We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location food a little disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palestra Restaurant

Palestra Restaurant
Lindos Main Beach, Lindos 85107, Greece
30 22440 33095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 71 Restaurants in Lindos
Cuisines: European, Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely location food a little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

We visited during our holiday and were made to feel very welcome. My husband had the sardines which he thoroughly enjoyed and I chose the chicken fillet. I was a little disappointed as it came with just chips and no salad or veg and at 10.90 I thought it was quite expensive. However, that being said the view was superb and the staff were very nice.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    19
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rosanna and Nico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Location,location,location : swim, snorkel and have lunch or diner at the beach restaurant.
Owners Rosanna and Nico and staff friendly and efficient, food good.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir, Türkiye
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

It is just next to the beach, so location is perfect. Food is not greatest in town, bur acceptable. We paid 25 EUR for each with full stomach of sea food and several beers. I think price is reasonable for Rhodes at high season.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Escape from the tourist restaurants of Lindos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Lindos is by far one of the most unique and picturesque seaside villages in Greece. But with popularity comes a price and so the city is invaded by bus-loads of tourists each morning who traipse through the town like ants climbing to the Acropolis and then dining at the all-in-one price menu restaurants (complete with French fries) or shopping in the kitsch stalls offering machine made ceramics, bad souvenirs and Indian shawls. And at night it's worse. But what is always surprising is that if you walk 500 m, there is another world. And so you can discover a 5 star dining experience just by looking around you. In our one week stay (another review but at an apartment 100 metres from the sea on the Main beach) we discovered the two most unique restaurants of Lindos, one is a small lunch and sometimes dinner taverna with tables on gravel terraces on St Paul's bay and other is Rossana's Palestra right at the northern end of the Lindos Main beach. This is what I call the "real thing" and a constant topic in my reviews. Where else can you sit looking straight at the acropolis and the string of white houses below just metres from your beach umbrella and at night watching the full yellow Lindos moon rise over the bay. Rossana, the owner, is magic, speaking many languages and making everyone feel special. The food never disappointed, especially the sweet small Lindos shrimps. Avoid the loud and noisy restaurants across the bay (these are the popular wedding restaurants blasting out music till midnight) and instead walk the few hundred metres to Palestra...or park your car outside. The other restaurant owners may tell you can't, but you can. And say hello to Rossana and say I recommended her restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

In our opinion the best seafood restaurant in Lindos. Palestra is hidden away at the end of the main beach and is just perfect. Not only is the view perfect so is the food. Try the grilled squid and the seafood pasta . The setting and everything else is what makes this restaurant worth visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palestra Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Palestra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palestra Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.