We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful n lovely property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springdale Heritage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Springdale Heritage to your Saves list
Springdale Heritage
N H 220, KK Road, Vandiperiyar 685533, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vandiperiyar
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful n lovely property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booked for my parents in India. They were really impressed by the property. Cottage was luxurious, clean and comfy. Well maintanied n lovely gardens. Breakfast was very tasty and the choices were really good . Definitely a value for money property!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for the great feedback about the resort which will truly keep us motivated. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    53
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
71
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The most fantastic location . We stayed in Royal Suite and Suite was well furnished and clean.Rooms were really huge and amazing.The people are fantastic, warm and very polite and would really look after you well.

when we entered the hotel we got welcomed by giant surprise. We were been upgraded from normal suite to Royal suite without spending single extra penny - nice n wonderful pleasure we got on day 1 itself!!


Food was amazingly beautiful and lots of multi -cuisine were served which was really fantastic.

Swimming pool and garden were clean and well maintained. Location is such very nice n you would get a feel that you are staying in the sanctuary or forest area.

I would definitely love to be there again - this is must visit place if you are going @ Thekkady

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for the great feedback about the resort which will truly keep us motivated. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carhaix-Plouguer, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a difficult resort for me to review because I want to say really good things because of the excellent staff and the beautiful grounds but there are also a few negatives which detract from the experience.

The good things first:-

The welcome and check in was smooth, swift and friendly. The front of house manager Mr Sujith Babu was an excellent host and helped me on a number of occasions when I was attempting to use the internet. He even gave up his office and desk, for me to bring in my laptop and connect to the internet when the signal was not too good.

We had booked 2 rooms, one being a large superior double bungalow and the other being a single room for my 85 year old Mother-in-Law. Mr Babu upgraded my Mother-in-Law’s room to a Superior double Bungalow so that she could be next door to us.

The Individual detached Bungalows were very spacious having a very large double bedroom with comfy bed and an equally large dinning/lounge area, separated by a door.

The swimming pool is a great place to cool down after a day’s walking in Periyar or the spice gardens or elephant trekking.

The aspect of the resort is very good with views over a smaller section of the Periyar River. We saw Eagles, Cranes, Kingfishers and many other birds that I have no name for.

The grassed area at the back of the bungalows is excellent for just sitting relaxing and reading a book.

The restaurant is good with good food, not great food but perfectly edible and tasty. The restaurant staff were always very eager to please and ensure you had anything you required at breakfast and for the evening meals. The Evening buffet was reasonable priced and had a small selection rather than many different meals because there were not too many people staying there.

The restaurant has an alcohol, licence which is quite rare in this area. It has beer at a good price and wine but at quite a dear price.

The gardens are beautiful and very well cared for. As with all the staff we spoke to, the garden staff were very professional and always had a smile and a “Hello, How are you today?” As mentioned earlier I could not find fault with any of the staff at the hotel, they were all excellent.

Unfortunately there are things wrong with this place; the minor problems which could very easily be rectified are:-

There are no handles on the outside of the patio doors opening onto the grass area at the rear of the bungalows. This makes it impossible to pull the doors too and close them so that the mosquitoes stay out of the rooms. There is a sign saying “Keep doors closed to avoid mosquitoes in the room”, but once one is outside it is impossible to close the doors.

There is no garden furniture on the grass area at the rear of the bungalows so that to sit outside one has to fully open the double patio doors and carry out the very heavy large wooden chairs which really do not belong outside. Also there is no where to place a glass, cup, plate etc. ie. no outside table.

The property is not actually in Kumily town being around a 20 minute drive away to Thekaddy and the Periyar reserve but most guests come with a vehicle so it’s not really a problem.

The chice of alcholic drinks could be better, particularly the wine which had listed as a red wine a bottle of port. also even though the drinks menu said they did wine by the glass we had to go through the main manager before we could have just 2 glasses of wine si that we could try the 2 different reds to see which one we liked. We were told we could only have one bottle opened to have wine by the glass which came as a 60ml measure, little more than a spirit measure. We tried the only red of the two they would open to find it was actually PORT..... we wanted red wine. Needless to say the next day we went to the government alchol shop and bought an excellent, (for Indian wines), bottle of Sula Shiraz Cabernet for INR650.

The rooms were very poorly lit so that after dark it was gloomy inside the rooms.

The WIFI system is incredibly under powered. At times the only place I could receive a signal was actually inside the manager’s office right next to the wifi router!!! A little investment here in a few more powerful routers strategically placed around the small grounds, would mean guests could easily have good quality wifi in every room.

The bigger problems for which I can see very little chance of the owner or management doing anything about is the noise from the Church and the Mosque which are just across the other side of the river.

At some time around 05:20 every morning the Imam calls the faithful of the town, to prayer through a PA system of loud speakers which is truly very, very load. Everyone other guest I spoke to said it woke them up. Next is the gaudy lit Church which shines all sorts of colours every night and in the daytime from early morning to late afternoon has loud speakers ‘blaring out’ Christian halleluiah songs. This makes it impossible to relax in the beautiful gardens to read a book or just to have an afternoon snooze in the sun.

So the question is would I stay there again? Well................................. yes, actually I would. The staff make the place homely and welcoming, the noise from the Church and the Mosque I can put up with and the other faults are minor points which if the management are reading this, will hopefully rectify.

I liked the place; it just has a few problems which if you know them in advance and maybe bring some earplugs can be overcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for the great feedback about the resort which will truly keep us motivated. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. At the same time we have noted your concern regarding patio door handles and garden table and chairs which will be actioned at the earliest. We value your feedback & we shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

the most fantastic property. We stayed in Royal Suite n Suite was well furnished and clean. The Resort also has lots of cultural activities in the evening which i really liked. Food was good. Overall ambiance of the resort was cool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for the great feedback about the resort which will truly keep us motivated. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is one of the most fantastic resort I have been to in Kerala . The people are fantastic, warm and very polite and would really look after you well .. Room service is perfect and they make sure that the food and desserts are served at the proper temperatures :) . The cottages are big and spacious in the midst of greens and the interiors are very tastefully and elegantly designed .

While we were around, the hotel guys hosted free cultural events like some traditional dance performances etc every evening at the Amphitheater . The Resort has great options like pool table for a midnight game , or a open area where out door games could be played. No points for guessing , we mostly enjoyed playing cricket in the lawns .

The pool side is a heaven site... specially if you are floating on a stray night under a moonlight sky .. after the sunset ! Good news is the pool is open 24X7 and u can carry your drinks around.

The price is worth the experience and hospitality ... felt like 3 days were short and we wanted to stay there more .

Room Tip: The cottages around the amphitheater are great .... they have private garden area at the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for the great feedback about the resort which will truly keep us motivated. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

For Springdale Heritage Team,


Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We did book a heritage room. When we arrived to this hotel from Munnar, to our surprise we were automatically upgraded to the highest room class without any extra charge. From that moment to the time I stayed in hotel, the overall experience has been amazing. Although the road to the hotel is not good, but when you get inside the hotel, its every penny worth staying here. The food is very good and price is very economical. We enjoyed every bit of it, be it the time in swimming pool, dinner time, traditional dance event in hotel, dinner/breakfast time. My family had a wonderful time in this hotel and returned back with wonderful memories. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for best property in Thekkady.

Room Tip: The river side view of the rooms are very good. You get a good view of a lake and morning birds chit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for the great feedback about the resort which will truly keep us motivated. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We shall continue to improve our services to provide you with better experience every time.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice Hotel, seamless check in and the Manager was very helpful. Were upgraded to the the Royal Suite which was a nice touch.
The Food was nice too and service staff very friendly and efficient.
One thing to work on is the internet connection as it is only available in the lobby and the path leading to the hotel could do with a laying out of proper road surface.
Thank you Springdale & the General Manager for ensuring we had a comfortable trip to "God's Own Country".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSprindaleHeritage, General Manager at Springdale Heritage, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr.Ephraim,

Greetings from Springdale Heritage, Periyar !!!

We thank you for the great feedback about the resort which will truly keep us motivated. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We value your feedback and have taken necessary measures to enable wifi to all rooms and public areas.

Looking forward to serve you again at Springdale Heritage during your future visits to Thekkady.

Regards,

Rajesh Unnikrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springdale Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springdale Heritage

Address: N H 220, KK Road, Vandiperiyar 685533, India
Location: India > Kerala > Vandiperiyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vandiperiyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale Heritage houses 31 rooms inclusive of Heritage Room, Deluxe Cottage and Royal Suite which have been attractively decorated into Victorian Style rooms. In the tradition of heritage hotel, we offer high quality services and comfort to our guests. The First tourist home in Peerumedu Taluk named Hotel Periyar View built in 1965 has been renovated with the charm and heritage to a Super Luxury Heritage Resort ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springdale Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springdale Heritage Vandiperiyar, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springdale Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.