We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nova Roma to your Saves list
Nova Roma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suarez Somonte 42, 06800 Merida, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Clean and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was the first hotel we came across and because it had parking, we stopped for a night. However, the parking was 10 Euros for the night. The room was clean and you can open the windows which is a bonus not having to rely on air on. But the bath had a flexible shower head which was passed its use by date and didn't work properly. Lady on reception, Isabella, couldn't have been more helpful with info about the town and marking sites on a map. A good range of food for breakfast too. The downside was the very noisy fake timber flooring. Whether walking in socks or shoes, you squeak when you (and others) walk. Well located for sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    40
    42
    12
    8
See reviews for
30
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

A simple hotel with ion sight parking beware of steep turn to get into garage damaged underneath of my car almost. Walking distance to town which is nice. Rooms are average in size but bathroom has bath not a wet room. Bath seat can be provided. Internet Wifi is bad connection.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

In early June 2012 we stayed at the Nova Roma hotel in Madrid for three nights. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The elevator even worked. The lobby bar tenders were friendly and provided complimentary jamon iberico tapas. Because it was cold and rainy we ate at the hotel restaurant twice and really enjoyed the chicken in a tasty sauce with a nice wine, which was included. Another night we had a good paella and sangria.

The hotel is located just two blocks from the Plaza de Sol metro stop and less than a block from the Seville metro stop so travel to the train station and other points of interest was easy. We enjoyed wondering around the area near Sol and it was not far to walk to the Prado Museum and the Palace.

This hotel was a good find for us and we will always stay there when in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We came as a group so had good value rates. We found the hotel clean, comfortable, quiet and with friendly staff in all departments. Our group arrived just as the dining room was closing but as we had not eaten on the way they immediately re-opened it and we enjoyed a wonderful 3 course meal (lots of choices) with a bottle of wine included (or beer or soft drink if preferred) as the Menu del Dia (Daytime Special Menu) for only 11.95€ each which we considered good value for a tourist resort.The rooms were small but cosy. The only view was a white wall but we spent so much time "seeing the sights" that we were hardly in there, so it did not matter. The bath was very small with no grab handles, a problem if you are in any way incacipated. The shower was blocked with only a few holes functioning but there was always plenty hot water! There was heating and air conditioning but we did not need to use either. On our first day we came back to find a note written in English apologising that our room had not been cleaned. There had been a problem with the master key. By the time we got downstairs and reported our return to reception and returned to our room, the cleaner was already cleaning the room, which she always did to a very good standard. The hotel is very centrally located with everything within easy walking distance. The only unexpected problem we had is that the town council do not allow coaches and HGV's in to the town due to the very narrow streets. This meant we had to walk (downhill going to hotel) for about 8-10 minutes to reach our hotel and walk back up each time we went somewhere by coach. Luckily we had good weather during our stay. The hotel met us with a van to collect our luggage and also arranged a taxi for those unable to walk ( we had to pay for taxi). Despite the minor negatives mentioned the overall concensus of our group was that it was an enjoyable stay and there was even some talk of some of us coming back individually and staying in this hotel again!

Room Tip: There are 2 lifts! One is hidden away near the staircase. Watch out for the lethal glass table in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Hotel staff very nice, room very clean, much silence at night, everything perfect :-)

  • Liked — Staff and room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

Out of 8 hotels in 8 cities visited on a recent trip to Spain, Merida's Nova Roma fell way short of the standards experienced elsewhere, in many cases for less money. This property is in need of major upgrades to achieve a star rating of any kind.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nova Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Roma

Address: Suarez Somonte 42, 06800 Merida, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nova Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Roma mérida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.