We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuevo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nuevo Hotel to your Saves list
Nuevo Hotel
C/ Caballeros 23, Jerez De La Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Our sat nav did not want to take us to this hotel, but with a little help from a (friendly) local taxi driver we found it and were pleased that we did. The hotel does not have parking but we were lucky and were able to find on-street parking for all but one of our 5 night stay, for the remaining night we parked in the underground car park in Plaza del Arenal. It might be more of a challenge in the high season, but the hotel helped us as far as they could.
The hotel is lovely and full of character. We stayed in room 208 which was originally a formal reception room and is decorated with Moorish tiles and plasterwork, and made us feel that we were staying one of the buildings we had come to see. That did mean that the wall between the bedroom and bathroom was not full height, but to us that all added to the charm. I think that the other rooms all had a more standard bedroom/bathroom arrangement.
The staff were very helpful and although the breakfast selection was not the widest it was certainly very adequate for us.
The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to Plaza del Arenal and less than 10 mins to the Alcazar.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Sweet hotel run by a family who are extremely helpful, and some of whom speak both English and German I believe. The building has great character, the rooms were clean, the shower was great and the TV was fully functional. Breakfast did the job beautifully and it's in a phenomenal city centre location, just yards from the central plaza. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hotel Nueva is a welcoming, family run hotel in central Jerez from where you can easily walk to the main attractions and bars and restaurants. The building is attractive and characterful with high ceilings and tiled walls. The rooms themselves vary a lot in size and facilities so worth trying to find out exactly which one you are being allocated. Our room was on the main street and so consequently was very noisy from traffic (windows definitely not soundproof) but I imagine those on the side street would be fine. We enjoyed the breakfast of tostada and coffee - minimal but slightly better than the Spanish average. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Booked this having read reviewsand they were all true. Lovely architecture, friendly ,helpful staff, reasonable breakfast for price. We had room 208 in which bathroom separated by 3/4 high wall, which bothered other customers, but we've been married 38 years so for 2 nights we could cope especially as everything else with the hotel was so good . It was clean, we were lucky enough to have the hotel parking space right outside bedroom window for the whole time we were there. It was central for cathedral, bodegas, night life and about 15 minute walk to Real Escuela de Andalucia.
Ecellent valua for money, 84 euros for 2 nights

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

One of the last hotels I stayed in on a two-week roadtrip in Andalucia. The hotel was very well kept in good location in the town, close to all the major sherry producers. Cheap but very cheerful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalisz, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel that charmed and amazed me after a first look. Well located in the city center of Jerez, you can get every attraction quiet quickly and easily. If you can't, you can always count of help of staff - they are really friendly, can recommend you a good restaurant, they will keep your luggage at the receiption when you want to enjoy few hours more before departure.
I can't thing of any disadvantage of that hotel, really... if any - it a little bit too noisy in the morning.... don't count on sleeping after 8am, it's too loud that time ;)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Once you getinside the architecture is elegant and quaint. Ask for room 208. Gorgeous Moorish architecture and details. Like sleeping in a small palace. Helpful, cheery staff. Peeked in other rooms - not as nice as ours. Room 208 deserves way more than 1 star, so don't be scared away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuevo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuevo Hotel

Address: C/ Caballeros 23, Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Nuevo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuevo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.