We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domino to your Saves list
Le Domino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue du Rempart, 67400 Illkirch-Graffenstaden, Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich
Level Contributor
299 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a two-star hotel and very modestly priced, so we didn't come with enormously high expectations. First impressions were disappointing: an impersonal greeting from the lady at reception - not unfriendly, but certainly not friendly either. A smile, a pleasant greeting, cost nothing! Then, going up the stairs to our room there was a musty, dank smell.
After that, things improved. It was just a short drive into the centre of Strasbourg, the hotel was in a peaceful suburb, the bathroom and bedroom were spacious (but the wardrobe very tiny). Everything was clean, the room quiet, the bed comfortable. In the morning my opinion of the hotel shot up: a genuine, friendly greeting from the man in charge of breakfast, an equally friendly "bonjour" from a female member of staff who just happened to be passing through the dining room. Pleasant dining room with plenty of space between the tables. Very nice breakfast. When leaving, I brought the cases out to the car while my partner checked out. He, too, was so impressed by the manner and manners of the guy on duty that morning.
Final impression: this establishment deserves three stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MartinW_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit out of town but is 10 minutes walk to the Baggarsee tram station, making it an overall 30 minute trip into the heart of the city.
Our room, on the top floor was ok, but our friends rooms were small, dark, and a bit claustrophobic. Some of the maintenance was lacking, but this well made up for by the very helpful owner/manager. He posted postcards, helped us with a difficult forward booking, and was generally kind to us.
Breakfast was good.

Our room looked out on the canal which was pleasant but there was quite a lot of road noise.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Good value for the money and secure parking for cars. We reserved a triple but the bed for the third person was more like an army cot.
Large desk, no elevator.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have heavy suitcases, you might want a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubbertgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heidjulien, Gérant at Le Domino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you to give us an advice about your stay. We are glad to see that the value match with the services that we offert every day.

Concerning the extra bed for the third person, it is always a daybed in our establishment, and we agree with you that for an adult it isn't the best.

In waiting to see you for a next stay in Alsace.

The Domino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
325 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Affordable 2 Star hotel in a quiet area. Entrance and parking with a code.
Free Wifi, even in the rooms. Big flat screen tv. Bathroom even with a tub, although small.
Well kept, personal touches everywhere. See picture of weatherforecast in the breakfast room.
Complete breakfast, even with meats and cheese. Don't forget, you are in France.
Almost directly behind the canal. So we were immediately on track for our biketour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heidjulien, Gérant at Le Domino, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment who goes straight to the heart.

You are an experienced user of the website Tripadvisor, and for us it is gratifying that discerning travelers as you describe her stay that way.

Satisfying our customers is our primary reward.

We also look forward to welcome you again very soon

The Domino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illkirch-Graffenstaden
0.6 mi away
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirch
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirc...
#3 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant D'alsace
Hotel Restaurant D'alsace
#1 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Argos
Hotel Restaurant Argos
#1 of 3 in Vendenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
#25 of 129 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Ponts Couverts
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domino

Address: 1 Rue du Rempart, 67400 Illkirch-Graffenstaden, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Illkirch-Graffenstaden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Domino 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Domino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domino Strasbourg, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing