We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, brilliant staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindos Blu

Save Saved
You added Lindos Blu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindos Blu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46, 5 Km Rhodes - Lindos Avenue, Lindos 85107, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 hotels in Lindos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, brilliant staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent a week at the Lindos Blu in early October and wished we had stayed for a fortnight. We are pretty fussy about hotels we choose, and which room we stay in, but the Blu is one of the few where any room would be at least excellent in terms of facilities and outlook to a fabulous view. The hotel has an adults only policy: very sensible as the stylish architecture has some hazards like unguarded edges and water features that could be a worry for very young children. The result is a primarily couples hotel which is perfectly focused on its core client group and delivers a very refined and restful experience. The hotel is good to look at and is located with a fabulous view from almost everywhere in the hotel. The outdoor areas are largely shaded by the hotel, which is great if like me you need to be careful in strong sun. Sunbathers can find heat if they need to though, and the hotel has a private beach area at sea level which is a traditional sunbathers paradise, with drinks service from the bar too.
Bedrooms are modern as spacious with a great shower and spa bath complete with a window if you want to enjoy the view as you bubble.
Food is of a great standard: we didn't go inclusive as Lindos town has so many fantastic restuarants on offer, but looking at the menus we would consider this in future. We chose to eat in the hotel instead of going to town on two occasions, which says a lot about what's on offer here.
Leaving the staff to last because they are some of the best I've met. The client facing staff are incredibly friendly and attentive, and seem to have the time to engage that little bit more with their patrons. One step back from this is a management team with fearsomely high standards: we got an impression that behind the scenes there is little tolerance for slackness despite the relaxed ambience at the front of house. The staff make every effort to get to know the customers personally, and are genuinely disappointed if there is any part of their stay which is not up to the team standard. Special mentions for our brilliant daytime bar staff, and our personal waiter, who greeted us by name as we arrived for our first breakfast. Notice I say ours. That's just how it felt. Totally personal in a top class setting. Well done Lindos Blu.

Room Tip: We couldn't see a room that we didn't like the look of, but there are variations of outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    542
    64
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
525
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

It was our First time visiting Lindos and the Lindos Blu looked impressive. Given the many favourable reviews on Trip Advisor we had high expectations but I must say the hotel definitely lived up to the hype.

We booked a double room with a great view of the Vlicha Bay which was breathtaking...
The room was cleaned every morning and there were treats brought to the room every evening.. The cleaning staff were so courteous and friendly and an asset to the hotel!!

Breakfast was also lovely with great views of the bay and so much choice to satisfy all tastes with the selection of hot and cold spreads.

We were half board (which we don't normally do) but having read all the reviews and getting a good deal we decided to give it a go. I must say the food was first class with so much choice I'm having to increase my exercise regime now I'm back :)
You get a soup starter, then a buffet of appetisers which consists of different meats, breads, risotto, pasta, salads, the list goes on (and the selection changes everyday). Then you get a choice of main from the menu which was usually a fish, meat or vegiterian option then a selection of desserts. To be honest, the desert buffet was the only slight let down as most of the choices were chocolate based mousse dishes which got boring after a while and off putting if you were not a big chocolate fan. Other choices were ok but nothing great.

We ate in the Five Senses restaurant and although the food and service were both nice and attentive, we felt it was a little overpriced for what it was and the choice was limited to fish options only. We were the only ones in the restaurant but felt romantic given the views. We did get a 30 euro credit (being half board) but given the prices it was still expensive overall... As for the lobster night at 70 euros per person excluding drinks I'll leave that for you to decide :)

The staff are exceptional across the board and really make an effort to get to know you and provide a great service accordingly. This made us feel special everyday and well looked after... This is a real positive for this hotel and why people come back.

The beach was just ok and there are about 3 lifts you have to take to get there but it's great fun (honestly)... The hotel does not get a lot of sun so you have to be in certain areas to get it...

The gym was adequate and again the views made the experience worthwhile, we did not use the spa.

The hotel is only a 15-20 min walk from Lindos town but the roads are not really built for walking. I would say can get away with walking on the side of the road into town during the day but do not do so in the evenings as its not safe and the lighting is non-existent. Other options are a taxi which is 8 euros there and 6 euros back and takes no more than 5 mins.. There is also the local bus which is 1.60 each way and you can pick up a timetable from the reception desk. The town is very beautiful with nice shops, restaurants and the attractions such as the acropolis and St. Paul bay.

Rhodes town is just under an hour away and would advise taking the local bus (coach) which runs mainly every hour and was 10 euros each way. The other option kindly recommended by the hotel was the taxi at 55 Euros each way.. The town is lovely with both modern and historical sites combined.

Overall, this is a great hotel and definitely worth booking!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

In a nut shell this hotel is 5 stars. The A La Carte is some of the best food I have tasted and this is from someone who dines at many of the fine establishments in Chelsea/Knightsbridge.

We had a room with a pool which never caught the sun but this didn't bother us as in the afternoon we retired to the room and it was nice to be out of the intense sun.

Taxi is 2 mins ride from the village.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone in search of relaxation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Everything relevant about this hotel, good and not so good, has been covered by earlier reviews. I can only add that for my wife and I this is our favourite chill out holiday destination having just returned from our second visit. I would love to thank by name several of the excellent staff that make this hotel so special but this would be unfair to the ones I left out as they are all 5 star +. Thank you all, we will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lindos Blu is a stylish modern hotel, with a great view. We stayed in a Double Room level C on a B&B basis. The room more than exceeded my expectations... the jacuzzi in the bath was great, and the standard of housekeeping high.

The breakfast buffet was superb, full of choice, fresh, with little twists on the conventional, like local honey, quince marmalade....I could actually go on for ages because the choice was extensive.

Its staff are the shining beacon of the hotel, a real stand out, being bright, courteous, attentive, and having the knack of being invisible until you need them.

We had dinner one evening in the "Five Senses Restaurant" which I would describe as modern fusion with local ingredients. It was excellent and less expensive than I would have anticipated.

The Luna Rossa bar was perfect for pre dinner cocktails.

The Hotel is a short 20 minute walk from Lindos town, which has plenty of restaurants to choose from. There is not a pavement on the road to the town. I felt comfortable walking on the side of the road during the day, but at night we used taxi's which never took more than a few minutes to arrive and were 8 euro's from and 6 euro's to the hotel.

Some minor issues include I did not get a sense of splendid isolation and perhaps facing north is a problem for some, you don't get a sunset. Personally these and other small detail are trivial when taking the whole experience in the round, and are easily offset by the value for money. I will unreservedly recommend the hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are truely amazing. My boyfriend bought me this holiday for my 21st birthday and he couldn't of chossen a better hotel. My boyfriend and I couldn't fault this hotel at all. We will definatly be returning to Lindos blu and we have recommended this to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Accomodation
We had a standard double room with an amazing view overlooking the bay. We were on the top floor but because of the way the hotel is laid out I think every room must get a great view. The decor is modern and very cool with an LCD TV in every room, mini bar (not cheap but not cripplingly priced). Despite the hotel being 4 years old nothing looks tired or worn. Everything is fresh and clean and the beds were very sizable and comfy.

Food
We ate in the 'fine dining' restaurant Five Senses for the apparently famous lobster night. Be warned that everything on this evening is fishy, so it's fish or nothing. The only thing I would say about the night is it's punching a little above it's weight, feeling like its trying very hard to be Heston Blumental with froth on food, and jelly and so forth. Could do with losing a course and upsing the size a little. Certainly a great effort, but a little 'try hard'.

The main restaurant, Smeraldo, is great, offering a mix of buffet and proper food and at 35 euro for a full evening 4 course meal it's smashing food and great value. Honestly can't fault this. The only thing I would say is that with Lindos only a 3 min cab away and so many great and new interesting restaurants, why would you want to go half board, confining yourself to the hotel?! However, it's certainly worth going to and you won't be disappointed.

Breakfast is honestly the best I've had in any hotel on the continent, offering everything from fruit and cereal to a full english, complete with an omlette station and a cook on-hand to whip up one fresh in front of you to your taste - brilliant. I became addicted to the fresh waffles and choclate spread. Think I need to check into rehab to get over them.

The pool bar is great offering snack food from 11.00 a.m. (the end of breakfast serving) to 6.00 p.m. (when they begin to set up tables for Smeralda). Be warned the dishes are huge and good enough to share. We both ordered a club sandwich one day and one would easily have fed both of us.

Facilities
Got everything. I had my hair cut and they did a great job. The spa offers a lot of treatments but at 90 euro for an hour's massage it's as dear as I've seen anywhere. I'm not cheap but thats an expensive back rub!

The bar upstairs is great - very cool. Could do with some more laid back, greek style seating but to be fair the hotel is ultra modern and it wouldn't be in keeping with the rest of the decor. Try a Mojito - they are to die for!

The beach is private to the Blu and sister hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed going down there. We visited in October and there was plenty of space although it probably gets very busy in high season.

Just 5 mins down the beach is a watersports centre with Jetskis, waterskiing, etc. In the town there is a tour operator through which we booked an excursion to Rhodes town and a scuba diving session which took place in a bay 10 minutes away from Lindos.

Staff
These are the people that make Lindos Blu what it is. Honestly you won't find a more friendly professional group of staff in any hotel anywhere. Genuine, there when you want them, invisible when you don't.

Location
This is really the only downside to the hotel. If you want a hotel right in the centre of town, this hotel might not be for you. There is a bus service running at half hour intervals which costs about 1.60 euros. Alternatively there are plenty of taxis but they charge between 6 and 8 euros for a 5 minute journey. Ordinarily, we would have walked into town, but you have to walk along a busy main road with no pavement or footpath and it isn't a very pleasant walk. Once you get to Lindos, the town is pretty and more laid back than Rhodes town. There are lots of restaurants and touristy shops to spend your time as well as a beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
Romantic, City...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#1 of 35 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
Luxury, Free Br...
Show More
22.9 mi away
Elite Suites by Amathus Beach
Elite Suites by Amathus Beach
#3 of 119 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free Br...
Show More
16.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort & Villas
Pool, Beach, Lu...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 35 in Lindos
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Romantic, Pool...
Show More
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 119 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Blu

Address: 46, 5 Km Rhodes - Lindos Avenue, Lindos 85107, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#8 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindos Blu 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Blu Hotel & Suites, the premiere adult-only luxury hotel of Rhodes, rests on the magnificent hillside of Vlycha Bay. The breathtaking view of the Aegean Sea and the traditionally inspired architecture of the hotel let loose the emotions of our guests. The customized services, provided in a delicate way by our excellently trained personnel, guarantee the indulgence of our visitors’ senses. Along with the historic and cultural elements of our island, our visitors will be overwhelmed with life-long, memorable experiences. Rejuvenate your body and mind at the Indulge Spa & Wellness Center, sip a cup of coffee or quench your thirst at the Allegro - Pool Bar with a cold Cocktail and let your senses guide you through the gourmet trip of the Five Senses Restaurant and the creations of our chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Lindos Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Blu Hotel Lindos
Blu Hotel Lindos
Lindos Blu Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindos Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.