Mare" the rooms are spacious, clean and well serviced.
The food is great.
The entertainment first class
Would I go back YES!!!

Room Tip: Make an effort to speak a couple of words of Greek...its much appreciated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Midlands, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to the Lindos Mare, over the past 3 years , and as each time previously it has been a wonderfully relaxing time and just what a holiday should be. we were therefore surprised to read some of the negative comments about the hotel recently posted on here by some writers.

From entering the doors of reception on arrival to leaving on our last night all was a pleasure and delight, and we were very sad to leave - tears were shed!

Every member of staff is courteous and polite and will help in any way they can if you have any queries, there are too many kindnesses to mention , many guests are return visitors time and again, which says so much about a hotel , and all returning guests are treated like old friends by the staff who all genuinely appear happy in their work , this also includes the student trainees from hospitality colleges who are receiving training from The Best ! ( Mr Savvas, Mr Michaelis, Dimitris and their brilliant teams!!)
Each time we have visited, there has been something new to see, and improvements on what is already excellent - this time the beautifully appointed Estia outdoor terrace to augment and extend the dining room is a joy to see and use. The stunning views of Vliha bay across to Kalathos and Haraki can be enjoyed without visual interruption both morning and evening and this has made the inside tables less crowded.
The food is excellent , beautifully displayed and presented, with the widest choices imaginable, including child foods if needed, Heathy eating, Diabetic foods, Lacto and Ovo Vegan and Vegetarian and Gluten free meals are available. All choices are continually restocked even at 10 minutes to end of service so there was never any lack of supply - additionally if you required any specific meals the staff will endeavour to arrange this. As for queues outside the restaurant it was mainly for the outside terrace and was never for more than a few minutes! And during this time Mr Michaelis keeps the queue entertained.
I would argue that in a hotel of this calibre with this amount of kitchen staff you will never be served with frozen chips as one writer complained!

We booked independently and arrived late at night to be advised that since we had unfortunately missed our meal that evening we could claim a meal on our last night or take another meal at lunchtime in addition to our half board. It is also possible to swap your evening meal to have a lunch option, this can be taken in the a la carte Pelagos restaurant - with excellent attentive silver service care from Dimitris and his team ; or can be taken at the pool bar ; well stocked picnic bag for day trips is also another option!

Our double room was to a high standard, with all amenities that we needed! and was kept scrupulously clean by the discrete cleaners who appear to have a 6th sense of when guests are out as were never knocking on our door to service the room !!

During our stay we went for a look and were shown around the Lindos Blu - the Mare's 5star sister hotel next door - which was impressive and well designed but not really where we want to stay, and we shall be returning to the Mare again in the near future!

One final comment: I would echo the comment of the Manager Mr Tougounzoglou , if people wish to criticise or have a complaint they should say something at that time and then someone will be able to help them and address or rectify their issues. Don't wait until you get back and make complaints and petty comments , as the hotels main aim is for guests to enjoy and have a happy time there, and they will do their utmost to make things right!

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for sea view it is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Being our first trip to the Lindos Mare we took the advice from past reviews and booked a Junior suite. We arrived after midnight and with no fuss and were shown quickly to our room. There were complimentary sandwiches a bottle of wine and on request a bouquet of flowers for my wife as it was our anniversary. The room and the balcony were perfect. In the morning we were delighted by a stunning view over the vlitcha bay. The hotel is spotless, food first class and the staff and guests are the friendliest we have encountered. The entertainment is very good, dont miss the Greek night. You are not far from all the towns and villages. Lindos approx 5 minutes and Pethkos 15 minutes. The buses are regular every half hour and cheap. Rhodes town is only 5 euros, travel time 1 hour 15 minutes, we went twice well worth the second visit. So if your after a chill out holiday with all your your needs catered for this is the Hotel for you We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Address: Rhodes Lindos Avenue | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 Family Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare, is a boutique hotel which is built on many different levels on a sun-kissed hillside with panoramic views of beautiful Vliha Bay, only 2,5 kilometers from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the complex with the beach front. Recent renovations to all areas of Lindos Mare, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine , create an atmosphere of discrete luxury and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect leisurely holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindos Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.