We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visit never miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
80 Rue de Paris, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
03 21 05 21 55
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Annual visit never miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Perfect French restaurant great value menus and if you stick to good quality carafes of wine it's even better. One of the most endearing features is being ticked off for over tipping when we tried to add 10 percent. Only half taken. We go as a small group every year in July and look forward to going again we do enjoy food and wine. This is a family restaurant who go out of their way to help us understand what we nearly understand

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    90
    52
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We ended up at the restaurant by default having been booked into the wrong restaurant by our hotel. We wanted to go to Le Paris, but the Hotel booked us into Le Paris Plage which caused a number of problems as it was like comparing fine cuisine and wines to an evening in Wetherspoons.

Thankfully the owner at Le Paris was understanding and helpful (despite being fully booked) and advised us to go to Cafe des Arts as it was one of the better eating establishments.

First impressions were a little mixed and it felt like I had walked into a shop selling soft toys but I have to admit the food was outstanding and the service very good. Both my wife and I went for the lamb curry which was beautiful.

Whilst I would have preferred to have dined in Le Paris, this was a suitable alternative.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON,ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NICE FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I ate here with my two brothers and 10 year old nephew on Saturday last. We've eaten here many times before and the food, as ever, was excellent. My nephew, Joe, paricularly liked his main course of " steak balls" which we actually revealed to him were escargots after he'd devoured the lot. As well as beautifully cooked and presented food, the restaurant has very smart but relaxed atmosphere and friendly, attentive staff.At the end, the bill for five courses (including amuse bouches and cheese) and three bottles of wine came in at what we thought was a very reasonable 230 euros for the four of us. It would have been even cheaper if Joe hadn't insisted on downing two bottles of Sancerre on his own, but maybe he needed to wash away the taste of the snails. (Not really).All in all, a great evening was had by everyone and I'd thoroughly recommend it

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a cold day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Arrived shivering at 11.50 but warmly welcomed ,and delighted that freebie starter was piping hot doll-size bowl of delicious carrot soup with grated parmesan on top. Warm theme continued with fresh hot bread rolls, my starter of snails with gnocchi was really hot in a hot dish, and our mains of haddock on lentils also properly hot. N's local herring terrine was a bit salty (that being the nature of the local cured herring used), and we are not mad about puy lentils still on the firm side which came with our haddock, but the coconut sauce was beautiful with the fish. Tarte tatin (husband) & rice pud with marron mousse (self) completed a lovely meal for 24 euros, value in this pricey town. Wine list not aggressively priced. Good coffee & petits fours. Liked the relaxed ambience, proper cloths and napkins; chairs a bit "cafe". Did not ask history of teddy bear theme/collection. Parking on plage reasonably near.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Solid French cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Slightly quirky and not the most inviting from the outside, but a classic mid-priced restaurant. Good value for money and appeared to be almost exclusively full of French speaking people - which is surely a good sign,

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.