We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention - no check in after 10.30pm” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Garni Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Garni Aurora to your Saves list
Albergo Garni Aurora
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Duino 15, 34013 Duino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Duino
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Attention - no check in after 10.30pm”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

If you arrive after 10.30pm and will inform the hotel of later arrival at short notice before the reception closes, you will not be able to check in. The owner is not fexible to help you even though you booked a room in advance unless (as he said to me on phone) you inform him of your delay at 8 am in the morning on that day at the very latest, which was impossible in my case! On the next day your credit card will be charged for no show. It happened to me when I was travelling from Croatia and due to heavy traffic on the way our arrival was expected after midnight. I called the hotel and I was said that they are unable to help me but a day later they charged my credit card for 1-night-stay. When we arrived in Duino we had to find another hotel where we could check in at night without any problems. On that night I ended up paying twice...

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergo_aurora, Proprietario at Albergo Garni Aurora, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review Albergo Garnì Aurora.

We welcome comments which help us to improve our performance, and we’re always prepared to own up when we get things wrong. There are occasions though when the reality differs from what has been written by the reviewer, as is the case here.

This guest contacted the hotel on the 17th of June 2010 checking availability and rates for the 31st of July 2010.
Our reception staff replied to the guest on the same day and the guest completed the reservation online through our website in the early afternoon of the 19th of June 2010.
Ten minutes after the reservation the guest wrote us an additional email informing the hotel that a parking place was needed and indicating clearly (even though it is written on the booking system as well as on the confirmation that check in is available up to 22.30) that the estimated time of arrival was late in the evening. (Evening is considered to be from 17.00 until 23.59)

As timing is always very subjective from one person to another we contacted this guest by email 3 hours after the reservation; we confirmed the parking space and we cleared any doubt with regards to the arrival time specifying that reception close at 22.30.

The situation was absolutely clear and the guest knew more than one month before arrival that the time limit was set for 22.30.

The day of the arrival though we received a phone call at 21.55; the guest was calling while driving from the middle of Croatia and said that the arrival time was going to be after 1am because there was heavy traffic.
We informed the guest again that reception was going to close in about 30 minutes and that we were not able to wait for them until late at night.

We always go above and beyond for our guests to make them feel in their “home away from home” and we would have certainly done something on this occasion but it was not possible.

The guest knew that check in was available until 22.30 but she didn’t pay attention to the information and pretended us to wait until very late; just to clarify once again the situation, the late arrival time was clearly premeditated otherwise she wouldn’t have written on the email just after the reservation “we will arrive late in the evening”.

The guest called half an hour before reception closure saying that they were at least 350km from the hotel with heavy traffic.
The excuse of the heavy traffic didn’t work though because if you are 350km from the hotel, it’s absolutely impossible to be willing to check in around the time limit and considering their first message one month before by email (we will arrive late in the evening) it was obvious that they tried to make fun of us.

On our side we offered to extend the check in time until 23.00 because we were waiting for another group on people arriving from Malaga by car; the Spanish group was “genuinely” blocked on traffic 3km from the hotel.
They were on the motorway in the proximity of the toll station and they didn’t have the chance to move further because of thousands of cars around them.

That night finally we ended up waiting in reception until 23.30 for the Spanish group therefore we can assure 100% our future guests that the management and the staff working at Albergo Aurora is extremely flexible and willing to help in any situation.

It is true we said to the guest over the phone that if we were advised well in advance or even early in the morning of the same day we could have done something but 30 minutes before the time limit is not fair to impose such a request as the guest was willing to do.
Common sense and education are necessary at anytime.

We recommend future guests to inform the hotel well in advance if the estimated time of arrival is out of our working hours; we don’t guarantee to be able to accept the request but we will always do our best to do so.

With regards to the credit card charge incurred on this occasion our booking terms are quite clear, with a standard 48 hour cancellation policy. Where we are not advised in time that guests will not be arriving, a cancellation fee is charged.
Showing up to the hotel out of the working hours is considered obviously as “no show”.

We want to clarify that the guest was advised about our cancellation and no show policies since the first contact we had by email therefore it not true that we charged the credit card without a reason.
The guest knew about policies, reception working hours, facilities and services offered here and star rating of the hotel since the beginning; as family run hotel we are not required to hire staff at night and by law we have to maintain reception open at least 12 hours during the day.
The hotel reception is usually open at least 16 hours a day.

We would like to thank this guest for the opportunity given to explain once again our policies and services and we take the occasion to inform all future reviewers that we are grateful for all comments and criticism, which we take seriously, as we use them to continually monitor and improve our procedures and performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    36
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
53
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed for one night - wished we had booked for longer - very freindly and helpful - spoke very good English. Room was basic but clean and cheerfully decorated. Breakfast was wholesome and filling. Only downside was that it was difficult to find [although on a main street] as local planning laws restricts them to a name plaque the size of a postcard! WI-fi worked incredibly well. Would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is a perfect option in the nice quiet village of Duino, close to the airport of Trieste and not far from the city of Triese as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Albergo Aurora is absolutely the best hotel of the are.
You find whatever you need, the rooms are extremely clean, Wi-Fi is free and always working fine, the breakfast is superb with tons of fresh food (6,50€ is nothing for what you get..!), car parking space is just opposite the hotel, they offer unlimited international phone calls for free all day long and there is a charming and relaxing atmosphere that makes it the best choice is Duino and surrounding.
The price we paid was very cheap and comparing to other hotels it is half price.
We were quoted higher rates at Dama Bianca and Villa Gruber and honestly it doesn’t make sense to pay more than 100 euro per night when you have a gem like Albergo Aurora available.
From what you can read on different website the other hotels are not very friendly and most of the time not even recommended…

We reserved our rooms online as Albergo Aurora is the only one to have the booking system on their website; in 3’ we booked the accommodation, the breakfast and we received the confirmation straight back. The day after we sent them an email asking information for a rental car and we got the answer with rates and contacts in less than 3 hours.
Excellent service, excellent staff, excellent value for money!

Talking about service inside the hotel, this is something you can really see only once you get there.
Well, there are no words to describe what we had..this is beyond any possible comparison.. the staff is genuinely great and always ready to help; always smiling and always nice.
The staff makes the hotel a five stars without any doubt!
The housekeeper organise the rooms with extreme attention to details everyday and the owner that speak English and Spanish fluently is always there suggesting restaurants, reserving lunch/dinner tables, making phone calls on your behalf, printing you maps from google…really he cannot do more for his guests!

The summary of our experience was a nice and clean room, amazing breakfast and wonderful service.
He will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This goes beyond your average guest house. It may be a modest establishment, but the couple who run Garni Aurora went to great efforts to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and the breakfasts excellent. The location is great, just up from the harbour, and right beside the breathtaking Rilke Path. There's free private parking, and all sorts of drinks can be ordered. OK, some of the plumbing is a bit rough and ready, and the internal sound proofing isn't perfect, but still this offers a special experience for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Lovely little hotel, run by a young friendly helpful couple, conveniently located in Duino with parking across the street. To get to Triest there are 2 busses. Restaurants and pizzerie close by as well as super market.
We'll certainly stay there again if we go back to Trieste.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

It was really easy to get to Trieste. We left our car in the free parking lot for the hotel and took the bus. Parking in Trieste would have been a pain. Unfortunately, we missed our bus coming back because we didn't read the schedule well enough, and we got back really late. The next morning we got up early to leave, and we had to meet someone. We thought we were all paid up because we paid via the internet. The manager seemed really upset with us and we had to wait 20-30 minutes for her, so we were late meeting our friends. She asked where we were last night, we said, "We missed our bus." and she said, "I hoped so." We weren't sure what she meant. I took it to mean she was happy nothing worse happened to us.
Besides that, though, we would stay there again, but try for better communication. It was clean, the shared bathroom was clean, the hotel was quiet, and I really liked the town, and it was a few minutes walk to a nice trail on a cliff looking over the water and out to Trieste.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Garni Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Garni Aurora

Address: Via Duino 15, 34013 Duino, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Duino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Duino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Garni Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Aurora is the a traditional hotel of the area, very close the cosy harbour of Duino, surrounded by nature and just few steps away from the main entrance of the famous Rilke Path. The Castle of Duino is 200m from our hotel as well as the bus stop for transportation from/to Trieste airport and the city centre.We are less than 20km from the main square in Triest and about 15km from the Castle of Miramare; staying with us you’ll definitely get the passion and the tradition of our ownership for the hotel business.We are fun & young, we guarantee you will feel like in your home away from home spending your holiday at hotel Aurora. Our rates are cheaper than any other hotel of the area because we follow our business guideline: good value for money, good service, good breakfast…it is definitely the best choice in Duino for your holiday!Our staff speaks correctly English and Spanish and our aim is to go always above and beyond any expectation in order to offer the best service ever with lot of personal touch!our rooms have 8 different colors according to certain aspects of the doctrine of feng shui, all rooms boast a double bed and we can organise some extra beds if necessary; our rooms are sized between 16-20 sqm.Private parking, Wi-Fi internet connection and fresh fruit are free and available 24/7.Don’t miss you change to experience Albergo Aurora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Garni Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Garni Aurora Duino, Province Of Trieste, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Garni Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.