We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this quality experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lustau winery

Lustau winery
Arcos 53, Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful sherry winery, with plenty tasting options, with or without food. Their wines are extremely good and special. Juan Mateos de Arizon's tour and welcoming is superb.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Do not miss this quality experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My partner and I arrived close to siesta and were not sure if we would be able to visit due to this. However the staff at the Bodega are so welcoming and it would seem nothing is too much trouble. We do speak some spanish, however our guide was fluent in English too and was happy to take as long as we wanted to to tour the premises. The rooms storing each wine are incredible and the products speak for themselves! A tour usually includes 6 tastings, we tried these and some others too including the balsamic vinegars that Lastau are making now too. I cannot praise them enough, this was an unexpected afernoon for us. They are polite, attentive and the tour is incredibly informative. I wouldn't miss it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    2
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The Rolls Royce of Sherries!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Bodega Lustau upon recommendation from the staff at Casa Gabriela and our experience was first class.

I booked the visit by e-mail as you just can't walk in and have a look around. Every visit is strictly by appointment. Isabel Ortegon who showed us around went through the Bodegas process and various wines also explaining about their parent company Caballero and their other group products.

The storage and maturation areas are very beautiful especially the one with the round stone pillars apparently one of only 2 still in existence in Jerez. Ceiling height is 14 meters!

These are sherry wines of the highest calibre and there is an extensive range of specially aged sherries from selected specific barrels, almost like a single barrel cask malt whisky.

So, to the tasting. There are 4 tastings on offer, we went for the 3rd one which took us through dry Finos and Manzanilla, through some amontilado and Oloroso seco into the sweeter Oloroso Dulce, a blended cream aged sherry and ultimately to a special Pedro Ximenez centenary edition which was as black as night and almost as thick as cough medicine-exquisite!

We had our own personal tasting guide, a very knowlegeable young man from Italy called Luigie who advised on the tapas and cheese pairings provided with salted almonds and ultimately some rich chocolate almonds to compliment the dessert wines. A splendid experience of 3 hours in total. I also got the chance to try an aged brandy.

The tasting and visit was 28 Euros each and we also purchased some of our favourite sherry wines to take back home.

This is foodie heaven and makes for a very personal and relaxing sherry bodega visit. If you only have time for one bodega visit you must seriously consider Lustau.

10/10!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We learnt alot about the traditional way they produce the sherry. The member of staff who led our group was enthusiatic and informative. We enjoyed tasting the incredible variety in the sherries and deciding on our own favourites.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Generous tastings and knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We received a private tour at a time that suited us. the visit was not rushed and we had the change to taste an extensive range of sherries - excellent all round

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Bodega”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We love visiting, the attention you get is great. The explanations are really clear and best of all they make great sherry.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lustau winery also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Lustau winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lustau winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.