We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why pay more elsewhere???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension San Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension San Martin to your Saves list
Pension San Martin
Caballeros 28, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Gatineau, Quebec
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Why pay more elsewhere???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Staff was really helpful and facilities are basic but clean and functional.

Only drawback, the room can be noisy, but other guests in the Pension were very considerate. A good idea might me to ask a room at the back of the hotel, not with a view on the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
23
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is good place if you look for something cheap and near the city centre. Breakfast is included, which was a nice suprise. We didn't have cold, but you should know that in Spain they don;t have heating, as we usually in North Europe have but if you need, you can always ask at the reception for some extra blankets or electric heater.

Room Tip: I think it is better to ask a room with window not from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For the price I paid, I was surprised the hotel was actually so nice. Room was clean and staff were corteous, but nobody there spoke any English. Also, the room was street level and the window quite flimsy. I was dying when I went to sleep, so my sleeping was probably quite heavy, but I suspect a light sleeper may not be able to sleep through with the noise coming from the street. Also, I went in October, when no air con was needed, but this hotel lacks air con so you may not want to book there during summer months.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this excellent pension. Made most welcome by the proprietor and his friendly spouse who speaks English quite fluently. Room is quite spacious and as for the bed, haven't slept in one that is so comfortable for a long time. The bathroom is spic and span. Plenty of hot water and flow is strong.

Breakfast is provided which is most welcome, especially when we were rushed one morning, to catch the early train to Cardiz. Free wifi but accessible only in the public space. I was quite happy to sit on the top of the stairs to access the internet. Do heed their recommendation for great tapas. Delicious and well priced. The location of the pension is central. Everything is within walking distance. The pension is close to the main square and just over a kilometer from the railway station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thanks to the owners Susana and Paco we have and amazing time in Pension San Martin in the center of Jerez. The place is well situated clean and very friendly with all commodities you ever need included a parking space.

Well recommending for peoples visiting the City

Tonio&Dina..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had hoped to stay in a nearby hotel but it was full. Too hot and bothered to walk far, we staggered into the nearby Pension San Martin, to a friendly greeting. The woman spoke excellent English thank goodness, and made a booking for us for a few nights hence. When we returned she had changed our room to something which suited us better for the same very reasonable cost, 20 euros a night for two including breakfast. If you are looking for something glamorous or flashy this is not it. Our room didn't have its own bathroom although there was one very near. It had no external window but doors which opened onto an inner space. We were there in August and it was very hot, without air conditioning, although with a fan. Nevertheless, there was a very nice atmosphere, and the owners could not have been more helpful. They made us an early breakfast to accommodate our flight times, and even drove us to the airport. At a cooler time of year, we would have no hesitation to return.

Room Tip: We booked very late and so had not choice of room. I would ask whether some are coller thanothers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Simple but Great!!! Good Location close to all attractions! Parking nearby. Super clean!!! Friendly and very helpful owners. Good breakfast. Would definitely stay there again. Would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension San Martin

Address: Caballeros 28, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension San Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.