We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
80 Rue de Paris, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
03 21 05 21 55
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A dull Friday lunchtime in January, the restaurant was empty. My wife, daughter and I were a little surprised since other restaurants did have customers: was Le Cafe des Arts going to be as good as the reviews said? We had the €25 menu (3 courses) and a very nice Chablis (€30). The food was very good (especially for the price) and the service excellent. Good atmosphere but not quite sure about the profusion of teddy bears throughout the restaurant. We'd certainly go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
canterbury
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“so la la”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the place is decorated in plums and rust colours with teddy bears everywhere, on the window sill, up the stairs and on our table, it gives it a cutesy appearance.
we ordered from their lunch menu. 2 courses for 19 euros.
amuse bouche, lentils with a hint of cheese. staff are very helpful and attentive, the place was emptyish.
main, course fish stew, was served on outsized plates with an ever such miniscule bowl like indentation in the centre. the whole thing not bigger than 4 inches in diameter, steam fished and mussels sitting on microscopically cut vegetables and potatoes maybe 5 or 6 carefully cut boiled potatoes the size of a third of my index finger.
on the other hand the chicken dish was nicely flavoured but, but equally as ungenerous.if you add cream and butter to any dish it will taste delicious. chocolate mousse with orange for afters, very light, very creamy, very light on the chocolate, couldn't taste the orange.
the le cafe des artes misses out on quite a few important aspects, the food is ok. if you serve the tiniest of portions you need to justfiy it with taste and flavour, this does no such thing. we came away hungry and slightly disappointed, however we cannot fault the service or attention reveived.
can i remind you that you can vote, if you thought that this was helpful. i take a lot of care in writing and always aim for a balanced perspective.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch in style in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I booked a table here for 13 guests for Sunday lunch, the set 2 and 3 course lunch menu €19 / €25 had a great selection of choice and the food was sublime! Attention to detail, and a taste-sensation on so many levels made this lunch stop one of the highlights of our trip. Cafe des Arts is well worth a visit and certainly one of the finer establishments in this little seaside resort! Catering for such a large group was effortless and I wouldn't hesitate going back. I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Delicious and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is superb. It was a rainy Friday evening in late September when we went. The greeting was warm and friendly and the pace of service perfectly timed. The food is fantastic... the trio of Fois Gras starter is 'historic' as Michael Winner says. For mains we had fish..again perfectly cooked and fantastic sauces. The local cheeses are delicious, but so too was the Tarte Tatin... just a great experience all round. Attentive and good quality service, good wines and food and good value for money. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very pleased with food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited this restaurant wirh a group of golfers from Keerbergen in Belgium and we enjoyed a very good dinner: high quality food and friendely, efficient service. For sure an address to recommend and to remember.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.