We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bistrot restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
80 Rue de Paris, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
03 21 05 21 55
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistrot restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were 2 adults and 2 kids, booked and arrived at 7.30pm. Amuse bouche of mini-sandwiches quickly appeared as did a fab mini lentil & cep soupe. We ordered off the 19 euro menu, kids loved the snails and gnocchi starter, and the rabbit, chicken and duck terrine was excellent. Mains of faux-filet were beautifully cooked as was a mini pot-au-poissons. Desserts of apple tarte tartin and ice-cream was also good. Service was excellent, not slow. The place started to fill up, nice atmosphere. Dinner for 4 inc 1 bottle of Sancerre and 2 cokes and 2 desserts was 136 euros.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    62
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A dull Friday lunchtime in January, the restaurant was empty. My wife, daughter and I were a little surprised since other restaurants did have customers: was Le Cafe des Arts going to be as good as the reviews said? We had the €25 menu (3 courses) and a very nice Chablis (€30). The food was very good (especially for the price) and the service excellent. Good atmosphere but not quite sure about the profusion of teddy bears throughout the restaurant. We'd certainly go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“so la la”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the place is decorated in plums and rust colours with teddy bears everywhere, on the window sill, up the stairs and on our table, it gives it a cutesy appearance.
we ordered from their lunch menu. 2 courses for 19 euros.
amuse bouche, lentils with a hint of cheese. staff are very helpful and attentive, the place was emptyish.
main, course fish stew, was served on outsized plates with an ever such miniscule bowl like indentation in the centre. the whole thing not bigger than 4 inches in diameter, steam fished and mussels sitting on microscopically cut vegetables and potatoes maybe 5 or 6 carefully cut boiled potatoes the size of a third of my index finger.
on the other hand the chicken dish was nicely flavoured but, but equally as ungenerous.if you add cream and butter to any dish it will taste delicious. chocolate mousse with orange for afters, very light, very creamy, very light on the chocolate, couldn't taste the orange.
the le cafe des artes misses out on quite a few important aspects, the food is ok. if you serve the tiniest of portions you need to justfiy it with taste and flavour, this does no such thing. we came away hungry and slightly disappointed, however we cannot fault the service or attention reveived.
can i remind you that you can vote, if you thought that this was helpful. i take a lot of care in writing and always aim for a balanced perspective.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lunch in style in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I booked a table here for 13 guests for Sunday lunch, the set 2 and 3 course lunch menu €19 / €25 had a great selection of choice and the food was sublime! Attention to detail, and a taste-sensation on so many levels made this lunch stop one of the highlights of our trip. Cafe des Arts is well worth a visit and certainly one of the finer establishments in this little seaside resort! Catering for such a large group was effortless and I wouldn't hesitate going back. I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Delicious and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is superb. It was a rainy Friday evening in late September when we went. The greeting was warm and friendly and the pace of service perfectly timed. The food is fantastic... the trio of Fois Gras starter is 'historic' as Michael Winner says. For mains we had fish..again perfectly cooked and fantastic sauces. The local cheeses are delicious, but so too was the Tarte Tatin... just a great experience all round. Attentive and good quality service, good wines and food and good value for money. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.