We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas with a modern touch. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albala

Albala
Conjunto Residencial Valdespino, 6 | Esquina con C/ Divina Pastora, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
+34 956 34 64 88
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Norwich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tapas with a modern touch. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A very pleasant "modern", in furniture style, restaurant. Set back from Arenal Square took a bit of finding. Food , wine & service very good, surprisingly we were the only diners present. Didn't appear to offer outside tables and on a warm evening had to request the a/c to be turned up which was actioned immediately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    45
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Too warm sherry is a problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is supposed to a place with a more refined style of food. The place looks nice. The waiter generally good but lacked attention to the wine - I had to draw the his attention to a glass of wine with a heavy sediment and wrong color (bad bottle). The food is good but too warm sherry was a problem with two out of four glasses I had. The Manzanilla Pasada and the PX was served at the correct temperature, but the Amontillado and especially the Oloroso (Fernando Castilla Antique for 8 € a glass) was room temperature (spanish/above 22 degrees). No Amontillado/Oloroso should be served warmer than a great white Burgundy (14-15 degrees - max. ). Lack of respect for the product their own town produces

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Albala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to Albala after reading the other reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. We had the Recuerdas de Tragabuches (foie, goats cheese and caramelised apple) and this indeed brought back memories of this wonderful restaurant we had visited in Ronda, where the Alabla chef apparently worked. We also loved the prawn hamburger, the asparagus tempura and the Buey steak. All this plus pudding, and 6 glasses of wine, fantastic quality and value at around €20 a head.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great tapas and very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant is located close to the Plaza del Arenal on the Plaza Monti. The vegetarian tapas were absolutely delicate. If you want to sit a little bit more silent, this is the perfect choice. The service was perfect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Would have a Michelin Star if in England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The tapas was lovely, the wine top quality and the price very reasonable. We went twice in a week because it was so fabulous, I have had similar style dishes at a local Michelin Star restaurant in England, which was nice, yet Albala was better.
The waiters were charming and friendly I would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albala also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Albala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.