We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Koldingfjord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Koldingfjord to your Saves list
Hotel Koldingfjord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fjordvej 154, Kolding 6000, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kolding
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel. Amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The main part of the hotel is beautiful and the views are amazing.
Unfortunately our room was in the annexe, set away from the main building and overlooking the access road - so a little disappointing. The room itself was large and clean, there was also free wifi throughout the hotel.
Breakfast was very nice and we were able to sit outside with lovely views over the fjord

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear LizK
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you in general enjoyed your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to inform you that none of our family- or double rooms are facing Kolding Fjord. However if you are planning to visit us again, we would like to inform you that we have 2 queen size rooms with connecting doors with view to the Fjord. This can be booked as a family room if you can stay 2 persons in one queen size bed. We hope to bid you welcome again soon. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    102
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
91
127
5
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Gorgeous setting on a fjord at the edge of a small forest. Junior suite with a large balcony on the second floor facing the fjord was fabulous except for the lack of air conditioning and mediocre bathroom. But note that it was a single large room, and not a suite. Breakfast buffet was large and quite good. This is not even close to a 5-star hotel, but we still loved it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Swampscotian
Thank you for your review of your stay. Just for your kind information the Hotel Koldingfjord is a 4 star hotel and the room type Junior Suite indicates that it is one room instead of two interconnected rooms like a standard suite. Nevertheless we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to bid you welcome another time. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Beautiful buildings and views. Quiet and peacful surroundings. I needed a second night when the hotel was full. They contacted me as soon as a reservation was cancelled, so I was able to re-plan my trip in plenty of time. A short drive from Billund, so when flying in there, this is a good place to overnight. Very clean, and a great staff. Rooms vary from smallish to gigantic, but the small rooms were very comfortable for my wife and I. It's a ways from town, but there is a good dining room and cafe there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear DClarkPE
thank you very much for taking time to write this fine review of your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoy our sorrundings, rooms and staff. It sounds like you have been here many times and tried our different kind of room types. If you need any new suggestions for entertainment or small trips in the area you are always welcome to ask the receptionist who would be glad to help you get the most out of your stay in Kolding. We hope to bid you welcome again soon.
Best regards Louise Nielsen and the front office staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel Kolding Fjord used to be a sanatorium forchildren suffering of tuberculosis. But no worries - the hotel neither looks nor feels like a hospital. Instead it almost looks like a castle placed right on the fjord-banks with a stunning view across. Especially breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent. Rooms could be bigger though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear ChrAnkerstjerne
thank you for taking your time to write this review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you found our builing and surroundings satisfactory. If you appreciate large rooms we can advice you to book one of our junior suits the next time you are planning a trip. Have a nice day.
Best regards Louise Nielsen and the front office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a hotel for those that appreciates a calm place in very nice environment. It is at the end of the road a bit outside of the center with no walking distance to other restaurants. But the in-house restaurant is good so you will survive. There is a minor forest behind the hotel and the see in front. Thumbs up for very good breakfast and free wifi.
On the down side is a very slow elevator and credit cards are charged extra, but I can live with that and this will be my first choice also next time in Kolding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Selutfn
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the calm surroundings and your stay in general. We hope that you had the chance to take a nice walk in the forest by the hotel. Otherwise you might consider it if you are planning to visit the hotel again. You might also mention that you prefer to stay in the main building or in one of our 2 mansions if you want to avoid the elevator. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards
Louise S. Nielsen and the front office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Mrs E and I stayed here on the 28th/29th May 2014 and were in Room 756. Now this Room is in another large Hotel style complex away from the main more historic building where the Restaurant and bars are situated. The room we had and the building is also very nice and we had great views from our room through the trees to the water and lakes beyond. Our Room was the Executive style, with a corner view out with floor to ceiling windows. Others in the block may well not be so great for views.
The check in was very smooth and the staff were welcoming and informative.
We ate in the Cafe bar area that evening and were very impressed with both the area and the staffing. There was a wedding taking place yet the service was exceptional considering the logistics.
The staff were VERY professional and had to deal with a very difficult wedding guest who had behavioural issues. They ensured that we as other diners understood what had happened and checked that we were not effected too greatly. Impressive to take this care.
The breakfast was good the following day as well and in the same pleasant surroundings.
The Wi Fi at the Hotel is great for business and we could continue our own business effectively.
There are lovely fjord walks near the water and the surrounding woods which are marked out well.
We love walking and if you do, the City is not that far, but a car is more the normal method and you should be aware of this.
They do have leisure facilities and overall this is just a great place. We will be using this again and will stay for more time on the next occasion but were constrained this time round.
We were overall very impressed with the Hotel, its Staff and its truly great setting. It looks impressive and will live up to your expectations.

Room Tip: Room 756 in the area we were was great, I suggest this or the rooms above on the corner in this bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs E
We are very pleased and impressed by your detailed review of your stay. Our staff always does its best to handle such situations professionally and it is very appreciated to get your positive feedback on this event. We are glad to hear that you are planning to visit us again and Kolding offers a lot of unique nature routes that you may explore during your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Louise S. Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

A previous TB Sanatorium for children and later a home for the 'mentally retarded' (their description, not mine...) this place is now a large hotel in a lovely location on a fjord. On the outside, a beautiful large mansion, but inside, all Danish and modern in style, and it works pretty well too. Reception staff are pleasant, if a little cool. Staffing is very minimal, no one around to help guests with luggage, and, strangely, no one in evidence at Breakfast either - it's all very much help yourself and DIY. Room was OK. Ditto bathroom. Good Wi-Fi, and free too. This place is big on the conference business, which caused issues with the restaurant, the delay in serving us was excessive; but, all-in-all we enjoyed our brief stay the food was good and this hotel is recommended. Please note that the restaurant charge for tap-water, and the hotel levy a fee if you pay by credit-card; both seem to be Danish practices rather than local greed though.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Jobetim

Thank you for taking your time to write this hotel review.
We regret to hear that not all our services lived up to your expectations. We will take your comments into consideration.

Yours sincerely

Louise S. Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Koldingfjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koldingfjord

Address: Fjordvej 154, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding Municipality > Kolding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koldingfjord 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are only few places where scenery, architecture and atmosphere come together to create a perfect experience. Hotel Koldingfjord is one of those rare places. Our charming buildings used to be a sanatorium. Placed in the forest, with a magnificent view over the water, it was a vitalising and inspiring place to gain strength. Today, Hotel Koldingfjord is not only a place to gain strength. It's also a place to gather strength. Hotel Koldingfjord has 132 rooms, international conference facilities with room for up to 230 persons, as well as room for parties and events for up to 375 guests. Hotel Koldingfjord further includes a wine cellar, cafe, bar, pool and sauna, a large sun terrace, outdoor serving on a terrace, marked trails along the fjord and in the forest, as well as a unique view over Kolding Fjord. Regardless, whether you want to pay us a visit via work for courses/meetings or as a private guest for a stay or a party - we promise you that we will do our upmost to give you an once-in-a-lifetime experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Koldingfjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kolding
Koldingfjord Hotel Kolding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Koldingfjord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.