We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget option!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuevo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nuevo Hotel to your Saves list
Nuevo Hotel
C/ Caballeros 23, Jerez De La Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent budget option!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nuevo Hotel was a good budget option for a group of us (friends in their 40s!) during March of 2013. The location is superb - seconds away from the main town square. The building is spotless and has a lot of character, considering that it's a budget option. The communal areas are very nice - it's easy to see that this was once a very fine Andalusian house. Yes the rooms are dated and basic, but given the OUTSTANDING value, the cleanliness and the fact that you have an en-suite, wifi and air conditioning, who would ever complain?! For this amount of money I can live with a turquoise bathroom suite! As for Jerez. Hmmmm, well it's pretty and friendly. Not much of a tourist infrastructure and restaurants seemed to shut after 9.30. I'm a huge fan of Granada, and whereas I liked Jerez, it was far too quiet for my liking. That said, the train service to neighbouring Cadiz is ok!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed in Jerez in Nuevo Hotel and this stay is such a beautiful memory. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Jerez and in this hotel you will find wonderful people always there to help you.
My room was very comfortable,loved it! I was told that many bullfighters and flamenco dancers have lived in Nuevo hotel over the years and I understand why. This place has great atmosphere! And Jerez is a wonderful place to visit. I felt like being in a novel because I met so many interesting people there, breakfast is a good opportunity to meet new friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nuevo is ideally situated in a small narrow street in the old city, a couple of minutes walk from the main square of Jerez. From the moment you walk into the atrium / foyer of this small hotel, you'll fall in love with it. It has an efficient lift and is squeaky clean, the rooms are cute with beautiful traditionaly tiled bathroom. Wi fi is free and breakfast an extra 3 euros p/p. Would definetly stay here again.
There are plenty of small bars serving tapas nearby and lots of restaurants in the square, good for people watching. I can recommend the Tio Pepe tour 25 euros for 2, extra if youw ant tapas with your wine tasting. Its only a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford,MA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Nuevo in April for two nights and would have happily stayed longer. The hotel is in a lovely old building and as other reviews have said, has much charm, is comfortable and is an excellent value. The staff was helpful and went above and beyond to suggest great places nearby for Tapas or the Meson de l'Asador for a very good grilled meat-meat-meat dinner. We lucked out and had room 208 which is a bit like sleeping the in Alhambra... a riot of tiles and Mudejar style ceilings. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. My only problem was getting my wifi to work. It just wouldn't. But that is a minor cavil. The hotel's location is very convenient in the old town (once you find it) and once you stow your car on the street you can walk just about everywhere except the outlying Sherry Bodegas. One other note, we visited the Cartuxa Monastery just outside Jerez towards Cadiz which was a gorgeous 15th century monastery. We happened into a magical 5:30 Sunday afternoon service which was sung and chanted by the nuns... if this is your cup of tea definitely check this out. Jerez is fun and too little known in a region packed with great places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed for one night in late April 2012 and liked the place. It's clean, central, has helpful staff, and the old building is really charming and bright. I would definitely recommend it. It's cleary not a luxury hotel, but it's fantastic value at the prices they charge.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, exploring the region. Lovely old building, with a spacious, cool reception area. Just a short walk down from the main square, with lots of bars and cafes. Although in a side street, the road was quite busy with traffic, so asked to be moved as we had a room right at the front. Be aware of this if you don't like noise. Breakfast was generally ok and was included in the room rate. Most of breakfast was self-service, although disappointed that bread seemed to be 'rationed' (a toasted bread roll brought to the table).
We arrived by bus and did wander around for a bit before finding the hotel, probably more to do with the map we had, rather than anything else! Once based at the hotel (and minus luggage) it's about a 10 minute walk to the train and bus stations.
Lots of buses to places around the area and a great train service to Cadiz.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the rear if you don't like noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This small hotel is a budget recommendation in the 8th edition of Lonely Planet's "Spain" guidebook. I booked directly through the hotel's website and paid 27 euros per night, breakfast included.
The hotel has a great location. It is only about 100 yards from the tourist hub of Plaza del Arena. Hoofing it, you can walk to the train station or bus station in about 10 minutes.
The room was ok, but nothing to write home about. The hotel is a converted mansion with high ceilings and drafty rooms. I stayed in November when the weather can be iffy in Spain. The room had a small combo heater/ac unit that warmed the room up to barely tolerable levels. The hotel has no elevator but is only 3 floors high. There is free wifi on the first floor. Reception in the rooms is spotty.

Room Tip: The famous room is # 208 with Islamic style furnishings and decorations
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuevo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuevo Hotel

Address: C/ Caballeros 23, Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Nuevo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuevo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.