We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive considering lack of services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kolding Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Kolding Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kolding Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kedelsmedgangen 2, Kolding 6000, Denmark (Formerly Kolding Byferie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Kolding
Mons, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive considering lack of services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I liked the apartment because there were two bedrooms plus a living space, so we didn't have to all cram into one room. There was a tv with a fair channel selection, the staff was very friendly, and the pool passes and local discounts were good. However, for nearly 1000 euros for five days, I should NOT have to clean the apartment before leaving, and everyday as well considering there was no room service...that's the most ridiculous concept I've ever heard of. I don't think cleaning on my vacation is ideal at all, and it's enough to cause me not to reccomend the hotel for other travellers. There was actually a list of things that you must clean, including sweeping the floors and stripping the beds, before leaving. For a couple hundred euros for five days, sure. I'll clean. But for nearly 1000 euros, no no no.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed in one of the round rooms for a few days. Very spacious and well furnished. I like the concept of the different shaped rooms and I would recommend staying here if you are in or around Kolding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 days here in one of the triangle rooms. The "flat" is very small but everything is os well thought through that it doesn't really matter. And there's windows all over so you feel like having acces to the whole Kolding Fjord. Everything was well functioning - there's nothing old or broken.
Staff is very nice and helpfull, surroundings are green, open and welcoming. Included in our stay was a ticket to the big swimmingpool nearby - and as it was out of season I enjoyed a swim there. I guess it can be quite crowded in peak season....
This is absolutely one of the best cheaper hotels I've stayed at and will recommend it especially out of season and for people with no small children as I think it can be a bit complicated to make the narrow rooms work if you bring kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and some friends stayed in one of the apartments at Kolding Byferie last weekend and were very impressed with it. We stayed in a lovely, light and spacious 2 bedroom apartment - simply but well furnished, and everything was well thought out and worked. Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The location is brilliant - on the shore of the Slotssøen, within a stone's throw of Kolding Castle and an easy walk to the cafes and shops in the centre of Kolding.

The only negative points: the two bedroom apartment we stayed in had a double room furnished with two single beds pushed together, which easily separated from each other, and the second room had bunk beds. Also, some of the fellow guests were a little noisy coming back from a late night out.

But would definitely stay there again, especially in the summer.

Room Tip: You get free access to the nearby water park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I'm Indian working in a software company. I had got chance to visit Kolding, Denmark on a Business trip in last October 2009 with an office colleague. Our branch office in Kolding had booked the room for us in "Kolding Byferie" earlier. We reached Kolding Byferie from Billund Airport at 7:00 PM. The reception closes at 6 PM. So they had given us a passcode to open the box and get our card key there. We got the key and headed to our room. We faced little difficult as it was little dark there in the campus.

We had got a rectangular apartment (perhaps H-204) with 2 bedrooms (1 room with dauble bed and another with children bed) and a fully equipped kitchen along with a hall. All rooms and halls were having room heaters in it. The kitchen drawers were full of beautiful dishes, cutlery set and utensils. The Electric Gas stove, Freezer, Oven and LCD TV were available too. One can cook if he/she want. Even we cooked for sometimes. There's free Internet-connection in each apartment, but we 2 person had to get cables in the morning and they connected extra router for us free of cost too.

The Hall was big, but the rooms were little small comparing to other hotels...but OK. Bathroom was equipped with hot/cold shower knob. The bathroom in the washroom is also small (may be very small for a fat man/woman) ! The lighting facility in the staircase was equipped with sensors...It glows only when you enter and switched off when you are out :-).

Kolding Byferie is located one side by the lake Slottsö, a beautiful lake with swans and beautiful water. The shopping Malls and Railway station is just a few hundred meter away from the apartment. Also there are lots of Shops and restaurants available just infront of this apartment. There is Koldinghus (the big castle on the hill near-by). The roof top view on this castle is simply great !!

We got free ticket daily to the use it's indoor Slottsöbadet, the swimming pool complex, which is just 100 metres away. You can go swimming...They have 6-7 great swimming pools, inflatable toys for the kids to play in, water cannons, bubbles and a counter current, waterslide, saunas, a jacuzzi. I really enjoyed a lot there. One will get a free unlimited Parking ticket in the Kolding Byferie campus.

They have a restaurant in the campus. But as we are little bit uncomfortable on the Danish food...we didn't tried the food in the hotel. Again we were leaving to office in the morning 7:30 AM, so the breakfast was not ready that time. Also they were charging 90.00 DKK for breakffast and 130.00 DKK for Brunch per person...which was pretty costlier. But there are one Japanese Restaurant 'Peking Restaurant', Marmaris Pizza corner we visited frequently available infront of the apartment.

Some downside points are :
1) The room is cleaned once in a week and the bedsheet, blankets changed then.
2) Reception is closed at 6 PM. That was quite difficult for us, as we return from office after 6 PM.

But overall, it's a good hotel to stay. The staffs were very helping natured and provided a lot of information on the places we can visit there. We visited some places in and around Kolding. We stayed there for around 2 weeks and really enjoyed the cool climate !!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Me and my wife spent the first couple of days of august 2008 at Kolding Byferie. The location is great, if you get one of the apartments facing the lake and Koldinghus (the big castle on the hill near-by).

Our room was oval, which made it a bit more special, but in a good way. The kitchen is limited, and the fridge is pretty small, even for two people.

The hotel/apartments are located in the middle of the city, within walking distance to the town's shops and old city. If you have a car, you can visit the Shopping Mall on the outskirts of the city. Are you more interested in the region, Kolding is a great base too. You can visit Odense, which is the third largest city in Denmark, or Ribe to the west, which is one of Denmark's oldest cities, with a lot of beautiful houses. There is also Germany to the south, where you can buy cheap drinks and food, or visit Flensburg.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We are a Norwegian family of 6, 2 adults and 4 kids, who stayed in one of the apartments during July/August 2008. The location of the Kolding Byferie is great, by the lake Slottsö, an just a few hundred meters away from downtown Kolding with great shopping. Legoland is just 38 kilometers away (about 24 miles), and it's just 87 km (about 54 miles) to Scandinavian Park, Flensburg, Germany, where you can make great bargains on especially alcoholic beverages and food products, compared to Scandinavia.

The apartment itself was ok (K223), with 3 bedrooms (2 rooms with bunk beds) and a fully equipped kitchen. Nice furnitures! There's free Internet-connection in each room, but you need a cord to connect to the modem, which you can get in the reception for free during your stay (you better bring your own, since the one given to you is pretty short...).

On the negative side, the fridge wasn't much bigger than the ones you find in most hotelrooms (we were 6 people!), and it is very hard to find parking if you arrive back at Kolding Byferie in the afternoon... People were sitting in their cars, waiting for someone to leave... There were no possability to wash clothes, but there's a place just up the street where you can wash your clothes if needed. The reception closed at 6 p.m.

You get free admission daily to the indoor Slottsöbadet, where you can go swimming, and the place had several great pools, with huge inflatable toys for the kids to play in, and with. There's also a waterslide, and saunas and a jacuzzi.

We didn't try the breakfast at the resort, since we found it to be very expensive (85 DKK/person) compared to making our own nice breakfast in the apartment. There's a grocery store just around the corner, and a bakery just across the street from where you can wash your clothes (further up the street).
But all in all, a nice place;-)

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The parking facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolding Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolding Hotel Apartments

Address: Kedelsmedgangen 2, Kolding 6000, Denmark (Formerly Kolding Byferie)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding Municipality > Kolding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolding Hotel Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolding Hotel Apartmetns is 84 architecturally designed hotel apartments situated in the center of Kolding with the Royal Castle Museum Koldinghus and Lakeshore on one side, and the town's cozy latin quarter on the other. We offer a wonderful environment for everyone, regardless of whether you prefer to stay by the lake, the courtyard or the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Kolding Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolding Byferie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolding Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.