We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish with some lapses...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo to your Saves list
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pza. San Juan 11 | Old Town, 10003 Caceres, Spain (Formerly Melia Caceres)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
wien
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very stylish with some lapses...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Like other NH hotels, a very good standard, excellent location and embedded in a medievial palace. There are, however, several drawbacks. There are the cheaper rooms under the roof, having no sight than the sky and the rooflight handles only for colosses (appr. 2,7m high). There is not a single piece of wall decoration, thus the room elicits some cave-man feeling despite the perfect cleanliness and the air-condition which has its factual operation limit at 24°C (with sweaty 30°C outside). Aagainst the usual NH standard, cosmetic towels are missing in the bathroom, thus forcing the diverting use of hand towels for lipstic and other dirty stuff. The fire detector periodically sends out a flash light towards the bed position causing amusing dreams from lightning rescue team actions. However, there was a large rifle cabinet in our room, very amusing and probably some additional safety against spontaneous actions towards the other guests and personnel. The latter, however, is friendly but in the most cases difficult do address because their only language is Castelan. Really surprising for an international hotel chain. Never the less, the NH Palacio De Oquendo Hotel has a good standard and is well worth to be used or a short stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with sky lights, e.g. No. 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    181
    49
    20
    9
See reviews for
91
264
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night in August 2012. We made the reservation that morning through Expedia when we realized we needed a place to stay on our drive from Lisbon to Madrid. There was a minor hiccup when it turned out, after we arrived quite late, that the hotel did not have our reservation, but, luckily, they had a room, which they gave us at the same price. We could not have been happier with the hotel, from every possible standpoint. I agree with one reviewer who said it is hard to find, but it is well worth it. In the center of the beautiful old city of Caceres (well worth a visit), the hotel is in a repurposed historic building. It is tastefully decorated and incredibly comfortable. The room and bath were spacious, sleek, quiet and comfortable. The front-desk staff were as courteous and helpful as I have ever encountered, even to the point of walking outside to direct us to a parking place and helping us find restaurants still serving at midnight. All this for $60! I would definitely stay here again if I'm every fortunate enough to pass through Caceres on other occasion.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent a couple of days in this hotel. For the price we paid for the room the hotels was excellent.
PROS: The location is perfect for tourists visiting the city just next to the historic center of Cáceres. The building is a beautiful palace with a lovely bar. The room we had a was ample, clean and comfortable
CONS: No major dissapointments. If I had to ask for something, perhaps I would have loved to have an outdoor area in the hotels like a terrace a garden or even a pool but I guess that is difficult to get in Cáceres historic center or unless you get out of the center. Also our room was an interior one and the was not too nice but we did not mind as there was plenty of nice views to see in the city :)

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with an exterior view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We arrived in the hotel very late,stayed one night. It was very hard to find due to the area and one way narrow streets. Extremely busy area - full of locals and tourists. We had to keep phoning the hotel for them to try and give us directions to the hotel and the man at the reception desk was very helpful. Check in and check out very quick. Room very nice and clean. Breakfast - good choice. They even prepared some scrummbled eggs and sausage for us. No moans what so ever.

Room Tip: If you are driving to the hotel, do phone them up and get them to explain to you how to get to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in a junior suit no: 211. I do not like sleeping with air conditioning. I always prefer to open windows and let the fresh air in. In this hotel this is impossible because the noise from the street is such that you would not sleep a blink. Street cleaners and dustcarts at 4:00 or 5:00 a.m., people talking loudly in groups until small hours etc. You can hear this noise even with the windows closed. The mini bar fridge was making a buzzing noise so I had to switch it off for the night. Parking is impossible. Available parking is far away and the hotel does not offer any assistance to guide you there. In the suit you would expect to have somewhere to unpack your clothes to. Unfortunately furniture is very badly appointed. There is one sliding door wardrobe with the door not sliding properly. On each side of the wardrobe you will find 4 hangers and that is it. There are no drawers or usable shelves. We had two big rooms and had to leave cloths in the suitcase. Bathroom is very well appointed with good fittings and very comfortable shower. Everything in the bathroom works properly. Breakfast is very good. Food is fresh, well prepared with good variety. Hot breakfast is available at no extra charge and prepared to order. Caceres is not a big place so if you decide to visit stay in the Parador.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which would not face the main square but I am not sure if than you will have less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Within very close walking distance to the stunning walled city Carceres, this hotel has modern,comfortable rooms and stylish architecture. The staff were friendly, even though we spoke no Spanish,we were able to get by well.We were 5 couples traveling and we all liked our rooms and the ease of access to the old town. It cost 8 euros to get from the train station.

Room Tip: We found second and third floors fine. Sec
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
738 reviews 738 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 261 cities Reviews in 261 cities
628 helpful votes 628 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The NH Palacio in Caceres got off to a bad start. Many of the complaints of previous reviews have been addressed, but not satisfactorily. The hotel is hard to find because it is in a pedestrian zone. We wound up parking outside the city center and walking about 350 meters to the hotel. The hotel sent someone back with us to help carry our luggage from the parking garage to the hotel. If you avoid the stairways, the distance is about 450 meters. What they failed to tell us was that there is a secret way to drive to the front door, unload and then park the car outside the city center. Because of the Samana Santa, we had to repeat the process in reverse, on our departure. Another complaint dealt with the unconscionably high charges for Internet use ($25 per day). Now, you get the first 30 minutes free if you use your laptop in the lobby. When I complained, they gave me extra passwords that would enable me to go through a new log-in process every 30 minutes. Really!! How is that for dealing with a service that most hotels and many cafes provide at no cost?
Fortunately, there were lots of positives for the hotel. To start with, it is a beautiful building, tastefully modernized and decorated. (Sometimes the ideas had not been thought through carefully, or the workmanship was not professional.) The breakfast was the best we have ever had during numerous visits to Spain. The restaurant served the best Tapas we have found anywhere in Spain. The location was perfect and the staff was always helpful, courteous and worked satisfy us – even when the hotel policies did not.
I wanted to give the hotel my highest rating but cannot until they resolve the problems of arrival/departure and Internet access.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo

Address: Pza. San Juan 11 | Old Town, 10003 Caceres, Spain (Formerly Melia Caceres)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel NH Palacio de Oquendo is a charming hotel in Caceres, Spain, ideally located at the entrance to the ancient fortifications that still surround the historical city center. The central plaza, shopping, and business of Caceres are very close to the hotel and easy to access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.