We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay Overlooking Olive Groves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Masseria Salamina

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Masseria Salamina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Masseria Salamina
Pezze di Greco | Via Case Sparse, 4, 72010 Fasano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty lodging in Fasano
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay Overlooking Olive Groves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

At first, driving up to the masseria feels a bit odd, as if you are driving down a private road (you are), through olive groves (you are), and then suddenly you see a what looks like a small castle in front of you, complete with tower and crenelations around the roof line.

I had originally booked the least expensive mezzanine room but we were shown to a farm house room when we arrived. Confused, and with a bit of a language barrier, we asked to see the 2 level room. As it turned out, the farm house room was nicer (same decor but larger) than the mezzanine room and we had been offered this room because they were not full. Of course we stuck with the nicer room.

The little apartment was quite spacious for two of us. The room decoration seems stuck in the late eighties but it’s very comfortable with high ceilings in all rooms. We were on the second floor so we also had a nice veranda overlooking the olive groves and the kitchen gardens for the restaurant.

The living room has a daybed plus trundle, table and chairs, and a TV we never watched (no channels in English). The bathroom is quite large, but only has a half size tub with shower. The bedroom is spacious with two closets and a big window. The narrow kitchen has no window, but is stocked with most of what you’d need to cook a meal (utensils, pots, pans, dishes).

Strong, free wifi is available in the guest rooms and public areas. The public rooms in the main house are stunning and worth a visit. Frescoes on the walls of the stairway look to be original to the house and the ceiling of the main hall could belong in a church. Views from the balcony off the front of the main building go all the way to the sea.

The food in the masseria’s restaurant was very, very good and we ended up eating dinner there every night. That wasn’t the plan; we could have gone out to local restaurants or other masseria in the area, but the food was good and the weather was poor so it just seemed to make sense to stay there. They offer a four course menu which changes nightly for 28 euro and most of the produce used in the kitchen comes from the gardens surrounding the hotel (even in October the tomatoes, peppers, basil and eggplant were still abundant).

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was a buffet selection of yogurt, breads, pastries (both savory and sweet), cheese (oh, the fresh ricotta…), cured meats, fruit, etc. Of course, there was delicious cappuccino, cafe, and tea. Even the jams were made there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    32
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
43
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diamondhead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I wish we would have stayed here for at least a week or more! When we arrived, driving down the short road to Masseria Salamina, the beautiful castle came into view. It was late in the afternoon and we were greeted by the owner. We were assigned one of the rooms in the newly renovated area on the second floor. As we walked to our room, I thought we were in ’Downton Abbey’, a popular TV series. The rooms were beautiful, our room was huge, with a large en suite bathroom with all new fixtures. Back down in the lounge, we had a wonderful Puglia wine and sat in the interior patio. We enjoyed dinner there two of the three nights we stayed and both were wonderful. The breakfasts were buffet style and had a varied selection. The bed and furniture were very comfortable. Many of the olive trees on the property were large, twisted and textured trunks that we found out were 2000-3000 years old and still producing.

Since part of our trip destinations are for photography, we found this place to be a bounty of opportunities. The spring flowers were in bloom, including a lilac bush. The location of Masseria Salamina is perfect for visiting many of the sights in the Puglia region. We will definitely try to return on a future trip, but stay longer the next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly renovated area, so didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

excelent place for rest holiday and enjoing in peace beautiful atmosfere with wery frendly owner and complete staff.I want to recomand this place with full hart and I am very thankfull for hospitality which we receive.from the all staff there.Hope to come again and to try stay litlle big longer not only seven nights.Also congratulations to sheff diners were delicious I whish you all the best till the next time.Zoran Maric

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just back from a week at Salamina with my family (2 adults and 2 teenage sons). This Agriturismo is outstanding - beautifully maintained property, garden and estate with a stunning swmming pool. Our room was spacious and comfortable; breakfast was delicious (Italian with plenty of fruit, juices, Puglian cakes and rolls, freshly made coffee). We ate dinner 4x in the courtyard - excellent, locally sourced, dishes and well priced wines. Free wifi with reception throughout the property. Location is good: easy 15 minute walk to Pezze di Greco (di Leo bakery is recommended for bread, cakes and light lunches); under an hour's drive from Bari airport; 15 kms from Ostuni which is a marvellous Puglian hill town; great beaches within 30 minutes - Torre Guaceto, Montecelli, Egnazia + many others that we didn't have time for. Delicious seafood at Savilletri. We didn't get to Martina Franca which is supposed to be good with a market on Weds; we did drive to Alberobello which is Trulli-central and was a bit touristy for us. Overall, an excellent place and we look forward to returning and enjoying the warm hospitality of the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved the place. We stayed here for three nights in late August for a wedding. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and the history and romance of the place spectacular. Stayed in room 32 which is adjoining a wonderful sitting room that feels like it's your own. We had our 2 year old with us and she was catered for in every respect. Will come again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here with 2 adults and 2 teenagers for three days, and regretted it when we had to leave.

First of all, when we arrived the hotel was the first one of our journey living up to the pictures and descriptions. The hotel/resort is an old 17th century castle with a lot of trees and space surrounding it. We were kindly welcomed by one of the owners, and found out the hotel is a family business. The most personnel are family members and most helpful and speak reasonable English.

After checking in we went to the rooms, which may have been the only drawback of the resort because they weren't like the pictures. They was nice though but there are several different types of rooms, some like hotel rooms and some like small apartments with two levels.

The pool area was nice with adjustable parasols and most of the time an employer kept an eye on the pool. He was very friendly and helped with the parasols and got towels for whoever needed those. It was also possible to get a sandwich or drinks delivered at the pool.

The dining area was in a beautiful courtyard, where also breakfast was served. Each day there was a menu for €28. It consisted of four courses and was very good. Drinks however weren't included but were reasonably priced and the wine was great!

I'd advise everyone who has a relatively large budget to invest some money in their holidays to visit this place.

Room Tip: I you want an hotel type room you must ask for this, but all rooms are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a really beautiful masseria - lovely pool and grounds too and we felt very pampered staying here. The rooms are spotless and have all that you need but aren't as full of character as the rest of the place. We only ate at the masseria once during our stay but the food was very good, although it was quite pricey in an area where eating out is normally extremely good value.

This was a bit of a treat for us at the start of our holiday in Puglia and it was the perfect beginning to a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Masseria Salamina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Masseria Salamina

Address: Pezze di Greco | Via Case Sparse, 4, 72010 Fasano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty lodging in Fasano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masseria is immersed in a wonderful expanse of olive tress, a few kilometres away from the golden beaches and crystal water of the Adriatic. It is the ideal place to spend a holiday surrounded by nature, authentic Puglian food and historic charm. Near to Ostuni, Cisternino and the Valle d’Itria, Masseria Salamina gives you a friendly and elegant base from which to explore Puglia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Agriturismo Masseria Salamina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Masseria Salamina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.