We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Weilburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schlosshotel Weilburg to your Saves list
Schlosshotel Weilburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langgasse 25, 35781 Weilburg, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weilburg
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Dark but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Part of an impressive castle complex which dominates the small town. The public areas and our room were both rather dark and woody. I know it's a castle, but the effect was more 1980s than 18th century. That said, it was quiet, comfortable and fairly spacious. The restaurant had a limited menu but the food and service were pretty good. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went there for our yearly team activity and we had a great experience. People at the reception are so nice and helpful. Rooms are great. My room had a view to the river and was very big and comfortable. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were great as well.
I highly recommend it for old couples or families with children. It is not the best location for young people because the town is quite small and not so attractive for night life but is very calm and safe and full of museums (I don't know why ;) )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Hermine, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, but don't ask for the river side unless you don't mind listening to the weir all night. If its warm to hot then avoid the third floor as there is no air con and it gets very hot up in the roof space! Normal range of food for breakfast. Excellent meals available in the town which is lovely to wander around.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beek, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

A nice hotel at the top of the rock surrounded partly by the Lahn river with the old palace and its garden next door. The rooms are fine, the breakfast and diner buffets are good, allthough typical German food. Staff is friendly and helpful. The town itself is interesting, but you need to go out into the region, e.g. Limburg, Braunfels etcetera.

Room Tip: River view is nice, but the water barrier is making noise all the time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel looks very well from the outside. The smalltown is also very nice with the "Fachwerkhäuser". The room we had was a kind of maisonette. Colors are brown and green. Lots of wood. The television is an old fashioned small model. No app for making coffe or thea. No Wifi. However there is a free internet at the reception. But nowadays we want WiFi in our room don't we. The staff was very freindly. The corridor nnext to the is very noisy.
The breakfast is quite good. The dinner is quite average/poor. They save a lot of money on the buffet dinner. Better have the room with breakfast and have your dinner somewhere else.
Nice towns are nearby as Frankfurt and Limburg a.s. Lahn.

Room Tip: Except for the noisy corridor the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainview, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

If you're looking for a hotel which is really cool to drive to, and has an interesting look from the outside, then this is the place to stay. However: 1. Beds were more of a platform bed with an OK matress. I can sleep on anything, so it wasn't a problem for me, but if you're a hotel snob and need a comfortable matress, then this wouldn't be ideal for you. 2. Shower is typical european with a hand wand and low water pressure. My wand didn't stay in the upright position and I was forced to wash by holding the shower wand in my hand. 3. Limited to no internet access. I asked at the front desk and was provided a room nearby the wireless access point, but I still couldn't get a signal. 4. Breakfast was OK, with some basic continental style food items and some questionable looking meats and eggs. 5. If you stay out late, you'll be forced to use an "after hours" entryway. I stayed at this place as it was conveniently located to my business.

  • Liked — Looks cool from the outside
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlosshotel Weilburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Weilburg

Address: Langgasse 25, 35781 Weilburg, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Weilburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weilburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Weilburg 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Schlosshotel Weilburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Weilburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.