We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location in green landscape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Koldingfjord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Koldingfjord to your Saves list
Hotel Koldingfjord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fjordvej 154, Kolding 6000, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kolding
GreenLeadersSilver level
Italia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“beautiful location in green landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed three nights during a conference in Kolding. The hotel buildings and surroundings are vey beautiful, and I really enjoyed the view from my room.
The room was a bit simple but clean and sleepingwas very good. Service was impeccable. Quality of the breakfast excellent. I highly recommend it if you are travelling in this area of Denmark

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlloking the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Carmdimauro
Thank you for your review of your stay. Ware pleased to hear that you found our surroundings relaxing and invigorating. We hope that it helped you to concentrate and get the most out of the conference. We hope to bid you welcome again another time. Maybe on a family vacation in one of our family rooms. Best regards Louise Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    100
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
90
126
5
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very good service, clean rooms, good beds, and an excellent breakfast buffet. Drinks in the minibar didn't get very cold, but that was the only thing we would like to see changed. We had a lovely stay, and I would certainly recommend it to anyone, we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Barry
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your room and our facilities. If you plan on visiting our hotel again and find out any technical problems with e.g. the minibar, please let us know in the reception and we will make sure that it will get fixed.
We hope to bid you welcome again. Best regards Louise Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

One of our favorit hotel in DK. Nice clean hotel, beautiful outdoor area. Nice resturant, with outdoor table. Nice view from resturant over the fjord. Extremly nice personell. Clean and big room. Beautiful buildings. Indoor spa/pool. I recomend this for everyone.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear AlfR
Thank you for your fine review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it and we thank you for choosing to stay with us when you are in Denmark. If you would like to visit one of the historical and beautiful towns of Denmark we can recommend you to visit Christiansfeld the next time you are in the area. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel buildings and settings are undoubtedly beautiful but they lead you to expect a high quality of rooms and service which we have not benefited from, in spite of a rather pricey room rate. We booked a family room which turned out to be in none of the historical and charming buildings presented on the website but rather a conventional, dull conference centre type hotel block set apart from the main hotel and with none of the glorious views promised. Furthermore, given the purported high class hotel that it is, the service at reception was less than friendly or professional and the restaurant was understaffed in high season leading to long waits to order, for cutlery and finally for food. All in all, a genuine disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear NK
Thank you for your review of your stay. We would like to inform you that none of our family- or double rooms are facing Kolding Fjord. It is also noted under the description of our different room types. We have noted your comments about your experience in the front office and restaurant and have informed the managers. If you are planning to visit us again, we would like to inform you that we have 2 queen size rooms with connecting doors with view to the Fjord. This can be booked as a family room if you can stay 2 persons in one queen size bed. We hope to bid you welcome again soon. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The main part of the hotel is beautiful and the views are amazing.
Unfortunately our room was in the annexe, set away from the main building and overlooking the access road - so a little disappointing. The room itself was large and clean, there was also free wifi throughout the hotel.
Breakfast was very nice and we were able to sit outside with lovely views over the fjord

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear LizK
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you in general enjoyed your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to inform you that none of our family- or double rooms are facing Kolding Fjord. However if you are planning to visit us again, we would like to inform you that we have 2 queen size rooms with connecting doors with view to the Fjord. This can be booked as a family room if you can stay 2 persons in one queen size bed. We hope to bid you welcome again soon. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Gorgeous setting on a fjord at the edge of a small forest. Junior suite with a large balcony on the second floor facing the fjord was fabulous except for the lack of air conditioning and mediocre bathroom. But note that it was a single large room, and not a suite. Breakfast buffet was large and quite good. This is not even close to a 5-star hotel, but we still loved it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Swampscotian
Thank you for your review of your stay. Just for your kind information the Hotel Koldingfjord is a 4 star hotel and the room type Junior Suite indicates that it is one room instead of two interconnected rooms like a standard suite. Nevertheless we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to bid you welcome another time. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Beautiful buildings and views. Quiet and peacful surroundings. I needed a second night when the hotel was full. They contacted me as soon as a reservation was cancelled, so I was able to re-plan my trip in plenty of time. A short drive from Billund, so when flying in there, this is a good place to overnight. Very clean, and a great staff. Rooms vary from smallish to gigantic, but the small rooms were very comfortable for my wife and I. It's a ways from town, but there is a good dining room and cafe there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear DClarkPE
thank you very much for taking time to write this fine review of your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoy our sorrundings, rooms and staff. It sounds like you have been here many times and tried our different kind of room types. If you need any new suggestions for entertainment or small trips in the area you are always welcome to ask the receptionist who would be glad to help you get the most out of your stay in Kolding. We hope to bid you welcome again soon.
Best regards Louise Nielsen and the front office staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Koldingfjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koldingfjord

Address: Fjordvej 154, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding Municipality > Kolding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koldingfjord 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are only few places where scenery, architecture and atmosphere come together to create a perfect experience. Hotel Koldingfjord is one of those rare places. Our charming buildings used to be a sanatorium. Placed in the forest, with a magnificent view over the water, it was a vitalising and inspiring place to gain strength. Today, Hotel Koldingfjord is not only a place to gain strength. It's also a place to gather strength. Hotel Koldingfjord has 132 rooms, international conference facilities with room for up to 230 persons, as well as room for parties and events for up to 375 guests. Hotel Koldingfjord further includes a wine cellar, cafe, bar, pool and sauna, a large sun terrace, outdoor serving on a terrace, marked trails along the fjord and in the forest, as well as a unique view over Kolding Fjord. Regardless, whether you want to pay us a visit via work for courses/meetings or as a private guest for a stay or a party - we promise you that we will do our upmost to give you an once-in-a-lifetime experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Koldingfjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kolding
Koldingfjord Hotel Kolding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Koldingfjord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.