We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best days out ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeguada de la Cartuja

Yeguada de la Cartuja
Finca Fuente del Suero . Carretera. Medina - El Portal Km. 6,5, 11480 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
+(34)956162809
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most important reserve of Andalusian Horse, Carthusian lineage is located in the outskirts of Jerez de la Frontera. Visits are held every Saturday at 11.00. Guided tour + show in the main arena.
Cornwall, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“One of the best days out ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am not a horse rider but have always admire the beauty, grace and brains of these wonderful animals. All were evident in the fantastic performance in the one hour show. I actually found it very moving. We were shown round the stud by a lady who spoke excellent English and the pride and care were obvious. There were tours that started ten minutes apart in all languages and we were given a glass of sherry at the end. The horses were stunning and any real horse lover would be in heaven. A great day out for all ages as you get to be really 'up close and personal' with the horses. I was sorry when it was over. There is a fee to get in but not expensive and well worth it. Don't miss this if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Yeguada is one of the best attractions I've ever been to in Spain, and I'm really not into horses. The arena show was great - I could have watched it for hours. They really focus on the beauty and grace of the horses, as opposed to other shows I've seen where the demonstrations seem to be more about how clever the riders are.

My only criticisms are (1) there was a lot of waiting around before the tour. (but it was OK really, because there was plenty of opportunity to take photos), and (2) Once we did start the tour, our guide didn't speak loudly enough, so only about a third of the group could hear her.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeguada de L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Yeguada de la Cartuja, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much... we really appreciate your comments.
We are very glad you have enjoyed our visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Right, I don't ride and I'm not bonkers about horses but I appreciate beauty when I see it, the show took our breath away, it's just one of those special moments that a person should experience and for that reason go, it's well worth a visit, this is one of the purest strains of the Andalusian Horses and they are beautiful!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Much better than the Real Escuela”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very good few hours spent here. Get there in good time as only one ticket window/office, to join the guided tours starting from 11am in various languages (Spanish of course, English, French, German and Dutch. Really informative about the horses and breeding program and you get up close to the horses on the tour.

The free-running horses and foals in the show are brilliant, and some interesting carriage displays as well.

We (and our 14 year old daughter) enjoyed this more than the Real Escuela, and photos are allowed in the show :-)

Took us about 20mins from Jerez - fairly easy to find from the AP-4, right next to a large cement factory (looked like it anyway) so a good visual reference point.

Well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamartín, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolut empfehlenswert!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Für unsere Hotelgäste suchen wir immer besondere Orte und Veranstaltungen und Yeguada de la Cartuja gehört auf jeden Fall dazu!! Eine sehr informative Führung über die Anlage des Staatsgestütes bietet Einblick in alle Bereiche der Pferdehaltung, Arbeit und Training der edlen Tiere. Auch die Pferdeklinik ist zu besichtigen! Streicheln und fotografieren ist ausdrücklich erlaubt, so dass es ein Erlebnis für die ganze Familie ist, denn auch den kleinsten wird nicht langweilig! Absoultes Highlight: Die letzte Nummer der einstündigen Show! Mehr wird nicht verraten, selber kommen und schauen!!

For our hotel guests we are always looking for the most interesting and amazing places and events and Yeguada de la Cartuja is definetley one of it! A very informative guided visit through the National stud allows a general overview of the daily work and training as of how they keep the horses. Even the horse hospital can be visited! Touching the beautiful animals (carefully!!) and taking fotos is absolutley welcome what makes the visit unforgettable for the whole family as also the youngest will enjoy and not get bored!. The definite highlight of the show: The last number of the 1 hour show! But we won´t tell you, come and see yourself!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeguada de la Cartuja also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Yeguada de la Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeguada de la Cartuja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.