We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronningen 2, Kolding 6000, Denmark (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Byparken)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Annenheim, Austria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a Hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This property should be called a Motel and not a Hotel!
Specifically in these cold and windy days it is not exactly comforting to walk out in the open to your room. For the price I expected a better house....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
7
21
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Yes it looks like a motel and rooms are basic, but it is clean, parking is free and there is underfloor heating mmm. Also a good blackout with blinds and curtains. Very quiet as room faced quad with grass area. Meal was surprisingly good and beautifully presented with friendly service. My partner said his crme brule was one of best ever tasted. Breakfast was a good buffet and overall excellent value especially for Denmark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

On arrival lady on reception was not very friendly.

Returned to hotel later (21:00) and no one at bar, had to ring bell. Someone came from the restaurant and served drinks. When it came to the second round we again had to ring the bell and receptionist appeared. Unfortunately she didn't have a clue on what drink was what, they had no tonic for a G&T (how can a so called 4 star hotel have no tonic?) and a choice of one malt whisky! Hopeless.

Rooms are OK, I had a large business room, my colleague a small standard room. Clean but with no style. Very small bathrooms. All rooms are ground floor in this motel type hotel, good for access from the car but makes for cold corridors in January.

Breakfast choice was adequate but small, no fruit.

At check out the receptionist (a different one to check in) had obviously not been trained properly and couldn't deal with the fact that my stay was prepaid through an agency and I was settling my own extras. A lot of time wasted and the reception manager didn't interrupt what appeared to be a private phone call to assist.

Could I recommend this place? No.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

Taking my chance without a reservation the Best Western Kolding City was a nice stay. The hotel building is an old motel style building, but most room are located with the entrance old a long cooridor with a roof. The rooms are big and very light and clean.
The hotel is located very central in Kolding City, with only a couple of minutes walk to the main street. I will add this hotel to my preferred list.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

After midnight there wee no service... I had to look for the room keys... The room is ok. But no more. I liked the fact that my door room was near my car parking.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at Best Western Kolding for a week on business. It is spacious considering the other hotels in Kolding. But it is extremely plain in terms of the facilities and amenities. The breakfast is ok, couldn't have much from there....

But the best point about the hotel is its proximity to the city center. Everything like restaurants, train station and bus station are at a walkable distance from here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This hotel is quite expensive, but is only a 1*-Motel. the bathroom has mold and the beds are terrible. Your room is not cleaned during the stay and your bed is not made. It is really just like a cheap road motel but charges prices like being a 4*-property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City

Address: Gronningen 2, Kolding 6000, Denmark (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Byparken)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding Municipality > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City is situated next to a charming green park area and within walking distance to the city centre. Free parking and easy access to the highway. Enjoy our spacious and comfortable rooms. We do our best to make our guests feel at home. Our guests will find themselves close to great shopping possibilities and cozy restaurants. The area around the BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City in Kolding has a lot to offer. Such as Koldinghus Royal Castle, Museum of Trapholt (Modern Art), and only half an hour drive away, hotel guests can experience the famous amusement park of Legoland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Kolding City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.