We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kolding Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Kolding Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kolding Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kedelsmedgangen 2, Kolding 6000, Denmark (Formerly Kolding Byferie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Kolding
Flensburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in room 232 for one night. It was the cheapest accomodation I could find for that night on hotels.com in Kolding and we were positively surprised. It was a small flat with small kitchen, eating area and a couch group in front of the tv and a bed room. We had a nice view to the sea from the bedroom window. Our rooms were in an side building right next to the Fitness/Pool building (Slotssøbadet) which is pretty convenient if you want to use that. Next time I though would prefer to stay on the groundfloor because the flats there have a little table and two chairs outside the big window, so that you have a little terrace and can go outside. There is only 5-10 minutes walk into the city center from here, wich is great if you want to go out to eat or do some shopping. And then of course you have the historical building Koldinghus as neighbour. Summing all this and that you also have free access to the fitness/pool I think it is really good value for money if you are looking for accomodation in Kolding. Just remember your own bedlinen and towels :) P.S: The parking costs 45 kr. pr. day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had booked 4 nights - what is Kolding anyway known for?! Apparently arrived one day earlier than my booking (own mistake) but the personnel kindly found their best apartment for the one night and traded it for the night I had actually booked at end. No charge - just kind over bearing smiles! Fantastic view to the lake and castle and own roof terrace. Kolding turned out to have it all - except a good bakery in walking distance. We tried their very affordable breakfast offering. Positively surprised! Good bread, cheese, fruit etc. nothing extraordinary though. Kolding has the greatest shopping center in Jutland! Not suitable for my son and his girlfriend, though - they were quite bored - mostly because she didn't want to show her white un-tanned body in the lovely complementary fitness/pool facilities next door! My girlfriend and I used 4 calm days to find out why we didn't fancy being a couple anymore and that was a super achievement. Walking around the lake is a fantastic inspiration for mind walking too!

Room Tip: If you can live wit a rather small room, I advice to go for the building next to the lake - 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Byferie literally means "town holiday". The Kolding Byferie is smack in downtown Kolding. I have stayed here for 1 month in two different apartments. I have stayed in the "circle" 1-bedroom and also the "rectangle" 2-bedroom. Both are reasonably furnished. But I was working in Kolding so I was not in the apartment often. They do have kitchens with a small oven, stove, dishwasher, and plates, silverware, and pots. There is only 1 washing machine and dryer for everyone in a common area so if you need to do laundry, there can be a long wait. Rooms were as clean as I expect for a midlevel European hotel. You are a quick walk to tons of restaurants and the Koldinghus. Do arrive before 18:00 as no one will be there to check you in afterwards. And the rooms don't have A/C, but they do have heat.

I'm pretty sure they have a set price for anything up to 2 weeks, whether it is 5 days or 14. So it works out much more in your favor if you are staying for longer. This is not a typical hotel as you are basically renting an apartment. Most of us in the US aren't used to that concept, so you have to overcome the expectation that the room will be cleaned daily or having a receptionist 24hrs/day. You can ask for the room to be cleaned often but you will pay extra for each cleaning. And their is someone on-call 24hrs/day for emergencies but it does take about 30min for him to arrive. When renting for 2-week blocks, it is much cheaper than staying at any of the local hotels, plus you get a kitchen and living room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor. Then you can keep the windows open without having to worry about s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I liked the apartment because there were two bedrooms plus a living space, so we didn't have to all cram into one room. There was a tv with a fair channel selection, the staff was very friendly, and the pool passes and local discounts were good. However, for nearly 1000 euros for five days, I should NOT have to clean the apartment before leaving, and everyday as well considering there was no room service...that's the most ridiculous concept I've ever heard of. I don't think cleaning on my vacation is ideal at all, and it's enough to cause me not to reccomend the hotel for other travellers. There was actually a list of things that you must clean, including sweeping the floors and stripping the beds, before leaving. For a couple hundred euros for five days, sure. I'll clean. But for nearly 1000 euros, no no no.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed in one of the round rooms for a few days. Very spacious and well furnished. I like the concept of the different shaped rooms and I would recommend staying here if you are in or around Kolding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 days here in one of the triangle rooms. The "flat" is very small but everything is os well thought through that it doesn't really matter. And there's windows all over so you feel like having acces to the whole Kolding Fjord. Everything was well functioning - there's nothing old or broken.
Staff is very nice and helpfull, surroundings are green, open and welcoming. Included in our stay was a ticket to the big swimmingpool nearby - and as it was out of season I enjoyed a swim there. I guess it can be quite crowded in peak season....
This is absolutely one of the best cheaper hotels I've stayed at and will recommend it especially out of season and for people with no small children as I think it can be a bit complicated to make the narrow rooms work if you bring kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and some friends stayed in one of the apartments at Kolding Byferie last weekend and were very impressed with it. We stayed in a lovely, light and spacious 2 bedroom apartment - simply but well furnished, and everything was well thought out and worked. Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The location is brilliant - on the shore of the Slotssøen, within a stone's throw of Kolding Castle and an easy walk to the cafes and shops in the centre of Kolding.

The only negative points: the two bedroom apartment we stayed in had a double room furnished with two single beds pushed together, which easily separated from each other, and the second room had bunk beds. Also, some of the fellow guests were a little noisy coming back from a late night out.

But would definitely stay there again, especially in the summer.

Room Tip: You get free access to the nearby water park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kolding Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolding Hotel Apartments

Address: Kedelsmedgangen 2, Kolding 6000, Denmark (Formerly Kolding Byferie)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding Municipality > Kolding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolding Hotel Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolding Hotel Apartmetns is 84 architecturally designed hotel apartments situated in the center of Kolding with the Royal Castle Museum Koldinghus and Lakeshore on one side, and the town's cozy latin quarter on the other. We offer a wonderful environment for everyone, regardless of whether you prefer to stay by the lake, the courtyard or the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Kolding Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolding Byferie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolding Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.