We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute but it was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverne Royale

La Taverne Royale
53 rue St Jean, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
+33 (0)321051511
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
cheshire
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“last minute but it was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Eight of us ate here after some difficulty with a table at another place. They got us in no problem at all I had the horse burger for a change and enjoyed it although cheval sounds more appealing, my friends had steak and all enjoyed what they had a good venue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    64
    34
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classic Le Touquet restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We turned up without a reservation on a busy Bank Holiday. No where in town is a cheap food option, so the bill of £30 per head including drinks, was not a surprise. That was for two courses of well cooked French food. Very pleased and we would go back again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Food wasnt all that special, but i have eaten worse in france. But then again, the prices were'nt that high either. A fair meal for a fair price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great set menu meal in the evening and breakfast was also good and a lot cheaper at €8pp than my hotel which charged €17pp. would definitely eat there again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT BRITISH MEETING PLACE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

It's Truly French by nature and design, as are the staff and the food served here, but thats where the French identity unfortunately ceases. The staff are very friendly, speak English and serve a lot of "chips" with the main meals. So if you like to go on holiday to experience something different in another country, this is definitely not to place to go. You can chance your luck and find, maybe 20 - 30 beer swilling English middle aged Yobos, (supposedly on a golfing (or other) trip - away from their "wives") seated outside the place, waiting for the tables to be cleared inside, so they can carry on the evening entertainment, in warmer surroundings.

Its not my idea of a typically French evening out, when the whole place reverberates to expletives destined for the coal yards of Newcastle Upon Tyne and unfortunately, no one had the nerve to ask these so called English men to curb the language being used; then I suppose it was out of season and the restaurant was one of the few ones open in Le Touquet on the evenng I vetured to dine at the Royal Taverne.

The food I had was very reasonably priced, but the lager/beer was pricey. (Makes me think was there a deal done to keep the Golfers in cheap booze?) Service was delayed to my table by the staff's inability to serve others, away from the "golfing" party, which somewhat spolied what otherwise would have been a good evening.

My suggestions for this establishment are, if you want to complete with Brighton and Blackpool for customers, make sure you do not offer your facilities to other Brits, on the night you are doing a mass catering stint for large English Parties (male or female) who insist on making a nuisance of themselves, showing themselves to be what they are and inconveniencing every other tourists who will no doubt avoid your place like the plague, next time they are in town. Surprisingly, there were no other French patrons in the Taverne, as far as I could detect, on this occasion.

J.BURROWS (PRESTON) JUNE 2012.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverne Royale also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Taverne Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverne Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.