We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“External appearance deceptive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4 Boulevard de la Canche, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“External appearance deceptive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My contact, Marie, by email and phone was brilliant nothing was too much trouble but sadly the hotels impressive exterior hides an internal disaster.
More than one coupled complained about the smell of drains in the room coupled with shabby chic furniture and wall hangings makes an uncomfortable combination. The dining room is another design mare which is ok for breakfast but not an evening meal. Beware the cable covers running along the floor, I witnessed two at breakfast nearly landing on their face.
They seem to attract groups which is fine but one large group held a disco until 4 in the morning with security staff totally relaxed even when the groups smoking set the fire alarms off.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
14
34
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wheelchair accessible room was fine. Spacious and lovely view over the Canche estuary. Staff very helpful. Unpleasant smell in bathroom and would have expected better than paper cups for tea/coffee!
Restaurant was very poor. Just 2 table d'hote choices and no vegetarian option. Limited buffet selection for starters and desserts. For a hotel boasting 4 stars would have expected a reasonable a la carte menu as well.
Lots of good places to eat in Le Touquet but with a wheelchair user we wanted to eat at the hotel.
Stayed here once about 15 years ago and remember it as much better.
Swimming pool excellent but sauna out of order.
As you can see from my other reviews we are not super critical travellers and this is the first time I've written adverse comments.
Doubt we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Faultless, yes I mean it faultless. Every aspect of the stay defeats the common denominator of modern hoteliers. What a great experience will recommend to no one in case they get complacent and too well known and they drop their standards.

Congratulations, why not "excellent", it is unfair to them to say so as they must know thy some faults somewhere because they try very hard to cover them up and succeed brilliantly.

You ever met a civil French bar man? Well I have now and that is under oath!

Well done a great week end.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are slightly better for view but if you need a room to sleep rather than look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Was really looking forward to staying here but alas the hotel was lacking in some important areas...We were given room 316, which was a superior room, but there was a constant smell in the bathroom, and with no wardrobe in the room itself, the only place to hang your clothes was...in the bathroom. As others have commented, the decor of the superior rooms is dark and depressing, we are talking an overload of chocolate browns. The bed was large - consisting of two very hard single mattresses pushed together. We tried to complain about the smell in the bathroom, but didn't get very far, and gave up. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the public areas, and corridors were all overly warm. I did like the location, the walks along the estuary next to the hotel were very nice. I also liked all the eclectic art in the public areas. Breakfast was 17euro per person, and it was all a self service affair, and was as such, disappointing. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: don't stay in 316
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels

Whitton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This Hotel was a complete disappointment. Though the location is acceptable sitting about 15 minutes walk from the main town of Le Touquet the decor is dismal and seems to be the whims of a rather eclectic designer or eccentric art collector or both. The facilities do not seem to have the guest or visitor in consideration. Colour schemes are dark and dismal and services very limited and indifferent. The whole place lacks atmosphere, conviviality and is overpriced for the few services it provides. It was not a memorable experience and will not be repeated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Touquet Paris Plage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Superior Room was spacious, decorated in dismal fashionable dark browns and beige's not indicative of a bright & sunny holiday venue. Two sitting chairs and no comfortable lounging chairs. The boasted three restaurant choice resulted in a set menu choice in one venue at a fixed price. The bar empty and lacked atmosphere and over priced. The comfort tray in the room sported paper cups for tea and coffee and no teaspoon - or stirrer of any kind. There was no porter service available and staff seemed indifferent. The location just ab out a 15 minute walk into Le Touquet provided us with shopping, a great choice of restaurants thankfully. I would not return to this establishment

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The area is lovely. That was about it. I completely understand that sometimes mistakes happen, however the couldn't care less attitude of the staff at a 4 star hotel shocked me. The food is rotten, the wine was terribly expensive AND corked - their response to that was 'madam, the wine comes from a reputable wine house' with the attitude that 'you're English, what you do you know about wine'. The function room was far too hot and repeated requests to turn the air con on fell on deaf ears. The quality of the food itself was dreadful - when I complained that my soup was cold along with the cold, hard poached egg inside the waitress (of which there were 4 serving 90 people) took some of the soup in a spoon, put her finger in it and then put the dirty spoon back on the white tablecloth! Agree with previous reviews that I have eaten better at a service station. Breakfast was equally disgusting, and came with more attitude. To add insult to injury, they tried to charge every single one of us twice for the meal.

I have stayed in various types of hotels all over France and this was by far the worst establishment I have ever come across. Shame on you 'Grand' Hotel.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage

Address: 4 Boulevard de la Canche, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grand Hôtel Le Touquet-Paris-Plage is ideally located between land and sea, at walking distance of Le Touquet center and the beach, overlooking the river bay. This "off-the-wall" property welcomes you within a fine art gallery where each room offers its own character. 130 fully equipped bedrooms with LED TV screen, courtesy tray, 2 restaurants and a bar, 7 meeting rooms, free Wifi and a wellness center (indoor heated pool, sauna, spa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Le Touquet
Accor Le Touquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Le Touquet Paris Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.