We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dhar a little Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dhar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace
Save
You added Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace to your Saves list
Mandu Road | Dhar, Dhar 454001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhar
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dhar a little Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent two nights at Dhar located a few hours from Indore. Jhira Bagh Palace is an ex palace built in art deco style (now renovated) - and converted into a hotel. The rooms are spacious with excellent linen and ensuite facilities. Located within farms, the property is run well by charming staff, the food is excellent. They have a museum and a very well stocked library - worth spending time in. From Dhar Mandu is only 30 minutes drive and Bagh caves is a two hour drive. One can simply relax in the spacious rooms - we just did that. However, there are several smaller lesser known temples nearby if one wishes to venture out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here during our trip to Mandu in July 2012. A restored heritage property, this place is a delight to stay in. Though it might be a little difficult to spot the place if you are travelling after evening hours, since it is slightly off the main road, the hospitality of the staff, great decor and personalized attention to guests more than makes up for any locational disadvantage it might have. Surrounded by acres of fields used for cultivation of vegetables, this place is almost entirely self-reliant and most food items are sourced from the produce in these fields. The palace is quite a delight for tourists and i really enjoyed the tour of this quaint palace tucked away in the heart of India, which has managed to retain its old air charm. The staff is extremely co-operative and makes it a great experience for all travellers to this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in jhira bagh palace hotel in dec 2012. We were a big family group and had booked six rooms. It was a wonderful stay. The staff were very good Always helpful and eager to please. The meals they cooked for us were excellent. Kamna looked after us very well. She was always there with helpful suggestions.
The suites are huge!! We had tea in the verandah sitting on a jhoola. Peacocks are roaming around the fields. We saw an owls nest and huge bats on a tree in a little wood behind the hotel. I don't think you can find a better hotel in the region. All in all a charming laid back place. Would recommend it to anyone visiting mandu and maheshwar

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A cavernous unwelcoming place that is way overpriced. Sorely in need of new management. For example, there was no toilet paper when we arrived and the toilet didn't flush. Then the toilet wouldn't stop flushing and the faucets could not be turned off. The location is uninspiring and not convenient to anything. The staff is essentially invisible. They charge extra for everything, not only breakfast but even for a glass of orange juice in the afternoon. Considering the price, this is outrageous. To be avoided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a palatial room- the fopd was quite good but the service and hospitality was outstanding. The actual suite we stayed in was almost as big as the bottom of our house and it was tastefully done. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My stay at Jhira Bagh Palace is a cherished experience as I felt as if I am in my own palace served by an eager set of highly trained staff who it seemed were waiting for my visit and desired to pamper me.

The highlights of the stay were the entire team of very well managed Jhira Bagh Palace led by charming Kamna, supported by Patidarjee and master chef Dwivedijee; the rooms and suites carefully decorated to give individuality by the owner's wife (NID alumni); the lawns with it's resident peacock clan who tend to dance by the swimming pool; the 7 natural Baoris (natural springs) which lend the name to Jhira Bagh; the heavenly food made up mostly of home grown ingredients (organically grown on the 100 acres property) cooked lovingly by Dwivedijee; the vast collection of antiques in an in-house museum which we were escorted to by the gracious Kamna.....one could go on and on describing the pleasures of staying at the Jhira Bagh Palace.

Room Tip: If you go in summer you can enjoy a vast variety of mangoes that grow on the property and are waitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed there on the recommedndation of a friend as all the hotels in Mandu were booked and later found the recommendation as a blessing in disguise. An immaculately restored heritage property with lots of natural greenery and peace around you. Its not a run of the mill luxury hotel but a place where you are bound to spend quality time with your spouse, kids, family and most importantly with your ownself. There are no TVs in the rooms, the phone signals are very feeble or not available. Large and spacious rooms with high ceilings and very minutely done interiors with every piece of furniture selected as per the theme of your suite. Bathrooms are a luxury here with as big as a bedroom in most of the metroes. The meals are delicious and served with lot of affection. The food are prepared with all the ingredients grown in their own farms and dairy. The staff are very courteous, humble, simple, caring and hospitable. They take care of all your requirements and try to make the stay as a memorable one, especially the JB manager Ms. Kamna. My kid, wife and sister mingled with the staff very well and we felt very homely there. The morning walk in the lawns are very refreshing and you can see peacocks wandering along with you. An evening walk will give you a different view of the stars in the sky as there is no pollution to blur the vision. Overall a very comforting stay in a heritage hotel and I am craving to get back there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace

Address: Mandu Road | Dhar, Dhar 454001, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Dhar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jhira Bagh Palace, A Jewel of Malwa, is turn of century Heritage Palace in Dhar, crowned amidst acres of estate and gardens. A fine blend of the Art Deco and the Bahaus style of architecture, the 150-year old Palace has been converted into an eco-friendly classified heritage hotel which offers nostalgia, new-age amenities & all things natural on a Malwa platter in Madhya Pradesh - Strategically located in Western Madhya Pradesh. It is well connected with roads Nearest Airport: Indore, 55 km, Rail heads: Indore 60 km, Ratlam 90 km. Mandu the world largest fortified city is merely 30 km away. Bagh caves and the textile printing village - 86 km, Maheshwar 70 km, Ujjain 60 km. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace Dhar, Madhya Pradesh, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jhira Bagh Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.