We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bodega tour in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House of Sandeman Jerez

The House of Sandeman Jerez
C/ Pizarro 10, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
675 647 177
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Sandeman's Visitors' Centre in Jerez, is located in the centre of the town, close to the Escuela Andaluza del Arte Ecuestre and the Atalaya Museusm. At Sandeman's our visitors will discover the secrets of sherry, a unique wine. We offer guided tours & tastings, have a shop and beautiful venues for events. Check opening hours at our web.
Benalmadena, Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best bodega tour in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were two couples travelling together and very lucky to be the only people in "the group". We were met by a very knowledgeable young lady, wearing 'The Sandeman Cape', and speaking perfect English.
There are two entrance prices, the more expensive one giving you the more matured sherries to taste a the end. We opted for two entrances at each price which gave us a wider range for tasting.

The tour is very informative, giving an insight into what effort and time goes into the otherwise simple drink!

Excellent tour - if you only have time for one, make it this one!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Actually quite good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A straightforward tour around a fascinating winery by our Spanish guide who spoke excellent English. We were the only English people in our group of 7 but she was clear and patient for the few questions that came up. The tour includied a short video and a look around how sherry is made and mixed etc. We opted for the 4 older sherries and, having been on similar tours before, this is the best option as the quality is high. Personally I would not bother with the 'tapas' option (Jason and cheese) as they give you olives, bread sticks and crisps if you need to eat?

Well worth a couple of hours of your time in Jerez and you feel it is more personal than some of the quality large competitors.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New to Sherry and very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We really enjoyed the bodega tour and tasting. We opted for the more expensive tasting (4 Sherry) and tapas. We were the only ones on the english speaking tour and our guide was very patient and did a great job walking through the process. It was very hot so the cooler barrel house was a welcomed change.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited here after the Spanish Horse centre as they are next door to each other. Our guide spoke very good English and we were a group of about 15 which was a perfect size. The tour was interesting but we didn't learn enough about how the grapes get as far as the barrels. The tasting was good - with 3 large sherries to taste. For the price the visit was good value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting insight into the world of sherry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We very much enjoyed the tour of the bodega and the accompanying tasting of three different sherries (you can add a selection of tapas/further sherries if required). Opting for the English tour, our guide was informative and answered the questions that our group had. We felt it would have been great, however, to see the actual 'sherry making' in progress and to see some more of Sandeman's operations in Jerez. We also bought a bottle of their vinagre (definitely worth it).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Sandeman Jerez also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to The House of Sandeman Jerez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of Sandeman Jerez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.