We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country pub, offering good food/value with a friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Horseshoes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Three Horseshoes to your Saves list
The Three Horseshoes
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cakers Lane, East Worldham GU34 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming country pub, offering good food/value with a friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my friends, as it was a good location for us as it is between Bordon & Alton. Menu looked delicious as well as offering plenty of choice & dishes with a bit of a twist! Food/service was excellent with generous portions. I would recommend arriving before 1 pm for lunch as parking was tricky mainly down to the fact it is obviously a popular venue. Will definitely be back, it is in a very pretty setting so would be nice to try it in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Two of us had lunch here, I opted for simple prawn jacket potato which was cooked to perfection with a lovely, crispy skin and fluffy, buttery potato. It was served with plenty of prawns (and I was given the option of sauce) and a simple salad garnish. My friend had pasta with Mediterranean vegetables and pesto - also delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Called in here for lunch with my daughter yesterday and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. I had difficulty in choosing what to eat as it all looked so tempting but finally settled on the liver and bacon which was cooked to perfection and nicely presented. ay daughter is a vegetarian and there was a tempting selection for her to choose from.. She had the butternut squash flan which was huge and once again, beautifully presented. I had the treacle tart for dessert which was just mmmmmmmmm (there's no suitable superlative for it!) and my daughter had ice cream. Once again both beautifully served. Thank for our lovely lunch and we will certainly come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This pub has a lovely atmosphere and the food and service are great. We booked here last minute for nine people and we were fitted in with no fuss.
Our food turned up in no time at all and was cooked perfectly. I would highly recommend coming here for a meal if you like a nice country pub.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We thought we'd give it a try as there are new owners in.A warm friendly welcome followed by a lovely hot Sunday lunch.We enjoyed it immensely.An interesting and varied menu.Food good and hot on very hot clean plates.I washed lunch down with a very well kept pint of HSB. Good dessert menu ..only one grouse...the glasses weren't too clean...a bit 'chalky'

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Uk
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Just coming to the end of an excellent meal at this friendly pub in a lovely village. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and the food was great. Prices are fair, both food and wine. This pub offers the facility for Motorhome owners to stay overnight (members of motorhomestopover.co.uk), so we have been able to relax here all evening and walk just a few metres to our "home". We will be back for sure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here overnight on a wintry weekend. The food was superb, the pub was snug with log fire and plenty of heating, and the owners could not have been more friendly. Room had just been refurbished and the makings of continental breakfast were provided, and FRESH MILK for cups of tea (none of that UHT rubbish). Sun morning we had a delicious cooked breakfast then set off to find Gilbert White's house close by (Chawton and Jane Austen's house is also nearby though we didn't visit on this trip). A highly recommended w/e retreat away from the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes

Address: Cakers Lane, East Worldham GU34 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > East Worldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Worldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Horseshoes 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional pub with over two hundred years of history, The Three Horseshoes is located in the beautiful Hampshire countryside of East Worldham, just outside Alton. Friendly and welcoming, The Three Horseshoes is hugely popular with walkers, families and with dog owners, who’s four legged friends are welcomed with open paws inside the comfortable pub with its roaring log fires surrounded by leather sofas. In the summer, there is a beautiful walled garden - hidden away for you to relax in the sunshine, savouring a long cool drink. Its mature shrubs, surrounded by the old forge outbuildings, offer a peaceful world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Regularly changing with the seasons and with new produce, The Three Horseshoes' menus are of the highest quality, balancing the hearty flavours of good traditional British eating with a more refined approach, the result being sophisticated but satisfying dishes to suit all tastes. Wherever possible the kitchen sources produce locally for use in not only the main menu but in light bites , daily changing specials and home-made traditional desserts. For those travelling to dine, you might consider booking a room for the night – The Three Horseshoes provides four letting rooms and space for motorhomes in the car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Three Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Horseshoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.