We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
The Green, Horsted Keynes RH17 7AW, England
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crown Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely village pub with a large restaurant. Great local food, and decently priced for the exceptional quality. Will be back

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“such a shame we had high hopes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After wanting to visit "the crown" on a friends recommendation we sadly wont be going back or recommending others eat there. Very friendly staff, polite and prompt service was all spoilt by having to return a lamb shank dish as it smelt and tasted off. What left as in complete disbelieve was the so called chef argued the point, He told us where the meat came from, how fresh it supposedly was. He wouldn't acknowledge our complaint , just made us feel like an un wanted customer. At no point where we offered a real apology, no offer of anything to take the edge of our disappointment, (coffee/pudding etc) no money was taken off the bill. Chef could also do with washing his grubby fingers nails !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent meal - great service - recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Six of us visited The Crown today for Sunday lunch.
The meal was excellent - great food, well cooked and presented.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Nice clean well kept restaurant.
Not cheap but worth the money.
I'm not a local but would definitely return if I wasn't 50 miles away!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A true fine dining pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was told by friends that the Crown had been taken over by the chef of the nearby Red Lion in Chelwood Gate which I have previously visited and enjoyed. Having been a fan of Gravetye Manor where he was the chef/proprietor, I was interested to see what he had bought to his new adventure.
A warm welcome and shown to our table with all the efficiently of a high end restaurant was a good start to our lunch experience. The menu was varied and offers something for all tastes. I chose the steak, mushroom and ale pie which came beautifully presented with a piped potato top. The accompanying green vegetables were also nicely cooked. My wife had fish and chips which came in an excellent batter. To follow we both had the stick toffee pudding with ice cream, also very good. There is a fine range of beers and wine available and all this in a newly refurbished inn with exposed brickwork and nice furniture. A visit here will not disappoint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited the Crown with friends, who had booked a table for 7pm. On arrival we warmed ourselves in front of the log fire before being shown to our table where we ordered drinks. The menu was too not large but offered good choice of (very) tempting meals: as it was so cold outside I selected the Steak Mushroom and Ale Pie, my friends had the Duck Confit and the Sea Bream (off the Blackboard). The food was excellent; tasty, well cooked and well presented. The service was helpful and friendly, not pushy, which contributed to a very enjoyable evening. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

West Hoathly, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.