We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK, dated but OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roter Strasse, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Walldorf
London UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's OK, dated but OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hello 1970's! And on the picture gallery you can see who stayed there from 1971. Lots of german 'Schlager' stars from the time and a few Formula 1 drivers! Astonishing!
Rooms are a bit dated but adequate.
The pool side restaurant was open and we had asparagus which was nice enough but for 2 we paid 100 Eur (4 beers, 2 mains, 2 side salads and one coffee). That's madness!
Also, the steaks are extremely expensive. USDA, why? 69 EUR? What?????
Breakfast buffet had a nice spread in the morning.
Overall OK! Why 4 stars and not 3? I like that I can now say I shared a hotel with Howard Carpendale, albeit 40 years apart!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    47
    25
    8
See reviews for
22
24
17
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The service is good and the rooms large and comfortable, in 1980 you would have been impressed by the fantastic TV and state of art analog telephone system. it's all just a bit old fashioned in 2013 and in real need of a style and technology refresh.

The food in the bar looked really good!

Just off the motorway, a short distance from picturesque Heidelberg and only a 15 minute walk through the asparagus fields from the SAP's offices in Walldorf.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear PhilKirkham,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the amenities in the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Actually not so bad after all. A functional (if small) gym, ample parking, good breakfast, nice steaks and clean and spacious rooms - I expected less. Obviously the only reason to go there is for SAP AG visits, but that's a good reason for many people. With good weather you can walk to the office in 15 minutes, how often can you say that? Or you can get a free rental bike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall positive.
Room is spacious, bathroom is big. Have an indoor swimming pool which our kids love (especially now with the winter temperature outside). You can have massage if you book in advance (price is reasonable). Staff is very friendly. Plenty of FOC parking space.
The downside would be really the costly internet charges, EUR14 per day. Oh and yes, suitable for traveller who has own vehicle.

Room Tip: Avoid room close to reception - you will hear people walking / running at the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn style & service welcomes you at this hotel. I have stayed here several times over the past few years and having spoken with many people staying there it serves a good purpose for 3 things: 1) Very handy when visiting SAP AG Headquarters. Its literally a 2 min drive from the hotel to the office. 2) Motorway stopover. Its just off the main highway so very convenient if you need to rest for the night on a long journey. 3) If you want to avoid hotel costs in Heidelberg town then you can stay here & drive into town which takes about 15 minutes.

If you want nice scenery or views when staying here then forget it. Its located in a big flat field in the middle of nowhere more reminiscent of Amsterdam than Germany but there is nothing to see or do there.

Upside is that its good value. Even with a late booking the most i usually paid was around 100 Euros for a business room with breakfast included. There is plenty of free parking (remember the big field comment..!) but you have to pay for WiFi which has varying signal strengths in different part of the hotel ranging from medium to non existent.

Their core clientele is business travellers & the hotel is perfectly suited for this purpose.

Room Tip: Doesnt really matter which room you get apart from the distance you have to walk from reception to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They have a very nice pool. We were please with our short stay. Quiet place and comfortable beds. Easy to find off the main highway, perfect for road warriors like we were! We were 4 in the room and were not too tight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night when driving home from austria. It's well located from the highway, rooms are decent and spacious. Price is excellent, especially if you book in advance (67 euro). Cons are that wifi is not free and that breakfast cost 20 euro per person. So we didn't try it. Parking is free, a plus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf

Address: Roter Strasse, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Walldorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, near the SAP AG and Heidelberg easy to reach through the highway A5 and A6 offers you 161 comfortable rooms, of which 10 are maisonette suites, 9 variable conference rooms catering for up to 320 people, 'Restaurant Walldorf', 'Rhapsody Lounge & Bar', fitness centre, indoor pool with sauna, massage, outdoor pool with Sunshine Poolbar. Use also room service, 150 free parking spaces , tennis court, cycle hire, table tennis and children's playground. The guestrooms in different categories, all with bathroom, colour TV, in-house movies, direct dial telephone, minibar and free Wi-Fi internet access. Conferences / Seminars / Family parties The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf has the required space and the professional assistants you need. The event-team helps you in each point to arrange the perfect conference or the best party. All conference rooms have daylight and are fully air-conditioned. The professionality and many years of experience of the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf will convince you. In only a few minutes you reach Heidelberg, Schwetzingen, Mannheim and Speyer with all their sights. The famous football stadiums f.E. Of the TSG 1899 Hoffenheim are also close to the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf Hotel Heidelberg
Holiday Inn Walldorf
Walldorf Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.