We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town, but can be very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westminster & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westminster & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Westminster & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best in town, but can be very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Le Touquet has a lot to offer and is no longer a "resort" in the modern sense of the word.

The Westminster is its only 4 star hotel. An impressive building, with a history and spectacular public areas , it can be faulted in two areas .

1. The high price in season at €200 -€400 per room.

2. The hotel has implemented a complex "rating"/pricing of its rooms . Basically a standard double room has not been refurbished - so while a good size you will have to accept a 60s bathroom.

If you are assigned a "bad" room eg ground floor then simply ask to change - it works

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    345
    129
    49
    26
See reviews for
151
485
18
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Everywhere
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is a classic hotel that has its own charm and elegance, but don't expect the rooms or service to be up to 4 star standard. The rooms feel bare and are 3 star quality. The staff are nice enough, but don't pay much attention to you. I always stay here when visiting Touquet, you just have to adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

As regular visitors to France we always wanted to check out the Westminster, it is difficult to relay how disappointed we were. As seasoned travellers my wife (who is French) phoned the hotel prior to our visit to ensure the room was of a decent quality. That was the first poor experience, the staff member who answered the call was most rude that we should even consider that their rooms were not all excellent and extremely well decorated and comfortable.
Upon arrival the reception and bar area were being re-carpeted so were out of action (only re-opened mid-day as we left). The room we were given was a corner room to the rear of the hotel ''should be nice and quiet''. The decor of the room was very poor, outdated and well over due for a refurb. The bathroom was even worse, poor French 1960's. The plumbing was inadequate with the shower temperature ranging from too cold to too hold within seconds.
We had an early start both mornings of our 2 day stay, awakened by hotel and adjacent bar staff emptying bottles into bins around 7.30 and talking and laughing alound. Perhaps they knew how much we had paid for this room, had we booked into a 2 star B & B in Skegness I think we would have been fully justified in complaining.
Dinner in their Michelin star restaurant was quiet, there were only us and one other couple. Food was excellent though with good service, pity again about the decor. The restauraunt style would be well described as poor 1970's suburbia. If you know The Normandy in Deauville, a regular haunt of ours, then you will appreciate how well the French can do hotels, the Westminster is the complete opposite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Thames
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I really enjoyed our stay at the Westminster - faded grandeur throughout the hotel with evidence of a bygone era everywhere (my grandmother stayed here with regularity in its heyday). It's a beautiful old building with grand wide staircases, plush (if somewhat tired) salons and dining rooms and lobby area. Old wooden cage lifts with a modern makeover, silver service, thick pile carpets, black and photos of past guests (dignitries, film starts etc), very good (and expensive) bar.
Excellent indoor swimming pool, saunas, jacuzzis and spa.
Our room was a bit plain and ordinary located on the 4th (top) floor - suspect all the lower grade rooms are on this floor, but it did have an excellent bathroom. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that.
Incredible offer of €90 per night for the room.
Overall would definitely stay here again. 5 Star it ain't (anymore) but certainly a lovely old 4 Star comfy slipper.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The hotel is very comfortable and we found it to be exactly as advertised. Its in a very good location for walking around Le Touquet. We had De Luxe rooms which were a good size and had plenty of room for two large comfortable chairs. The spa (particularly the pool) were a big hit. The food was very good. All in all an enjoyable few days. Only observation for improvement would be that it wouldn't be too difficult to put a shower head above the bath; a bit antiquated to have a bath with sprinkler rather than a shower. But even that was as advertised!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We booked with French Golf Holidays who obviously have a special deal at this hotel at we got a room upgrade, a welcome drink and, by looking at the public prices, a very good deal. The food in the brasserie was good and the new spa looked good but we didn't have time after the golf. We played La Mer, Hardelot and Belle Dune and we all voted it as the best trip yet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Four of us booked 2 rooms at the Westminster for a golf weekend. Both rooms were tired, dingy and dirty with paint peeling off the walls. The windows were filthy and looked straight out onto a brick wall covered with barbed wire! Our friends got no sleep as their bed was directly under a stone service staircase on which people were stomping up and down all night.
The breakfast buffet was poor and luke warm. The staff unhelpful. Altogether our stay was a disaster.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westminster & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster & Spa

Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Westminster & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westminster & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.