We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely well run place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Pini Family Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added I Pini Family Park to your Saves list
I Pini Family Park
1.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Via delle Sassette, 28, 00065 Fiano Romano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“A lovely well run place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed for one week in July in a Eurocamp mobile home, chalet 17. We had a wooden veranda at the front which was lovely to sit in and shelter from the sweltering heat (36C) Luckily an electric fan was installed in the living room area.

The site itself is very nice, but quite small. The supermarket on site has just about everything that you need at reasonable prices. They have 4 stainless steel vats containing different wines; you can select a bottle and fill it up yourself. They also have bottled wines! We had a large fridge freezer which was handy for the delicious icecream that the supermarket stocks.

The windows of the mobile home had protective screens to counter insects, but despite wearing lots of mosquito repellent I got bitten lots of times.

We did not have a TV so if you are bringing children, you may consider bringing CDs for them. The CD player is also an ipod/iphone docking station.

The on-site entertainment for children was very good, "young friends" did a dancing show each night for the children which was very popular.

The on-site restaurant was very good indeed, lovely pastas, pizzas and wine at very reasonable prices and very good service.

We used the site as a base to travel on to the amalfi coast by car and go to pompeii. The site offers excursions, but since we had our own car we went ourselves. The road network from the site is very good. The A1 leads on to the A3 which takes you to Pompeii South right next the the ancient site, with car parking at 10 euros per day. The trip took about 3 hours. Continuing on the A3 to Salerno, leads to the Amalfi Coast Road, which is not for the faint-hearted, especialy at weekends when it is very busy. As an experienced driver, I was pretty frazzled by the time I reached our B&B in Atrani.

I would probably return to this site, but would go in Spring or Autumn when the temperatures are more comfortable.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    67
    20
    15
    9
See reviews for
75
33
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent the first two weeks in June on this campsite. It is definitely much smaller than any other site we have visited, but as a couple, no kids in tow and a hire car at hand, we found it really quite pleasant. We hired an Al Fresco Thompson Puccini which was just right for the two of us. The staff on the campsite were very friendly and helpful, we ate at the restaurant several times and the food was really nice, but who has had a disgusting meal in Italy?. Despite having a hire car we used the bus into Rome a couple of times, which was good for my husband as he could admire the scenery on the way. For anyone reading this - two don'ts: don't consider driving in Rome, they drive kamikaze style! And don't bother taking young children to Rome either, there is virtually nothing for them to enjoy. If you have youngsters, try Lake Garda where there are smaller towns
where you can spend half a day visiting and then plenty of time afterwards for the kids to go swimming and have fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed for 10 days with Thomson Al Fresco, in a beautiful mobile home. AIR CONDITIONING ESSENTIAL IN AUGUST! We were trying to meet the needs of our culture-vulture older teen and our pool-loving 10 year old. The site is small, which gives it a friendly, safe feel. Bustling pool area, but there is a second, shallow lagoon-style pool where you can find peace. The camp's own 'animateurs' provided an excellent service, encouraging people to join in sporting and entertainment activities, but not harrassing anyone. Public areas were clean and well-kept and the site is well landscaped. The restaurant and bar seemed reasonable and there was a good atmosphere there on the evenings (though if you can't tolerate the 'baby dance' mini-disco you might not want to turn up til later!) It was easy for children to make new friends at the kids club or the trampolining area. The site shop was well-stocked but expensive so we bought groceries and beer from the amazingly cheap nearby Eurospin store (car needed).
We took the camp coach into Rome on 2 mornings, getting dropped off at a convenient point after about half an hour's drive and picked up again at 6 in the evening. We spent a day at the Colosseum and Forum and a day exploring the Vatican area and museums. Tip: Take a copy of kids' passports to get concessionary entrance fees and don't forget a cover-up for ladies shoulders (sarongs fold up in your handbag) and longer trousers for men in the Vatican. We pre-booked timed entrance tickets for Vatican museum(Sistine Chapel, etc)on the internet (I Pini reception let us print them out there). Other recommendations for day trips into nearby Lazio countryside are the Villa d'Este at Tivoli (amazing water gardens and palace) and Lake Bracciano, which has picturesque lake beaches and villages.
A very successful combination of sightseeing, relaxation, good food and sunshine!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Eurocamp first...

We stayed in home 16, your standard holiday static caravan. Be warned, this (and from what we could tell most of the others) were sub-standard old units which should be either consigned to the heap or given a complete refurbishment. Compared to the Thompson and Rent-a-Tent (to mention two) they were AWFUL. Old, dilapidated, dirty and horrible. Eurocamp should be ashamed and we've told them so in our feedback. (As at May 2010).

To rub salt into our wounds, we happened to visit a relative during the holiday who by coincidence was staying at Camping Fabulous south of Rome. Their Select home from Canvas Holidays was in its second year of use and was in another league. They even got a proper gas BBQ as opposed to our 18" high tin can. (Camping Fabulous is perfect for families, but not if you don't like what comes with a massive parc).

The Campsite

We were really impressed. As a couple without children but with car, it was perfect. We alternated days out with chilling by the pool (loungers on lush grass). It's a small site and out in the countryside. It is not your massive family focused parc so don't expect the waterslides etc etc. But in return you do get proximity to everything and the attention / feel of a family run site.

The bar does proper Italian coffee, the restaurant hits well above expectations in food quality (do take out rather than eat in), the shop is well stocked and reasonable. The parc reception is excellent.

Our top tips:

We drove to Passo Corese about 6km away to take the train into Rome. Confusingly, the train station is called Fara Sabina (a nearby town). Trains run every 15 mins (except weekends) and take 40 mins to the Tiburtina stop on the Rome Metro. A BIRG ticket from the newsagent across the road (the station is empty and the machine broken) is E6 for train and full use of Rome central transport.

Validate your ticket in the machine on the platform and write your name on it in the space. The Rome metro is dead easy. Two lines, Blue and Red.

Wear comfortable shoes for Rome. You will be doing a lot of walking!

There are loads of drinking water fountains in Rome and yes they are safe.

There is the Campsite minibus, but with a car, we just preferred the flexibility of the train.

Fiano Romano isn't the prettiest of places, but check out the small old town which is pure old Italy with a restaurant where you wont understand anything on the menu but will get a warm welcome.

Sidis is the main and cheapest supermarket - just look out for the building with 'Palace' as you come off the motorway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We went to Rome for my 30th birthday and decided to stay in a cabin in a camp rather than a hotel because we had our 17 month old daughter with us so we wanted somewhere for her to run around and hotels just aren't right for toddlers.
The camp was really nice, the staff were all so so pleasant. We arrived just before the start of the season so when we got there it was nice a quiet. We booked with Thompson al fresco and had a Puccini cabin which was wonderful. They're in such a good position in the park (near the restaurant/shop) and not too far up the hill, really nice cabins!
We found rome difficult with a toddler, which we kid of expected, but it was far far more difficult than we imagined. Simple things like baby changing facilities were so incredibly hard to find. The sights of Rome were obviously amazing but getting around and finding baby friendly facilities (like high chairs!) was impossible.
The few days we spent in the camp were good. It's only a little site but it was lovely. The little shop was good, the restaurant was nice enough and the ice cream was amazing :)
One thing was a bit annoying - the pool! I don't know if we expected too much but it was always cold. No matter how warm the weather, the pool was cold making it almost impossible to enjoy. A heated pool would have been so much better.
We loved the cabin and the porch, sitting out to eat a lot was lovely.
The staff were all wonderful, so happy and helpful and all doted on our daughter and were incredibly sweet and attentive with her.
Would definitly go to a camp like this again, maybe a bigger one with a heated pool ;)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHolland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at the I Pini Camping Village from Friday to monday at the end of May. We rented a car and drove from the airport to I Pini. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find a relaxing atmosphere.
We visited Rome on both Saturday and Sunday and left our hire car at the local train station and caught a train into Rome, this was easy, cheap and very very practical!
I would thoroughly recommend this campsite for a stay, and if you had children with you they would love it also. 100% recommendation from us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed at this campsite for three nights while visiting Rome. The campsite was a small fairly pleasant campsite with adequate facilities for a short stay.The restaurant served good food at a good price and the daily bus service into Rome was excellent value at 7 euros return. At the time of visiting there was a smallish pool open with building work going on an adjacent lagoon style pool to open later in the year. The major downside of our stay was the amount of mosquitos. Despite having lots of repellant on hand we were all bitten quite extensively and were in a constant battle at trying to rid our mobile home of these little blighters. Other than that we had an enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I Pini Family Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Pini Family Park

Address: Via delle Sassette, 28, 00065 Fiano Romano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiano Romano
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Fiano Romano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — I Pini Family Park 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your I Pini Family Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Pini Family Park Hotel Fiano Romano
I Pini Family Park Rome/Fiano Romano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Pini Family Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.