We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Hotel brand but lousy service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen

Save Saved
You added Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Fontaine 9, 93400 Saint Ouen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte de Saint Ouen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Saint Ouen
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“International Hotel brand but lousy service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our hotel stay was arranged by our Tour Manager. It's suppose to be a 3/ or 4 stars but it turn out to be less.
The reception desk staffs are unfriendly and rude. The rooms are not well maintained. We have changed rooms. They are so reluctant to change but we insisted.
1st room the air conditioner control - spoiled and it dropped off from the wall.
2nd room the lock of the door was spoiled
I bet they will repair the next day even they promised to look into it the next day.
If they really take it seriously, we could not even find any fault in the room during check in. The fault has been lying there for days/weeks/ or even months.
Luckily, we stayed there for 2 nights. If given the choice to choose, we will not stay there and that is for sure!! one rotten egg will spoil the basket of eggs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    33
    15
    15
See reviews for
7
19
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012, OK at best, very small rooms, dirty hallways, not the best area of Paris, homeless people sleeping nearby. Passable but only stay here if you're stuck. Breakfast was good actually.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

I just returned from Paris, staying in the Holiday Inn for New Years.

Although the room is very clean (aside from the fact that the bathroom smelled like urine), my experience was bad.

Breakfast is 15€, and it wasn't even good. I ended up going around the corner to the Barry and getting breakfast much cheaper every morning.

I accidentally left my watch laying on the nightstand, and it was stolen. I'm currently working with Holiday Inn in regards to this.

The hotel staff is not overly friendly, but much nicer than most French people living in Paris.

The metro is relatively close, but it isn't somewhere you would want to let your guard down, especially at night. There are gypsies around and a bridge you have to walk under than wasn't very well lit. Once I reached the alley every night, I was relieved because it was fairly well lit and safer feeling.

Pros:
- Clean rooms
- Rooms are nicely laid out, even though they are small compared to rooms in the USA
- Staff will help you
- Close to metro
- Very comfortable beds

Cons:
- Cleaning crew stole my watch
- Rooms are small (expected in Europe though)
- Area feels unsafe (although I experienced no problems)
- Room was ridiculously hot and wouldn't cool down without the window being open.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in Dec 2011 as part of the Contiki tour. The road in front of the hotel was too narrow for our bus to stop so we had to drag our luggage from the drop off area, which is about 2mins walk, so it's not too bad. The lifts (apparently quite common in Europe) are so small only 2 people with about 4 luggages can enter. Our assigned room is on the third floor, instead of waiting for ages (48 of us!) we just carry our luggage up the stairs.

The room is shockingly tiny(between the bed and the wall and less than my arm's length). I mean really tiny. there isn't space to store 2 luggages. I think the use of space is probably not the best, since it's a tiny room, there isn't much point having a bath and shower over. Basin area is tiny so there isn't much space for toiletries. Tv is seated above the small desk (smart) and this hotel (out of the rest in our trip) provides a kettle, which i had took for granted that it's a norm thing in every hotel.

Although small, it appears to be clean. There are sheets provided(many hotel in Europe don't!) and you can open the window for fresh air. Heater works too. English channels(BBC, CNN) are available on the TV program.

On the back of the door, it published it's rates, which is about 200Euro for 1 night stay. Frankly I will not even pay 100E for this hotel in this location, which is about 15mins walk to the nearest Metro station (Saint-Ouen) which you can't see it on the main metro map, and it's another 15-20mins ride to the city. One way ticket cost E1.70.

As for breakfast, although we have a cut down version for the breakfast(because of the tour), where we are seated we can see the main breakfast area for other guest and it appears to have hot food. our breakfast is not too shabby, different types of beverages are provided, ham, cheese and different types of pastry, bread and yoghurt are given too.
I find the prices of drinks rather high(E7 for a glass of house wine) but i guess it wouldn't be considered high given it's a Holiday Inn branding.

Summary- it's clean and decent so I won't complain. But it will not be my choice of hotel if i'm travelling independently.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Paris is always a night mare but this hotel tucked away in a side street just off a main road was an oasis.
Parking always a premium in a major city non more so than Paris is easy with out door parking behind gates or for a little extra in the underground carpark . Both have large spaces for modern cars.
The actual rooms were very clean and well appointed with kettle etc .
Meals were good and the bar was great . one thing to note is that the resteraunt is closed in the evening at weekends.
If your looking for a down side to this hotel it can only be the area. its surrounded with kebab shops and its not that close to a tourist site.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Ok, so again, a Garden Court Hotel. For me this was the second one on my French extravaganza. Let it be said, this is NOT in the city of Paris, in fact it's miles away, however the station is very close, so no problems there, however I would have liked to have been a bit more in the city, however that's just a me thing.

Saint Ouen is a pretty wild place, a University Town, but can I say the fresh food market is stunning. The food was OMG wow, and quite reasonable. The bakeries are also excellent in the area.

Is it safe? Is Paris safe, well, I'm a big bloke, but yes I felt a little scared in this area. It's not the most welcoming of Areas. I think there are definitely better areas in Paris to stay.

It's about 30 mins from the airport and I guess about the same from the city centre of Paris.

Staff were friendly enough, though inconsistent. I found it difficult to get them to confirm my airport transfer.

Biggest downfall was that this hotel had a lot of tour series. Now I was only there for two days and there was a big one from with China or Japan and one from Australia that checked in. It just meant that lobby was noisy, always crowded (and it's tiny) and there was a big bus out the front.

I also couldn't early check in, understandable and my fault, but it would have made things better.

anyway. all in all, not bad, rooms small, which is expected. I just found the whole thing a bit lethargic, staff, hotel, area etc

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed hre for a weekend on my own.

Good Points
St Ouen Metro is 400m away, line 13 straight down to Champs Elysee, or change to 2 for Pigalles and Montmartre / Anvers.
Rooms are clean and tidy.
Concierge service 24/7
Many nationalities staying as popular with coach trips.
conveniently placed on Blvd Peripherique.

Bad Points:
Coach Parties were dominating the place with difficulty getting breakfast due to numbers.
Bar closes at 11! What!
Area is a bit rundown with a few north african bars round and about. Not worthy of a visit.
between hotel and metro yuo will have to walk past Roma, drunks, junkies and prostitutes.
There is no threat, or begging, just street people and poverty.
Beyond the metro it get progressively better.

Summary:
It cost me 85 Euros a night and it was only 1400 metres from the Sacre Coeur in Montmartre.
Musee d'Orsay The Louvre, Tuilleries, only half hour away on the metro

That remains excellent value, much better than anything London could offer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face away from the BP and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte De Saint Ouen Hotel Saint Ouen
Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte De Saint Ouen Hotel
Holiday Inn Saint Ouen
Saint Ouen Holiday Inn
Address: Rue de la Fontaine 9, 93400 Saint Ouen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte de Saint Ouen)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint Ouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Saint Ouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.