We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink frappe, chill and relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palestra Restaurant

Palestra Restaurant
Lindos Main Beach, Lindos 85107, Greece
30 22440 33095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 72 Restaurants in Lindos
Cuisines: International, European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Drink frappe, chill and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed there to take rest and sip FRAPPE... Immidietally we were being offered house specialities and something to drink. Beautiful place to chill and relax. Very quite place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    19
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“One of the cutest terraces in the world !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Five meters to crystal waters...and overviewing the Acropolis of Lindos, the Gods did spoil this beach !
After a pleasant welcome, I must say I’ve already eaten better seafood spaghetti, but they were OK and in front of such a landscape you could forgive everything...
Don’t miss it !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tourist burgler ! Stay away!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

For a small meal for 3 that usually costs no more than 45 euros , they charged us 70 !! He charges abseen prices . I recommend to stay way.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a lovely lunch at Palestra. Simple grilled calamari and mussles in tomatoe and feta - delicious. Washed down with a couple of beers - a nice way to end the afternoon in Lindos.

Not many customers as end of season and mid afternoon - service was friendly and informative.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food is pretty good - but beware of the bill!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've been to this restaurant off and on over the years for a couple litres of wine and a few light snacks.

I'm not sure if the ownership has changed, however the staff ( including those in the kitchen ) are now all Italian and you really can't go wrong on the food. What we had was great ( we were told the Calamari was fresh and if we didn't like it we didn't pay ). Fair enough. It was perfect. Then we ordered octopus in a style not listed on the menu. One of the many staff in the kitchen said no problem - it was great also.

We didn't have much else ( just some garlic bread and of course two litres of house wine ).

When the bill came, I nearly had a heart attack! I won't even quote the price - check the menu at the door and the math is easy enough. In my shock, I don't recall but I believe they included a generous gratuity also.

Nice food, nice location, "really expensive" - as others stated.

Dump the excess staff ( there were about 8 or 9 cooks ) and cut a few corners to bring greater value and we will return!

Otherwise, chow.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palestra Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Palestra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palestra Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.