We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rather visit where the sherry is actually produced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The House of Sandeman Jerez

The House of Sandeman Jerez
C/ Pizarro 10, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
675 647 177
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Sandeman's Visitors' Centre in Jerez, is located in the centre of the town, close to the Escuela Andaluza del Arte Ecuestre and the Atalaya Museusm. At Sandeman's our visitors will discover the secrets of sherry, a unique wine. We offer guided tours & tastings, have a shop and beautiful venues for events. Check opening hours at our web.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Would rather visit where the sherry is actually produced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Like many travellers we have visited wineries in different regions and parts of the world. This was one of the less interesting. Sherry is not actually made here any more at this bodega. The tour guide took us around, showed us a video and we looked at illustrations and photos. Nevertheless, it was interesting to learn about the different kinds of sherry and how each is made. One of the highlights was the sherry tasting which was very very generous!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Large bodega.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited a winery tour. Information was not much interesting information was not at all. As all normal. After the tour is proposed to tasting. The most expensive for 21 euros includes 8 types of sherry and 2 types of brandy. You can only taste, otherwise you can become drunk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sherry taisting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very interesting tour having done a Port tour earlier in the year sherry production is so different. We took the tapas at the end which is usefull when tasting the sherry, although you have to like Ham, choriso and salami. The girls are very friendly and took us from Grape to Glass.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit - go for the vintage sherry option!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

You really must visit a Bodega whilst in Jerez and whilst we only went to Sandeman so can't make a comparison, I really would recommend a visit. The location is interesting in itself but also very interesting for a general wine novice like myself. Perhaps this is not the right tour for an expert but those who aren't then it was highly informative indeed e.g. I had no idea how they made sherry and how it differs for wine. The guide spoke good English and was extremely passionate about his subject.

The basic tour (with tasting) is €7 but - top tip - if you go with a partner then one of you go for the €14 vintage sherry option. The sherries are exceptional and they give you plenty so there is enough for 2 to try.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best bodega tour in Jerez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The tour is not as long and boring as at Tio Pepe and Sandeman's sherries tasted much better. In fact at Tio Pepe only the fino was drinkable, the other 3 sherries were vile.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Sandeman Jerez also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to The House of Sandeman Jerez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of Sandeman Jerez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.