We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zeus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zeus to your Saves list
Hotel Zeus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   06800 | Avd. Reina Sofia, 8, 06800 Merida, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

To find this hotel with a Garmin sat nav was impossible no matter what we typed in we ended up on an industrial estate, in desperation we went to the tourist office in the centre of town who gave us a map with the hotel location on it. The hotel is by a dual carriage way on the edge of the town of Merida and near the bull ring which meant a 20 minute walk into the centre, which didn't particularly matter as there were a lot of Roman ruins to see on the way. The town itself is quite small, typically Spanish and very pleasant, and the ruins are well worth seeing, apparently Herod was born here.
The hotel was basic and the staff could not speak any English but still somehow managed to ask in sign language if my partner and I were married! You would have had a problem if you were disabled as the lift did not reach the lobby but stopped at the top of quite a few marble steps. The room was basic with a reasonable bathroom which had a bath as well as shower but no plug in the basin so I had to ask for one, and there was no heating which was a bit of a problem as it was rather cold being November, otherwise it was alright for a single nights stop over. On reflection it would have been better to have been nearer the centre of town for restaurants and the ruins. The best part of the hotel was the free parking which is very expensive in Spain.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    23
    18
    11
See reviews for
8
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

And a little overpriced considering the prices of better accomodation in Cordoba and Granada.
I was there on Sep 2 visiting the city, very hot day.

Location is good, right by The Bull fighting arena and not far from the centre. Quick access from the highway, maybe too quick, it is lod in the night time.
The place is old and outdated, A/C is loud, had to use ear plugs during the night. Hated the shower curtain, stick on you while showering, if you know what I mean, although good presure the shower is small.
Front desk staff is helpful, very efficient, they will get you set up right away, they speak good english and they will give you good directions.
I guess is not bad for the money, I paid 48 eueros for a double room, Merida is more expensive from othere places. Only 3 stars from me for the shape of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Hotel Zeus is a 3 star hotel in Merida, a small town about 20 miles south of Caceres.Now the capital of Extremedura, it was once a Roman city and Arab fortress.As such it deserves more than the one night we stayed on our way south to Cadiz. Its Roman amphitheatre is one of the best preserved anywhere.

The hotel itself is clean, functional and easy to find once you appreciate traffic goes one way down one dual carriageway and another way down a parallel dual carriageway. Finding the U turn can be difficult! .A double room with bath/shower will cost around 60 eureos excluding breakfast.The free private parking gives an added sense of security.On an out of season visit the restaurant was closed and the bar could only offer cold snacks but other hotels and bars are within a short walk. Reception service was excellent but bar service surly, no doubt influenced by the lack of trade.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room-you'll get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We got a small room without aircon and no refrigerator and with a very small window. We complained, but it did not help although it was 30 degrees. The hotel claimed that all rooms with balcony was rented out, although we could see that there were very few guests at the hotel. 2 days without sleep is not nice on a holiday. We chose the hotel because there was a pool but pool area was closed down even though the trip took place in September. Breakfast was terrible with old bread but cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Bathroom was tiny, but they warned us, even so it was really small.
Otherwise, room was ok and air conditioning functioning properly which was appreciated as it was very hot outside.
Lift was not in a very convenient place as it was 1 floor up.
Free parking was appreciated.
Personnel was friendly.
Hotel is located close to city center which was good. We could visit roman ruins and take some nice cold drinks.
Hotel was a bit expensive considering similar places in other cities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,678 reviews 2,678 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
2,480 helpful votes 2,480 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The architect of this hotel did not do a good job. There is only one elevator and it is located one floor up over the reception desk, that one has to get to by going up the stairs. Anyone who is handicapped and is on a wheelchair will not be able to use this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

We arrived in the evening from Portugal. We found the staff not very friendly, even though we tried to make conversation. The room was very small and bathroom smelly. It is situated on a very busy and noisy dual carriageway so take earplugs. I would also recommend you buy rolls and juice and eat breakfast in your room. The breakfast was 5 euros for a small orange juice, a toasted roll and jam with a small coffee. I'm sure theres better out there.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zeus

Address: 06800 | Avd. Reina Sofia, 8, 06800 Merida, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zeus 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zeus Merida in Badajoz is a modern and well located 3-star hotel in city center. The hotel is located near the city center and most of the major historical and cultural sights of Merida, main city of Extremadura. Very close to the hotel we can find the Roman Theatre, the Roman Amphitheatre and the National Museum of Roman Art. The Hotel has a beautiful decoration and a very professional team in a comfortable environment, which make this 3-stars hotel a perfect place for those who want to know the monumental city of Merida and business tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Zeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel mérida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.