We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel but terrible breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westminster & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westminster & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Westminster & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Banbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel but terrible breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This would be a flawless review but for two problems - one small and the other so big it spoils the overall product.

The standard rooms are of perfectly adequate size, and ours was comfortably and tastefully appointed, with an excellent bathroom. Full marks.

The reception staff were efficient and pleasant, and check-in took a couple of seconds. Full marks.

The lobby is beautiful, as is the bar and the lounge. There is a lovely scroll-work iron lift, and the hallways and public spaces are all elegant. The bar staff were friendly and efficient, and made the best Margarita I've had in years. Full marks.

The Wifi service is a strong signal, and free and unlimited. However, the router time is set incorrectly and altered the time on our phones and laptop making them nearly 25 minutes slow! Luckily we had no ferry or appointment to make, but this could seriously embarrass anyone en-route to the port. Small detail for us, but could be a real problem for others.

The really disappointing thing about this hotel is the breakfast. It is not cheap (€22) and in such an establishment I expected a decent breakfast. You would get better by far at a Premiere Classe or an Ibis - and there it will cost you €6 or €8!

There was absolutely no service to speak of. Tepid coffee and tea. The only hot food on offer is scrambled egg - undercooked, liquid and limp, and not hot - and bacon - dried to card and again not hot. There were no side plates on which to put bread from the buffet, so it's either use a cereal bowl or cart bread around the dining room in your hands.

The table was never cleared of used bowls or packaging, and getting some butter took 15 minutes. In spite of there being nearly 90 minutes of service left, we noticed that the last of the crêpes being taken and when after 15 minutes they had not been replenished we asked for more to be told curtly that they had all gone - the implication being that they were bought in!

The whole thing was atrocious, and I find it hard to believe that the meal offered came from the same establishment that has a Michelin star.

Stay at the hotel by all means - the renovated rooms are fine - but for pity's sake walk down the road for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    308
    115
    44
    24
See reviews for
132
416
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a landmark, a reminder of the days when Le Touquet was the in place to go for well heeled British and their Parisian counterparts. It remains an imposing building if a little faded on the edge of a resort that remains attractive, well supplied with shops for the better off.
Our room, a superior one, was very attractively furnished in black and white in the art deco style which characterises the hotel. It was comfortable, well equipped, and with a spacious and well organised bathroom (although I find it irritating that hotels seem to think that one small bar of soap should be shared between bath, basin and shower). The TV did not work. We made the point at the desk at check out and were a little surprised to be told that they knew about it and must get round to fixing it. The price, through the Internet, was €200 against a rack rate of €400. The value at the price we paid was fair but I would question the value at a higher price. I would also expect everything to work!
We did not eat in the hotel as my failure to read my Michelin properly meant that I only realised too late that the Le Pavillon restaurant was closed on the night we were there. We did, however, eat in Le Village Suisse close by and would recommend it.
The corridors downstairs are covered in faces familiar and unfamiliar over the ages, from a lugubrious Tony Blair to a kittenish Marlene Dietrich, all extolling the virtues of the hotel. One can only assume the pictures were taken before they had breakfast. This was a meal thoroughly unworthy of a hotel trying to maintain the standards for which it was once famous. The buffet, situated in what appeared to be a ballroom or conference chamber, was reminiscent of a midrange chain hotel, lacking in choice and quality of what was on offer; poor croissants and pastries, coffee that had been made in advance and left to cook, scrambled eggs that challenged the worst I have tasted - tepid, congealing and tasting unlike any self respecting egg I have known. A sole bored waitress ignored our empty dishes despite there being only a handful of tables occupied. At €19 the price is not excessive until one compares the quality with what you can get at any reasonable cafe.
Overall this was a disappointment. They must surely be able to do better with a bit more attention and effort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Whilst travelling back through France we decided to go to Le Touquet. It was a fantastic weekend, we stayed at the Westminster and loved every second of it. The location is great for walking into town and the staff were extremely accommodating. We had our little Chihuahua with us and she was given the respect she deserved! The French are great with dogs, so there was absolutely no problem. The room was delightful and exceptionally clean and we paid little more than we would have paid at a Campanile!! I say no more. Would I recommend it, ABSOLUTELY in a heart beat. Will be going back in a couple of weeks for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Walk into town and explore the lovely shops and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for the last night of a 3 week motorcycle tour before getting the Shuttle back. The charming man on reception staff was very friendly and welcoming - we were upgraded from the cheaper attic room we had prepaid for to a large corner room on the ground floor with windows on both sides. Parking is free of charge in a secure area at the back with electric gates and wi-fi was also free and worked very well from the room - both very welcome in such a high level hotel. The hotel itself is a wonderful building with the public area oozing an old world charm whilst being immaculately maintained. A short walk takes you into the centre of Le Touquet - a town that you can never tire of. We didn't have time to have breakfast in the hotel as we had an early crossing to catch and we were treated very warmly by the girl on reception - Le Touquet is ideally positioned for the Shuttle and makes a great last night of any trip.

We have stayed in many hotels in Le Touquet over the past years and will certainly stay in the Westminster again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had often driven past the hotel, when visiting Le Touquet for the day - generally for lunch- & always said that we'd stay when we had some time. We were a little put off by some negative reviews (old; tired; unhelpful staff etc etc) but felt that it would be worthwhile making our own decisions.
And it was very much a worthwhile experience! We arrived at 10am having ferried from Dover, & were told that we could have access to our room immediately (when booking we were asked our ETA), & that access to all the facilities would be granted immediately. No, not drop off our bags & return at 2pm, at which point we could park our car (as is the norm), but immediately!!
The check in staff were speedy & courteous; the doorman couldn't have been more helpful; the room was large, comfortable & very much up to standard; the bathroom was generous, with a fab art-deco suite. There is a large on-site car park at the back of the hotel which is secure, with additional parking on-site at the front.
The building itself is imposing, sitting in a prominent position as you access the main part of town. It is very much an early 1900's style, which, while not to everyones taste, is certainly ours. The traditional lift is beautifully kept. The sweeping staircase inviting enough to dress up to walk down for a photo opportunity! (No- we didn't, but might next time!). The pool & spa area does exactly what it says on the tin.
The restaurants offer super fare in both an "exclusive" environment & a less formal "bistro" setting, with costs, in our opinion, fair. We did think that the breakfast at 19 euros was a tad pricy, so we walked a few minutes towards town & had a lovely petit dejeuner for considerably less. The bars, whilst not cheap (are they ever), were very relaxed, with very pleasant waiting staff.
This is not a modern boutique hotel, where you could actually be in any city in any country. This is a grand old lady with oodles of charm, warmth & personality - an absolute joy in a world of identical skinny models!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked 4 nights at the Westminster for a golfing trip. Very impressed with the exterior facade and a very warm and efficient welcome from reception who provided excellent and concise information about the hotel.
We had booked classic rooms which were very well appointed with great bathrooms with bath and nice walk in shower. The rooms themselves were great with everything you could want.
Our package included breakfast which was perfect - great breads and pastries.
The hotel bar was elegant with good service.
We did not have any evening meals at the hotel but the restaurant menus looked inviting.

Overall a very well appointed and elegant hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I had heard tales over the years that the Westminster was a shadow of its former self so we booked with some trepidation. The welcome was formal and old world courteous. The room was spacious and would have slept four. Furnishing well up to standard and the rate very reasonable.

Yes the breakfast - eat as much as you wish - is €19 but I have had far worse. A glass of wine in the bar was €7, the service impeccable. We ate out but the menu in the restaurant looked appetising. When we returned from dinner we discovered that the staff had switched on the bedside lamp so that we id not come back to a dark room.

Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westminster & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster & Spa

Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Westminster & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westminster & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.