We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel - bad location and staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen to your Saves list
Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Fontaine 9, 93400 Saint Ouen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte de Saint Ouen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint Ouen
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel - bad location and staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

I just returned from Paris, staying in the Holiday Inn for New Years.

Although the room is very clean (aside from the fact that the bathroom smelled like urine), my experience was bad.

Breakfast is 15€, and it wasn't even good. I ended up going around the corner to the Barry and getting breakfast much cheaper every morning.

I accidentally left my watch laying on the nightstand, and it was stolen. I'm currently working with Holiday Inn in regards to this.

The hotel staff is not overly friendly, but much nicer than most French people living in Paris.

The metro is relatively close, but it isn't somewhere you would want to let your guard down, especially at night. There are gypsies around and a bridge you have to walk under than wasn't very well lit. Once I reached the alley every night, I was relieved because it was fairly well lit and safer feeling.

Pros:
- Clean rooms
- Rooms are nicely laid out, even though they are small compared to rooms in the USA
- Staff will help you
- Close to metro
- Very comfortable beds

Cons:
- Cleaning crew stole my watch
- Rooms are small (expected in Europe though)
- Area feels unsafe (although I experienced no problems)
- Room was ridiculously hot and wouldn't cool down without the window being open.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    23
    32
    17
    14
See reviews for
8
20
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in Dec 2011 as part of the Contiki tour. The road in front of the hotel was too narrow for our bus to stop so we had to drag our luggage from the drop off area, which is about 2mins walk, so it's not too bad. The lifts (apparently quite common in Europe) are so small only 2 people with about 4 luggages can enter. Our assigned room is on the third floor, instead of waiting for ages (48 of us!) we just carry our luggage up the stairs.

The room is shockingly tiny(between the bed and the wall and less than my arm's length). I mean really tiny. there isn't space to store 2 luggages. I think the use of space is probably not the best, since it's a tiny room, there isn't much point having a bath and shower over. Basin area is tiny so there isn't much space for toiletries. Tv is seated above the small desk (smart) and this hotel (out of the rest in our trip) provides a kettle, which i had took for granted that it's a norm thing in every hotel.

Although small, it appears to be clean. There are sheets provided(many hotel in Europe don't!) and you can open the window for fresh air. Heater works too. English channels(BBC, CNN) are available on the TV program.

On the back of the door, it published it's rates, which is about 200Euro for 1 night stay. Frankly I will not even pay 100E for this hotel in this location, which is about 15mins walk to the nearest Metro station (Saint-Ouen) which you can't see it on the main metro map, and it's another 15-20mins ride to the city. One way ticket cost E1.70.

As for breakfast, although we have a cut down version for the breakfast(because of the tour), where we are seated we can see the main breakfast area for other guest and it appears to have hot food. our breakfast is not too shabby, different types of beverages are provided, ham, cheese and different types of pastry, bread and yoghurt are given too.
I find the prices of drinks rather high(E7 for a glass of house wine) but i guess it wouldn't be considered high given it's a Holiday Inn branding.

Summary- it's clean and decent so I won't complain. But it will not be my choice of hotel if i'm travelling independently.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Paris is always a night mare but this hotel tucked away in a side street just off a main road was an oasis.
Parking always a premium in a major city non more so than Paris is easy with out door parking behind gates or for a little extra in the underground carpark . Both have large spaces for modern cars.
The actual rooms were very clean and well appointed with kettle etc .
Meals were good and the bar was great . one thing to note is that the resteraunt is closed in the evening at weekends.
If your looking for a down side to this hotel it can only be the area. its surrounded with kebab shops and its not that close to a tourist site.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Ok, so again, a Garden Court Hotel. For me this was the second one on my French extravaganza. Let it be said, this is NOT in the city of Paris, in fact it's miles away, however the station is very close, so no problems there, however I would have liked to have been a bit more in the city, however that's just a me thing.

Saint Ouen is a pretty wild place, a University Town, but can I say the fresh food market is stunning. The food was OMG wow, and quite reasonable. The bakeries are also excellent in the area.

Is it safe? Is Paris safe, well, I'm a big bloke, but yes I felt a little scared in this area. It's not the most welcoming of Areas. I think there are definitely better areas in Paris to stay.

It's about 30 mins from the airport and I guess about the same from the city centre of Paris.

Staff were friendly enough, though inconsistent. I found it difficult to get them to confirm my airport transfer.

Biggest downfall was that this hotel had a lot of tour series. Now I was only there for two days and there was a big one from with China or Japan and one from Australia that checked in. It just meant that lobby was noisy, always crowded (and it's tiny) and there was a big bus out the front.

I also couldn't early check in, understandable and my fault, but it would have made things better.

anyway. all in all, not bad, rooms small, which is expected. I just found the whole thing a bit lethargic, staff, hotel, area etc

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed hre for a weekend on my own.

Good Points
St Ouen Metro is 400m away, line 13 straight down to Champs Elysee, or change to 2 for Pigalles and Montmartre / Anvers.
Rooms are clean and tidy.
Concierge service 24/7
Many nationalities staying as popular with coach trips.
conveniently placed on Blvd Peripherique.

Bad Points:
Coach Parties were dominating the place with difficulty getting breakfast due to numbers.
Bar closes at 11! What!
Area is a bit rundown with a few north african bars round and about. Not worthy of a visit.
between hotel and metro yuo will have to walk past Roma, drunks, junkies and prostitutes.
There is no threat, or begging, just street people and poverty.
Beyond the metro it get progressively better.

Summary:
It cost me 85 Euros a night and it was only 1400 metres from the Sacre Coeur in Montmartre.
Musee d'Orsay The Louvre, Tuilleries, only half hour away on the metro

That remains excellent value, much better than anything London could offer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face away from the BP and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is in the suburbs of Paris, 10 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station. There are few amenities in the area so you need to travel into the city for restaurants. I stayed 1 night and twice in the night the electricty cut off leaving the room in complete darkness. The power failue only affected the one floor of the hotel.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk at kleast 10 minutes to reach the nearest Metro station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabriano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I come often in Paris for travelling and we have a budget that normally is not high for Paris. This took me in very bad hotels in the last periods but this time I found this pearl: good price in the budget, not far from the centre (I went by foot to Mointmatre) and anyway well connected to tube, silent even if near the Periferique.
The reception is pleasent, there's a small bar opened till ten and automatic distributors for any need in night. The rooms are really large according to parisienne standards, the bathroom a bit too small but clean. In teh room thers a good Plasma TV, free access to internet in WI-FI good quality, iron and hair dryer. It is missinga frigo bar.
Employess are handsome and available, a very good surprise

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen

Address: Rue de la Fontaine 9, 93400 Saint Ouen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte de Saint Ouen)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint Ouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint Ouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Paris Porte De Saint Ouen Hotel Saint Ouen
Holiday Inn Saint Ouen
Saint Ouen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alliance Hotel Paris Porte Saint Ouen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.