We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a shame you can't rate more than 5 for service :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lindos Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Lindos Mare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhodes Lindos Avenue | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Lindos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It's a shame you can't rate more than 5 for service :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just got back from the Lindos Mare this morning having spent two wonderful weeks there.

Overview
Everything that has been said about this hotel before is absolutely true – the staff are exceptional and will go out of their way to make your stay as good as it can be. For example, we asked for a coffee at the reception bar which they don’t normally offer there at the late time we wanted it but they then ordered this from the pool bar and brought this up to us – another night they bent the rules to allow us room service out of hours. Only one tiny wee issue is that the waiting staff in the restaurant could benefit from a teensy bit more finesse to raise the bar even higher. For example leaning over you while eating to remove plates or removing plates when the other person hasn’t finished. That said, it’s a very minor issue given the hustle and bustle of a busy restaurant where the staff do an otherwise great job.

For those with mobility issues...
A word about the stairs – there are a lot! You should be aware of this however it isn’t really an issue even if you do have mobility issues. My partner uses a walking stick and has difficulty with stairs but this hotel presented no major issues for her so you shouldn’t let this put you off too much if you can normally handle a few steps at a time. There are many lifts available which we always used. Using the lifts, you only need to negotiate a few steps here and there and a few metres of flat walking to get around. The layout is a bit confusing at first but after a day or so, you get used to it. The only thing you may find more difficult is getting down to the beach and back. There are about a dozen steps down from the bottom pool area to the gate, then quite a steep slope, then about a dozen uneven steps to get on to the beach.

Location-wise, the hotel is well placed as it is outside the more ‘touristy’ areas which suited us as it was nice and peaceful .

There is a shop selling beach toys, water etc in the hotel but this can be a bit pricey. A short walk along the beach will take you to a small ‘mini-market’ that’s a bit more reasonable and has a wider range of stock.

Accommodation
We had a twin room, overlooking the bay, with a balcony – not the height of luxury but well decorated/cleaned and the fridge and safe were welcome additions although the air conditioning could have done with a bit more ‘grunt’. As an aside, the shower in our room (512) was the most powerful I’ve ever experienced!

Beach and pools
When we went (from 1st – 16th June) it was not that busy which meant that there were always sun beds available at both the large and small pools and at the beach. The beach itself is very child friendly – if you go down and turn right, it is a sand beach and slopes very gently – the sea is clear and clean and offers good snorkelling opportunities - especially by the rocks. Excellent beach service is provided by guys with considerable stamina, given the heat and the amount of stairs they have to climb up and down! A word of caution, the last few days we were there, it got VERY hot – 45 degrees on the beach! So take loads of strong sun tan lotion and use shade often, as the sea breeze can be deceptive.

Watersports
I have a Berlitz pocket guide to Rhodes dated 2010 which recommends this hotel but states that there are no watersports. But there IS now a fully equipped watersports area a short distance along the beach with jetskis, waterskiing and those big banana things etc available.

Food
The food was always excellent consisting of a buffet for starters and a main/dessert course. Desserts here deserve special mention - WOW!
You could just fill up on the extensive excellent buffet without taking a main course if you don’t fancy what’s on offer – I did this on a couple of occasions. Only real issue is that the main restaurant can get a bit cramped.
Breakfast also deserves special mention - only slight downside was the quality of the fruit juices that were not to my taste,

Out and about
Lindos is a beautiful village nearby which has lots of shops and bars –ten minutes and 8 euros in a taxi. We had lunch at the Melenos hotel in Lindos –the dining area is built in a quiet sophisticated garden area around a tree with grape vines draped all around - highly recommended although you should book if you want dinner there.

I’d say it’s essential that you should hire a car. You can do this at the hotel reception or book online in advance – we used ‘George cars’ who allow you to pre-pay via paypal – an advantage for us. We headed to the south and west which is off the beaten track and offers isolated beaches, genuine traditional villages and phenomenal vistas – Monolithos on the west coast is a must, must, must see.

Summary
Normally, after two weeks, we feel it’s time to go home – not this time, we genuinely wanted to stay another week! A fantastic hotel in a quiet location where they make service a top priority and it really makes a huge difference. Perfect for a relaxing, hassle free holiday in Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    143
    24
    14
    1
See reviews for
181
549
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Highly recommended! Friendly staff, modern & clean rooms, pool and beach access, good food & amazing views!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

As a young couple looking for a last minute deal for our first holiday together we stumbled across the Lindos Mare Hotel and from the reviews had high expectations. However, we were pleased to find that our expectations were exceeded.

The service was exemplary and friendly without being obtrusive. The hotel itself was beautiful and had excellent facilities. We stayed in a twin room with a balcony and sea view and were pleased to find it equipped with a safe and fridge which we could use free of charge. An interesting feature was an electronic blind in the en-suite to allow you to look out over the bay when using the bath and shower.

As the hotel was relatively quiet, if you were looking for entertainment, the hotel location could be a downside. Although Lindos Mare is a short distance to Lindos, the road to get there is hilly, fairly busy and there is no designated walkway. Therefore, getting the bus or a taxi is preferable. Lindos is definitely worth a visit and is very pretty.

The food was amazing, especially the pudding selection in the evening. The variety of food was great. The hotel was very flexible about meals and allowed you to transfer evening meals to vouchers to be used in the a la carte restaurant for either lunch or dinner. We had a late arrival on our first day and were given a voucher which we used for lunch on our last day. We had an excursion planned with a pick-up time before breakfast was served and the hotel was happy to provide a light breakfast for us without additional charge.

We had a perfect week and our only concern is that in the future, other holidays will not match the quality of the Lindos Mare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had our first visit to this hotel in Lindos and we were not disappointed. There are a number of steps and slopes to bear in mind for anyone with walking difficulties but strategically sited lifts help a lot. The management and staff are exceptional with absolutely nothing being too much trouble. Everything possible is done to ensure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. Of all the many guests we met there nobody had anything bad to say about the hotel. Definitely worth paying the extra for a junior suite. One of our best holidays in over 15 years travelling abroad and we would not hesitate to make a return visit if only suitable dates were available, seems always to be sold out, I wonder why?

Room Tip: If available rooms in the 3000's not only have good sea views but are far enough away from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have just returned home from a fantastic week at the Lindos Mare Hotel. We stayed there with our two daughters 17 and 20 and had the most lovely holiday.

Our rooms were beautiful with amazing views looking over Vilcha beach and the sea. The rooms were spotless and very well appointed.

The food was brilliant with something for everyone and we enjoyed (perhaps a little too much) the fantastic cocktails.

Most of all, I think that what stood out for us most was the warmth and friendliness of the staff.
The service we received was very good indeed, with nothing too much trouble.

We cant wait to go back and would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Faultless once again - this hotel can simply not be beaten.

Everything about this holiday is first class and seems to improve with every visit.

The people who work at this hotel are some of the nicest you could meet, food, weather and accomodation is great.

Anyone who has avoided Greece because of the economic crisis is seriously missing out - looking forward to another visit next year.

Room Tip: Junior suites are well located for the restaurant, main pool, lift and spa.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Cannot find any fault, with this perfect for us Hotel. Setting just outside Lindos, quiet sandy end of the beach with clear water. The staff are so friendly and happy. Our room was fantastic, the views perfect, loved the window in the bathroom looking out to views. Loved the sandy beach and free sundbeds, the great bar service, food and drink brought to your sunbed.
Fridge, safety deposit box, air conditioning use of the sauna, beach towels all included in our holiday.
Entertainment 2 - 3 times a week, exceptionally good.
If you like an adventure there is a path behind the hotel that takes you to a little cave chapel and up to Lindos town. Avoiding the bending roads. Or bus and taxi in. Hotel car hire very reasonable rates.
Didn't like the evening trip to Rhodes town on the coach too many people....
A perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: 141, high on a corner views in all directions. Perfect at the height of summer with roof for shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Address: Rhodes Lindos Avenue | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 Family Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare, is a boutique hotel which is built on many different levels on a sun-kissed hillside with panoramic views of beautiful Vliha Bay, only 2,5 kilometers from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the complex with the beach front. Recent renovations to all areas of Lindos Mare, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine , create an atmosphere of discrete luxury and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect leisurely holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindos Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.